No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 17th Century ORTON HALL

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
Orton , PENRITH, CA10 3RF
Orton Hall is a superb Jacobean Mansion built in 1662 standing in 7 acres of its own mature parkland. We have 4 suites, each with its own unique charm. All guests have full use of the grounds and the Great Hall, with its grand piano, snooker table, fireplace and spectacular views across the grounds.

Guests of all 4 of our suites have FREE HEALTH SPA MEMBERSHIP at the fantastic North Lakes Spa & Gym in nearby Penrith.

Bedding and towels are provided and a washing machine/dryer is available. Night storage heating is included and electricity is metered. There is secure parking in the grounds. Orton Hall benefits from an ideal location as The Lakes, Yorkshire Dales and Eden Valley are all only 20 minutes drive through some of the most picturesque countryside in England. Golf, fishing, riding, tennis, walking and watersports are all available locally.

Orton village features an inn, tea rooms, village shop and the renowned Kennedy's Chocolate Factory. Orton is reached from junctions 38 and 39 of the M6. Suites are traditionalist and elegant with stunning views, wood flooring and a multitude of delightful unique and original features. All are fitted with every possible modern comfort and facility.
Picture of 17th Century ORTON HALL, PENRITH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning location
What a relaxing stay we had at Orton Hall. The property is very peaceful and is surrounded by mountains. The village pub is a 5 minute walk and was great for Sunday lunch. Orton hall is a fabulous building and still retains many of its historical features. A must for anyone wanting to escape for a few days. We'll be back.

Reviewed by
Julie P

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful
Our weekend in Orton Hall was peaceful and quiet, despite there being other guests we weren't disturbed by any noise.
The grounds are lovely and the apartments well appointed with luxury furnishings and all mod cons.
This is our second stay and will definitely book again.

Reviewed by
Kim S

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning place
A completely enchanting place. Would highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Chris Wren

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic place to relax.
From the moment I drove through the automatic gates onto the driveway I felt totally relaxed and on holiday. The residents were very friendly and welcoming. The building and gardens are beautiful. It was just a short walk to the village and the tea room at the chocolate factory.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class stay
From the moment I began to plan the trip, first class customer service oozed through from the owners. The complete stay was magnificent and the Hall itself was a sublime venue.

Reviewed by
Andy H

From Jarrow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So Peaceful
Had a lovely two nights, beautiful grounds, comfortable accommodation.
So quiet it felt like we were the only two people in the building.
Village very small but has everything you need for a few days away.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place to stay.

Reviewed by
rebecca s

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent apartment.
We stayed in the royalist suite and it was fantastic. The main sitting room with its oak panelling, fireplace and hidden door through to the rest of the apartment added to its charm. The kitchen is well equipped with basic provisions (i.e. tea, coffee, milk, oil, biscuits, salt, pepper etc) which was very useful.If our stay had been longer we would have made more use of the library of books and games and the free membership to the north lakes spa. The communal grounds and lounge (with snooker table) are great. The village pub/hotel serves good food at a very reasonable price if you don't want to cook. Easy access to the lake district (Kendal 30 mins approx/ Windermere 45 mins). We will certainly be recommending Orton Hall to our friends and family.

Reviewed by
T Mead

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful manor stay
My family (2 adults, 2 boys aged 11 and 8 sleeping on camp beds generously provided) stayed for two nights in August at Orton Hall in the royalist suite. We had a wonderful time- it's a lovely hall, in a great location (we saw a red squirrel in the grounds), close to the lakes and the North Yorkshire dales. We used the pool at the spa which is about a 20min drive away which was excellent- though probably crowded at the weekend, but we went late afternoon, and there were only a handful of other people there. Only one minor niggle was that the video player didn't work. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
Carl H

From Dinas Powys, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful orton hall
Beautiful accommodation and surroundings. Easy access for m6. The lakes and eden Valley on the doorstep. Couldn't ask for better.

Reviewed by
janet D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next