No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Uplands Hotel & Restaurant

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Haggs Lane, Cartmel, , Grange Over Sands, LA11 6HD
The Uplands Hotel, overlooking breathtaking views of the surrounding countryside and bay, offers an accommodation and dining experience unique in comparison to those situated within the centre of the bustling village of Cartmel: Whilst still within walking distance of popular sites of interest, its location serves to provide customers with a calm and relaxing atmosphere, catering to the need of those who wish not only to actively enjoy their stay in the Lake District, but also to experience the sense of peace and respite that the area brings. The local area offers a wide range of activities, including the lively and frequent events within the village and a large number of golf courses in a small radius, and the hotel itself stands within two acres of idyllic gardens and is within easy reach of Lake Windermere, the largest natural lake in England and a beautiful example of the National Park’s namesake. All of our staff are friendly and committed to providing you with an extraordinary and comfortable stay, both in dining and in accommodation, and will be happy to cater to your requirements, offering knowledge of the local area that will enable your stay to reach its fullest potential. Our aim is to create an experience which will make all visitors to the Uplands Hotel feel at home, and we wish to see our customers returning as frequently as possible; an aim which we are well on our way to achieving.
Picture of Uplands Hotel & Restaurant, Grange Over Sands at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel with spectacular views!
I stayed here whilst in the area singing at a local function. I was very impressed with the hotel and facilities, my view from bed was breathtaking.

Reviewed by
Lee H

From , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed one night and did not take evening meal, but no complaints, hot water plumbing a bit dodgy in my room otherwise nice place nice location, would go back.

Reviewed by
I Wilson

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel, excellent customer service, would definately stay here again!
After a long and tiring day at the Cumbria Steam Gathering travelling on our two Lambretta scooters we were extremely warm/clammy and so ready to freshen up at the hotel and to have a nice evening meal. We weren't dissapointed, the room was comfortable (especially the bed, we didn't want to get out of it the next morning!) and clean with a kettle/hot choc/teabags etc - something which other hotels forget to include in the room but a life saver after a busy day, the meal was wonderful and you got plenty on your plate, not left hungry. Would recommend the French riesling wine on offer... then, after the meal we sat out and admired the view on the terrace overlooking the bay, beautiful. We liked the fact that the hotel was secluded and away from the the main village of Cartmel, on top of the hill you could really look out onto the surrounding area. The staff were very accomodating and the only thing we could think of which would have been nice was a shower instead of a bath, but that's just personal preference! Nothing wrong with the bath! Had a great time, will hopefully be back next year.

Reviewed by
Dawn Walker

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Room, Awful Food
Average

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

memorable stay
This hotel was one of the cleanest and friendliest we have stayed in. We enjoyed the fully cooked breakfast each morning and also enjoyed the evening meal.

Reviewed by
A Holt

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel in lovely location
Stayed here for one night on the way to a wedding in the lakes. Asked about an early check in and were told absolutely no problem (and no extra charge either!), arrived after nightmare drive due to weather to friendly staff, clean and cosy room with comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities etc. Evening meal was lovely, staff friendly and quick. Good choice for breakfast. Would def stay here again, if it hadnt been raining so hard would have had lovely views and good walks.

Reviewed by
Karolyn H

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The one member of staff that we saw on each occasion was very pleasant. The room was clean but very dated, there was no shower fitted in the bathroom and the bed was quite soft. The breakfast was very nice and hot. The dining room and lounge area were very nice, with lovely views over gardens and Morecambe Bay. Lots of potential for a four star bed and breakfast if it had a refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Linda L

From Kendal, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Uplands and Lowdowns
First I must say that we enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, but there were a number of lamentable problems. Many of these problems could have been overcome by a little bit of planning and foresight.
We stayed for two nights in September when the weather was good, but can be cool in the evening. We were told that the heating would be on at 4:30, but it didn’t come through all that evening or the next. Our room was small and in desperate need for some TLC. The paintwork was chipped, a handle was missing from a drawer; the windows would not close as the wood had swollen and no longer fitted. The shower head needed a clean, the shower fitting was broken and the shower itself was feeble.
The hotel information proudly proclaimed that there was wifi throughout the hotel, it wasn’t, or rather there were a number of hotspots where reception was passable, or so we were told. I never found one. Apparently a booster was needed.
On arrival we asked about an evening meal. There was a distinct panic on some faces, however we were told that they were very busy but we could have a table after 7:30 ... fine. When we went down for our meal, that look of panic again appeared on faces. There was a large private party going on and only one table was kept aside for other guests. A little thought, a second table and there would have been no problem. In any event we were made very welcome by the party and we enjoyed our evening.
The menu was a little limited, but the food was freshly prepared and well cooked. Nonetheless, it was pub food, albeit good pub food rather than of a restaurant standard. Breakfast was also freshly prepared, but there was no menu on the tables and the options were not explained to us. Neither were we offered a refill for our rather small teapot or additional toast over and above the two rounds we had been given.
In the final analysis while friendly and engaging staff are good to find, they do not make up for poor organization and facilities.

Reviewed by
Chris Wilkins

From Malvern, England
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class
We arrvied to a warm welcome and great views. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the room was very nice, the location was peacful and scenic with great biews and the food was excellend. All around a great experience, we will return again soon!

Reviewed by
P Bullock

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.