No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cross Keys Inn

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
Cross Keys Inn Bellerby, Leyburn, DL8 5QS
Tom and his team offer you a warm welcome to the ‘Cross Keys’ which we are proud to maintain as a traditional British Inn catering for the needs of locals and tourists alike. We stock four cask ales including 'Bellerby Bitter' (brewed for us by the Wesleydale Brewery which is located in the village and to which we can arrange visits) as well as a range of quality wines and our collection of 'single malt' whisky.

Bellerby is an ideal base for exploring the 'Dales' being located on the 'cusp' of 'Wensley' & 'Swaledale' literally one mile outside of Leyburn and an easy 15 minute drive into such local attractions as the market town of Richmond with it's imposing castle, the 'racing' town of Middleham and of course the legendary 'Forbidden Corner'!

We are very proud of the reputation which we have built up for the quality of our bar meals (apparently our breakfasts are not too bad either!) and would describe ourselves very much as a 'Pub which serves meals' rather than a 'Restaurant which serves beer'. All our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared, including of course our homemade chips and free range eggs from our own chickens. Please see our sample menu, which does alter slightly on a daily basis depending upon which dishes we have cooked.

We have 3 lovely, recently refurbished, en-suite letting rooms on offer, all themed differently.

There are some great walks from the pub where you can explore the beautiful countryside; we have ample parking and we can also provide secure storage facilities for your cycles.

Families and dogs are welcome in the pub, beer garden and paddock and there is disabled access to the bar and toilets.

We have our own 'Quoits' pits in our paddock and guests are very welcome to try their hand at this traditional Dales sport.
Picture of Cross Keys Inn, Leyburn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a really warm welcome and was looked after throughout our stay. Food was good and plentiful.

Reviewed by
D Hale

From Grantham, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rooms and great inn atmosphere
We stayed in the standard and deluxe double rooms in this three bed inn. All of the rooms have been well decorated to a good standard, and the atmosphere in the pub was lovely. A bit of noise from the pub if you are trying to get an early night (but why book into an inn if you want a quiet night?). Lovely breakfast, with fresh eggs from the chickens in the garden.

Reviewed by
Natalie L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The people in charge was so friendly you instantly felt at home,the food was hot when it came and very tasty.and the breakfast was served on a hot plate,I say this because many places dont by the time you get your breakfast its nearly cold.

Reviewed by
b mackenzie

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good old Yorkshire experiance
We arrived with the world cup in full swing with the locals enjoying the match while tucking into some good wholesome food there was no whooping and hollering just people quietly enjoying themselves. Tom though obviously very busy showed us to our room which was adequate for our overnight stop.We dumped our luggage and after a quick wash headed down to the bar to sample the food which being that we were in Yorkshire was a massive portion and very tasty and reasonably priced,the pub was very busy always a good sign and Tom and his staff looked after us very well.When we retired to our room we found the beds spotless and the comfort second to none there was no tv in the room which was not a problem,the room was clean and the tea and coffee facilities not skimmed.So after one of the best nights sleep I have had for a while(no noise from the pub)it was down for a well cooked English breakfast and of course there was too much on the plate but it was too good to leave.The Cross Keys is not the Ritz but we found it to be a great BnB

Reviewed by
chris sherwood

From Fakenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday weekend away
The Cross Keys was a comfortable B&B. The friendly landlord, Tom and his staff made us most welcome. There was good food for both breakfast and the one evening meal we had during our stay. The room was well presented and well appointed with a queen bed. The en-suite was adequate but it was a shame the wash basin had been sited in the bedroom away from the shower and WC. However, we did have all our own facilities and we managed. The one thing lacking in the room was a TV, but other than that all our needs were met for the stay we required. Although there was some noise from the activities of the pub we were not disturbed at all, other than the cheer when England scored a goal!!! Pity they lost though.

Reviewed by
John Aked

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly
Good beer, Good food, Good value

Reviewed by
Peter C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay at Cross Keys Bellerby
Very friendly landlord and comfortable room with all mod cons albeit in a very old building. Some noise travelled up from the bar below. Excellent full English breakfast.

Reviewed by
Judy F

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yorkshire stopover
We stayed at this Inn for 1 night. First impressions were very nice but when you looked closer the shower was a bit grubby and the water pressure not good coming from the shower. It was adequate for one night. Have made a note to self not to stay in pubs though. Our experience is that they are a bit noisy if you want to go to room before closing time. This one had a banging door ever time someone went out.

Reviewed by
Sara R

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely friendly pub with excellent food but rather isolated as it not in leyburn

Reviewed by
thripland janette

From halifax, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cross keys experience
+ host welcoming and helpful. Room very clean. Breakfast very good
- shower very under powered, room noisy over bar
Good traditional pub in a pretty village.

Reviewed by
D Osborn

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next