No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pebley Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Pebley Inn , Barlborough, Chesterfield, S43 4TH
Nestled amongst rolling countryside, windy lanes and picturesque villages, The Pebley Inn will take you off the beaten track, transporting you to a world of rural charm.

Our warm and charming atmosphere is informal, and friendly that will instantly relax you with a good core of regular custom for both food and drink.

We serve homemade food, we also have weekly menu specials offering unique flavours from around the world.

The Pebley is well known for its selection of quality local beers also a wide range of world wines are available.

All our rooms have views over the picturesque Derbyshire Countryside. Our rooms are non-smoking that host Flat screen Freeview televisions with a great choice of digital channels, tea & coffee making facilities and Free Wireless Internet access. All our rooms are cleaned daily, and have great access to our restaurant and bar.

For work crews, we'll be happy to fix you up a packed lunch and keep it in the fridge so you can grab and go.
Picture of The Pebley Inn, Barlborough, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pebley inn experience
We stopped for an overnight stay on the journey from Scotland to London. The staff were really friendy and helpful, and the locals in the popular bar equally so. Unfortunately, it was Sunday, and we only arrived just in time (4pm) for the Lunch Carvery which was near the end of its supply ! No evening meal was a disappointment as there didn't seem to be much else in the area, an indifferent Chinese take out had to suffice for me !
The full breakfast was good, the sausages to die for ! Tip: don't try to sleep with the window open, as there is plenty of traffic !

Reviewed by
D Tyler

From Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short, sweet and to the point
We arrived about 6.30pm and had to be away by 8.30am, so didnt have too much time. The room we had was a twin - no problem there. The beds were comfy and clean, the shower excellent. Staff helpful. Good beers on handpumps, nice restaurant, food good and reasonably priced. Not much traffic noise. The only weird observation was a half pint carton of longlife milk near the kettle in the room - one could say overkill!!. Would definitely try to book there again if I'm in the area

Reviewed by
Charles Cooper

From Dunkeld, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation, polite and professional staff, good food, eving meal and breakfast, AA++++++
Hello,
This Inn is a treasure trove of location, great people, professional and polite staff. Clean, bright and airy bedroom.
If you like beer, they have a great range and choice.
The local people make you welcome and they give that 'feel at home experience,' no matter where you come from.
A special thanks to Sarah and Kirsty.
Will certainly return in the future, my trip on this occasion was for business but I would consider a personal visit with family.
Kind regards, Steve Bridges

Reviewed by
S Bridges

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This inn is nestled in the quiet countryside and the room and food is excellent. The only fault is that being above a pub it was extremely noisy until the early hours so if you want a goo nights sleep this is not the place.

Reviewed by
P Murray

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent & friendly place
Only stayed the one night but what a lovely experience... The room was very clean and modern.. We ate in the restaurant and the food was of an extremely high standard and I would even go to say that it was one of the best meals I have ever had! The staff were all very attentive and very welcoming.. Just an overall very pleasant stay...

Reviewed by
Emma D

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth getting lost to find it!

Reviewed by
Allan L

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money and the Carvery meal was second to none!!! Would thoroughly recommend!
We stayed here for one night before going away on holiday. The room was excellent, we one that we stayed in having twin beds. Beds were comfortable and the room very clean as was the en-suite. Plenty of supplies for making a cuppa. We had brought our young dog along with us and he was also made very welcome. It was lovely to find somewhere that was so dog friendly.
We arrived on a Wednesday, which is Carvery day in the restaurant and we were very impressed with the meal. The food was very well cooked, there was lots of it and it was delicious!!! Some of the best roast beef that I have ever tasted and such good value for money at only £3.99 for a small plate (which was more than adequate for me) and £5.99 for an enormous meal!! My husband had trouble finishing his plateful - although he did manage to eat some Toffee Tart with ice cream after which was equally delicious.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, making our stay very enjoyable. We would recommend Pebley Inn to anyone!!!

Reviewed by
N Law

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good base for the East Midlands
We chose the Pebley Inn as a base for visiting National Trust places both to the east and west. We were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful views from every window, despite the M1 being not far away. The room was small but adequate - the addition of a small chest of drawers in the wardrobe would be an improvement. We had a good breakfast every morning and a wide selection of excellent meals to choose from in the restaurant (I especially enjoyed the lasagne). Everyone was friendly and we had a relaxing break. Thanks to Andrea, Mark and the staff.

Reviewed by
R Mills

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop over for business purposes.
Nice looking place in a good location. The rooms were superb, looks like they had just been done up.
Staff were outstanding, they were friendly and very helpful, can't thank them enough. Good range of beers, unfortunately we didn't manage to sample the food ( thanks for sorting the alternative ) other than breakfast which was freshly cooked and very tasty.

Reviewed by
John Goddard

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain for the price, nuff said

Reviewed by
r fraser

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next