No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cross Keys Inn

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
Cross Keys Inn Bellerby, Leyburn, DL8 5QS
Tom and his team offer you a warm welcome to the ‘Cross Keys’ which we are proud to maintain as a traditional British Inn catering for the needs of locals and tourists alike. We stock four cask ales including 'Bellerby Bitter' (brewed for us by the Wesleydale Brewery which is located in the village and to which we can arrange visits) as well as a range of quality wines and our collection of 'single malt' whisky.

Bellerby is an ideal base for exploring the 'Dales' being located on the 'cusp' of 'Wensley' & 'Swaledale' literally one mile outside of Leyburn and an easy 15 minute drive into such local attractions as the market town of Richmond with it's imposing castle, the 'racing' town of Middleham and of course the legendary 'Forbidden Corner'!

We are very proud of the reputation which we have built up for the quality of our bar meals (apparently our breakfasts are not too bad either!) and would describe ourselves very much as a 'Pub which serves meals' rather than a 'Restaurant which serves beer'. All our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared, including of course our homemade chips and free range eggs from our own chickens. Please see our sample menu, which does alter slightly on a daily basis depending upon which dishes we have cooked.

We have 3 lovely, recently refurbished, en-suite letting rooms on offer, all themed differently.

There are some great walks from the pub where you can explore the beautiful countryside; we have ample parking and we can also provide secure storage facilities for your cycles.

Families and dogs are welcome in the pub, beer garden and paddock and there is disabled access to the bar and toilets.

We have our own 'Quoits' pits in our paddock and guests are very welcome to try their hand at this traditional Dales sport.
Picture of Cross Keys Inn, Leyburn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stopover
Arrived late but an evening meal was provided without issue. Great welcome, good beer, and good food. Easily recommended.

Reviewed by
Sandra L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night break
Our room was lovely very clean and the bed extremly comfortable, it was the one above the bar advertised as some noise and yes there was, but never stopped us getting to sleep. The quality of the food was excellent and prices very reasonable, a good selection of real ales, with a breakfast to set you up for the week let alone the day. Will be back, True Yorkshire hospitality.

Reviewed by
N Shevlin

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Geat village pub
Just one night but a warm welcome and good food. (a bit too much at breakfast!).
a really nice village despite the rain, as well as friendly locals and excellent beers made this one to remember.

Reviewed by
Graham Bedford

From Sowerby Bridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a very late booking but Tom coped very well.
Excellent food in the bar and a lovely breakfast
Thanks

Reviewed by
W Fielding

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly clean pub accomadation , good food and drink
Excellent landlord, great pub atmosphere. good pub food and beer. Clean room, comfortable bed. No television so we spent the most of the night in the pub. What as good evening, but when you go to bed be prepared for some noise from down stairs. Have to say it did not bother us too much as we had a good evening. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and fabulous Customer Service
Upon arrival we were greeted warmly, shown to our rooms which were an absolute delight. This may sound strange, but the bedding was the freshest I've ever had in a hotel, the bed extremely comfortable to the point where getting up in the morning was difficult. Extremely clean toilet and shower room. Very good value for money especially being 2 mins from Leyburn. We would all stay again if only to see Tom again. We had a very enjoyable evening, food, drinks, darts and Dominos. Fantastic.

Reviewed by
M Walker

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tom was very welcoming and helpful, food was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Betty Wilson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The host was very wellcoming and went out of his way to help.
Good pub food with a generous breakfast.
The room has been well decorated and had beautiful bedding on a super king size bed,
but the decor has been spoiled by the over use of artificial and dated dried flowers which made it feel like a funeral parlour. The other negitive was the shower. It needs to be replaced.

Reviewed by
D Fletcher

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bradford Walkers
Lovely accomodation. Owner very friendly made us feel very welcome. Breakfast best meal of the day.
Thanks Donna and Paul

Reviewed by
Donna Briggs

From Bradford, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly reception. Cheerful atmosphere. Good local beer.

Reviewed by
Iain E

From Brighton, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next