No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
East Street,Turners Hill , East Grinstead, RH10 4QD
Boutique 5 Star Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa is just 6 miles from Gatwick and close to junction 10 of the M23 and junction 6 of the M25. The hotel offers luxurious rooms with full use of the award-winning spa facilities, a choice of restaurants, FREE Wifi and FREE parking.

Set in a country house surrounded by 170 acres of parkland, rooms at Alexander House feature over sized beds and marble bathrooms, many with Victorian baths, double showers or over sized baths for two. Rooms also include toiletries from Temple Spa, bathrobes and slippers.

The Utopia Spa has plunge pools, an outdoor hot tub, a yoga studio and a wide range of beauty treatments available. There is also a gym, fitness suite, tennis courts, mountain bikes and a wide variety of trails ideal for hiking.

AG’s 3 Rosette Restaurant offers fine dining whilst the Reflections Restaurant overlooks a courtyard and has its own champagne bar. There are terraces for al fresco dining and our new 1608 Champagne Bar.
Picture of Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, East Grinstead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

if you want to pay an inflated price for a substandard room this is you place
At £165 a night you expect a lot more than you get. The Sohitel, Hilton offer far more for a lot less

Reviewed by
iain m

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel and grounds with very helpful and friendly staff... Thoroughly enjoyed it!!

Reviewed by
Gary E

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and Spa but Food i AGs is not at the same level
I love this hotel and the spa is fantastic - service is exemplary and the setting is great - a very relaxing hotel.
However the food in AGs restaurant is just "OK" and therefore quite overpriced (our meal was >£100 per head) - at that price I was expecting to be wowed but the tastes were all over the place and my pork rib was overcooked.

Reviewed by
Sebastian R

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful retreat.
This was booked as a birthday present and did not disappoint. Stunning surroundings and fantastic facilities. Hospitality faultless, as was our meal in Reflections restaurant. Staff took the time to recommend wine at dinner when we asked for advice, and the choice was very good. Spa was beautiful: we even ventured outside on a dark December night for a dip in the hot tub. Excellent massages. Already planning another stay. Very impressed.

Reviewed by
G Humphrey

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
The most friendliest hotel I have been to In
A long time. relaxed yet professional from the moment you arrive
Beds and pillows that are like sleeping on a cloud
Lovely food in AJ's and a excellent cheese board

Reviewed by
Samantha B

From Ongar, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, great spa and excellent service
Alexander House is a stunning hotel, both inside and out and we had impeccable service while we were there. The spa was great and the lunch delicious. We hadn't realised that breakfast wasn't included (which I'm surprised at bearing in mind the cost of the room) but I accept that I should have been aware of this at the time of booking. When we checked out, I was mistakenly charged for 2 cooked breakfasts (£19.50 each) which was a bit of a shock as I'd only had a bowl of cereal and a cup of tea but when I pointed the mistake out, the receptionist corrected the bill without question.
Overall, felt very refreshed after our 1 night stay and would definitely return.

Reviewed by
H Truelove

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Excellent stay, enjoyed so much tried to book a further night but unfortunately no vacancies. Spa facilities were top notch and totally relaxing. Staff were friendly and helpful, can't fault the hotel in anything.

Reviewed by
Kim Pettis

From Bexleyheath, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect stay
My wife and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at Alexander House. Upon arrival we were very lucky to receive a complimentary upgrade to a lovely room called 'Treetops' and the room was stunning. My wife then had a treatment in the Utopia spa whilst I used the steam room, sauna and pool. The spa facilities were spotless and well worth using.
We had a superb dinner in Reflections restaurant with the service being very good and the food even better.
The hotel staff were polite, efficient and friendly at all times during our stay. I would highly reccomend Alexander House to anyone wanting a luxury stay at a super hotel.

Reviewed by
Neil M

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best place to visit,excellent customer service

Reviewed by
Nomonde K

From Gravesend, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a Hotel
I honestly cant sing the praises of this hotel highly enough!
I'm not going to tell you anymore than 'You must stay here'.

Reviewed by
Ben Newman

From Trafford Park Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next