No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cross Keys Inn

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
Cross Keys Inn Bellerby, Leyburn, DL8 5QS
Tom and his team offer you a warm welcome to the ‘Cross Keys’ which we are proud to maintain as a traditional British Inn catering for the needs of locals and tourists alike. We stock four cask ales including 'Bellerby Bitter' (brewed for us by the Wesleydale Brewery which is located in the village and to which we can arrange visits) as well as a range of quality wines and our collection of 'single malt' whisky.

Bellerby is an ideal base for exploring the 'Dales' being located on the 'cusp' of 'Wensley' & 'Swaledale' literally one mile outside of Leyburn and an easy 15 minute drive into such local attractions as the market town of Richmond with it's imposing castle, the 'racing' town of Middleham and of course the legendary 'Forbidden Corner'!

We are very proud of the reputation which we have built up for the quality of our bar meals (apparently our breakfasts are not too bad either!) and would describe ourselves very much as a 'Pub which serves meals' rather than a 'Restaurant which serves beer'. All our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared, including of course our homemade chips and free range eggs from our own chickens. Please see our sample menu, which does alter slightly on a daily basis depending upon which dishes we have cooked.

We have 3 lovely, recently refurbished, en-suite letting rooms on offer, all themed differently.

There are some great walks from the pub where you can explore the beautiful countryside; we have ample parking and we can also provide secure storage facilities for your cycles.

Families and dogs are welcome in the pub, beer garden and paddock and there is disabled access to the bar and toilets.

We have our own 'Quoits' pits in our paddock and guests are very welcome to try their hand at this traditional Dales sport.
Picture of Cross Keys Inn, Leyburn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice room shame there is no television especially being in the middle of nowhere. The noise from the pub we found very loud and the tv was even louder . The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb

Reviewed by
Jacky L

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away
warm and friendly welcome from tom who was busy making his pies(try them they are delicious). rooms clean and bright but furniture could do with updating. plenty of tea, coffee available in room. overall a lovely place to stay for a break.

Reviewed by
joy m

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at the Cross Keys for one night as we were visiting the forbidden corner. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The family room was very spacious and comfortable. We didn't use the fold out bed as took our own travel cot, there was
plenty of room for this. The only thing that was missing was a television but this was not a problem for us. Breakfast was huge and great quality. Would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
a brown

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely homely pub and b&b in beautiful setting
Thanks to the owner Tom and the locals for a warm welcome and comfortable stay at the Cross Keys Inn. It is a lovely cosy pub providing fantastic home cooked food, and very clean accommodation with probably the best most comfortable bed you will ever sleep in!! The breakfast is huge and very yummy, found Tom to be very helpful, organised beautiful flowers on request for our anniversary. Would definitely recommend, in a good location to explore all the local treasures North Yorkshire has to offer..thanks again!!

Reviewed by
S Gallear

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and friendly
Welcome, friendliness and helpfulness couldn't be better. Hotel was very clean, breakfast was fine but decor is a bit worn. We'd definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Pamela M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tom was a very nice and helpful chap a very nice stay

Reviewed by
Steve Maddocks

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
We booked in here as a stop off point on our way South from Scotland. We were made welcome not only by Tom but also by the few locals who were enjoying a quiet Friday evening drink. Slept well in the very quite room and comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Jane B

From Fraserburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only spent one night, the room was extremely clean and the food was excellent
We would stay there again

Reviewed by
G Dickson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant one night stay
We booked a one night stay through Laterooms and got a better price than the pubs own website.
Tom was an excellent host and fulfilled his role as landlord, receptionist, cook and waiter exceptionally well.
The 'best' room had a huge bed (but no room for a 2nd bedside table) but very clean and comfortable.
No shower gel was a surprise.
Breakfast was bountiful.

Reviewed by
Stephen F

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No need to look elsewhere
Stayed at the Cross Keys for 2 nights. Room was clean and comfortable. Food in the bar was great as was the breakfast. Would stay here again

Reviewed by
m sharp

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next