No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crooked Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Stoketon Cross, trematon, , Saltash, PL12 4RZ
Set in the beautiful and peaceful countryside of Cornwall with pleasant views over the lush Lynher Valley. The 'Crooked Inn' is a mere six miles from the historic heart of maritime Plymouth. With the added attraction of traditional Cornish hospitality this family-run inn has tastefully designed en suite accommodation making it an ideal base for a west country holiday, weekend or overnight break. Though only half a mile from the Penzance to Plymouth trunk road, this friendly hostelry is within easy reach of local resorts, secluded beaches, moorland and other attractions for which Cornwall, England's most westerly county, is famous. Your Hosts will not only ensure a pleasant welcome but will also make you feel at home in this delightful pub with an ambience all of its own. An extensive range of home cooked meals, using local produce, is served in the ancient timber beamed bar before an open log fire. Tony keeps a well-stocked cellar with a good choice of real ales, wines & spirits. The Rooms are available all through the year for the short stay business man needing quick connections to Plymouth and the South West. For those who prefer to take advantage of the mild climate of Cornwall in the quieter seasons of the year. Our bar & restaurant are located in the oldest part of the property. Still with many original features, it is that perfect mix between traditional surroundings & modern comforts. The log burners keep you warm in the winter whilst the doors open out on marvellous views for the lazy summertime afternoons. Our extensive lawns and gardens spread around the entire property, we have more than enough space for a marquee so if your wedding or birthday requires more room then we can accommodate you easily. We have a great BBQ area for sunny days & warm evenings. We can arrange a complete BBQ feast for as many or as few as you require. All of our residents have full complementary use of the internationally reknowed golf and leisure venue St. Mellion.
Picture of The Crooked Inn, Saltash at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enchanting
The crooked Inn was the most enchanting guest house. I have never in my life come across a place with so much character. The lovely garden is a sun trap and has little ducks and dogs running around. The staff are on big family and are very friendly. And last but not least, you can't beat the views all around of the beautiful countryside. It is the perfect escape from your hectic life.

Reviewed by
K Johnson

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great weekend break
We stayed at the crooked inn after finding it online.
Arrived to a friendly welcome, spacious room with lovely en suite. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and had very quick service.
breakfast was fantastic, good choice and friendly staff on shift. Nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend a stay.

Reviewed by
N Barber

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Would certainly recommend the Crooked Inn. The accommodation, friendly staff, the food and the beer were all excellent.

Reviewed by
S Cooke

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an enjoyable stay
We recently stayed at the inn. Our overall stay was very enjoyable and our accomadation was very comfortable. We initially had an issue with the heating in our room but once we asked the staff to turn it on we were content.
We booked a table for our evening meal and although they had a large party on, they were still efficient; although a little forgetful with the cutlery!! Breakfast was to a very high standard and I would revisit and recommend.

Reviewed by
Jim K

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class
From walking through the door to leaving 12 hours later the service was excellent. Well kept beers, superb food (recommend the suet pudding). Clean well furnished room and excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Martin Holt

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I can't fault the staff for their welcoming attitude and attentiveness to their guests. The setting is also lovely, made all the more enjoyable by the geese, pig and dog wondering round. However, the decor of the room and quality of breakfast mean that, in my opinion, the accommodation is over-priced and exceeded even by the typical boring budget hotels. The place could be very special indeed but, left as it is, I wouldn't be inclined to return, other than for dinner and a drink.

Reviewed by
Gavin W

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was pleasantly surprised by the size and standard of the room, which has clearly been updated recently. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard with plenty of fresh, local produce on offer.

Reviewed by
J Lewis

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One for the book
Nice friendly welcome from the landlord and shown personally to my room - nice touch. Very clean and well maintained room (No.4) which was good sized and a had a lovely leather armchair. Powerful shower and clean, fluffy towels. Didn't have an evening meal as I arrived after 10pm, but did sample a couple of pints in the bar which were reasonably priced and the locals were friendly. Good nights sleep. Breakfast was well laid out and plenty of cereals, fruit etc. Only downside to the whole stay was that I enjoy a bacon sandwich for breakfast when away and they had ran out due to the amount of breakfasts they had served!?! Strange but true...... so had to settle for sausage and egg instead. Other than that, lovely little place and I shall stay again.

Reviewed by
ROBERT FIRTH

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A super place.
A last minute choice but so glad it was available. Friendly staff, clean and cosy rooms and a well stocked bar and great food. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Stephen Wilson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay

Reviewed by
andy b

From Gloucester, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next