No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pebley Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Pebley Inn , Barlborough, Chesterfield, S43 4TH
Nestled amongst rolling countryside, windy lanes and picturesque villages, The Pebley Inn will take you off the beaten track, transporting you to a world of rural charm.

Our warm and charming atmosphere is informal, and friendly that will instantly relax you with a good core of regular custom for both food and drink.

We serve homemade food, we also have weekly menu specials offering unique flavours from around the world.

The Pebley is well known for its selection of quality local beers also a wide range of world wines are available.

All our rooms have views over the picturesque Derbyshire Countryside. Our rooms are non-smoking that host Flat screen Freeview televisions with a great choice of digital channels, tea & coffee making facilities and Free Wireless Internet access. All our rooms are cleaned daily, and have great access to our restaurant and bar.

For work crews, we'll be happy to fix you up a packed lunch and keep it in the fridge so you can grab and go.
Picture of The Pebley Inn, Barlborough, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This inn is nestled in the quiet countryside and the room and food is excellent. The only fault is that being above a pub it was extremely noisy until the early hours so if you want a goo nights sleep this is not the place.

Reviewed by
P Murray

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent & friendly place
Only stayed the one night but what a lovely experience... The room was very clean and modern.. We ate in the restaurant and the food was of an extremely high standard and I would even go to say that it was one of the best meals I have ever had! The staff were all very attentive and very welcoming.. Just an overall very pleasant stay...

Reviewed by
Emma D

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth getting lost to find it!

Reviewed by
Allan L

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money and the Carvery meal was second to none!!! Would thoroughly recommend!
We stayed here for one night before going away on holiday. The room was excellent, we one that we stayed in having twin beds. Beds were comfortable and the room very clean as was the en-suite. Plenty of supplies for making a cuppa. We had brought our young dog along with us and he was also made very welcome. It was lovely to find somewhere that was so dog friendly.
We arrived on a Wednesday, which is Carvery day in the restaurant and we were very impressed with the meal. The food was very well cooked, there was lots of it and it was delicious!!! Some of the best roast beef that I have ever tasted and such good value for money at only £3.99 for a small plate (which was more than adequate for me) and £5.99 for an enormous meal!! My husband had trouble finishing his plateful - although he did manage to eat some Toffee Tart with ice cream after which was equally delicious.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, making our stay very enjoyable. We would recommend Pebley Inn to anyone!!!

Reviewed by
N Law

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good base for the East Midlands
We chose the Pebley Inn as a base for visiting National Trust places both to the east and west. We were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful views from every window, despite the M1 being not far away. The room was small but adequate - the addition of a small chest of drawers in the wardrobe would be an improvement. We had a good breakfast every morning and a wide selection of excellent meals to choose from in the restaurant (I especially enjoyed the lasagne). Everyone was friendly and we had a relaxing break. Thanks to Andrea, Mark and the staff.

Reviewed by
R Mills

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop over for business purposes.
Nice looking place in a good location. The rooms were superb, looks like they had just been done up.
Staff were outstanding, they were friendly and very helpful, can't thank them enough. Good range of beers, unfortunately we didn't manage to sample the food ( thanks for sorting the alternative ) other than breakfast which was freshly cooked and very tasty.

Reviewed by
John Goddard

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain for the price, nuff said

Reviewed by
r fraser

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little things all add up!
As a person who relies heavily on reviews before booking any accommodation, I felt it was important to be entirely honest in this review. I'm also aware that some people are fussier than others and you have to read reviews with an open mind. I class myself as a non fussy person and although the room was absolutely fine, nicely decorated and clean, there were a few things that were lacking, which would prevent me from returning.
When we arrived at 5pm we entered the busy bar area and had to wait at the bar to speak to the barmaid (who turned out to be the landlady) to book in.
The pub is being refurbished so it is not looking it's best at the moment.
We were shown to the room, which was a double with a sofa bed but the room had not been made up ready for us, she said that we had caught her out as she wasn't expecting us so early, but we were not asked what time we would be arriving and I don't consider 5pm to be early!
The room was nice and there was a selection of coffee, tea and biscuits, however I went to make myself a cup of tea later in the evening and found there was no milk. Luckily my husband was down in the bar so I texted him to ask him to get me some.
Free wifi is advertised but there was no information in the room to give you the password, I had to ask.
There was also no information about breakfast and I had to ask. I was told that the chef didn't live on site so could I liaise with another couple who were staying overnight as well, to what time we all wanted it! Most bizarre!
One of the plug sockets had got some plastic broken in it, which left only one plug socket free (there was another socket but it was behind the bed).
The evening meal was very nice, although one of the waitresses was very abrupt and could do with some training in how to ask nicely what the customer wants.
When I booked the family room the description did not give any maximum age of the child, it was only when I received the confirmation email that I noticed it said a maximum age of 10. As our daughter is 17, I panicked and phoned the pub to check that the booking would be ok. I was told that the room might be a little small but if I was happy then they were fine about it. I would therefore expect supplies for three people. However, there was only enough towels in the bathroom for two people (our daughter used hand towels), only two mugs (that didn't matter though, as my husband doesn't drink hot drinks).
To summarise, I think the landlady could be more welcoming and provide information to guests without being asked. It served its purpose but I wouldn't recommend and would not return.

Reviewed by
Alice B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stop off
We stayed at the Pebley Inn for one night to attend a wedding at the nearby Bondhay Golf Club. Our room had recently been renovated and was very clean. It was a bit on the small side, so fine for one night.
The room was a bit noisy as it was directly over the bar and we could hear the music playing to 11.40, which was slightly irritating given that we had to be up early the next morning and check out by 10am.

Reviewed by
J Ross

From Coventry , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good rooms and food, very friendly service; excellent atmosphere in the bar
Suggestions for improvement - pots of tea to be provided at breakfast rather than filled cups; they could also increase profits by serving less generous portions for evening meals!

Reviewed by
Barbara C

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next