No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Swn Y Dwr B&B

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
SWN Y DWR, WHITEHURST , WREXHAM, LL14 5AS
Swn Y Dwr B&B is within a lovely peaceful location down a quiet lane just off the A5 Llangollen road near Chirk. Swn y Dwr is set in its own beautiful garden with a brook running through. Swn y Dwr means sound of water.Swn y Dwr is one mile from Chirk Castle. Chirk Golf Club, Marina and the Llangollen Canal are a few minutes walk away.

The canal path leads to the World Heritage Site, Pontcysyllte Aqueduct which is less than two miles by foot. Walkers might like to trace the Offa's Dyke path which runs close to Swn y Dwr.

During your stay, you will be served a choice of a full Welsh breakfast, fresh fruit and local produce plus free range where possible.

We would like you to sample the comfort of our Bed and Breakfast there will be a warm friendly welcome awaiting you.
Picture of Swn Y Dwr B&B, WREXHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rural B&B
Very friendly and welcoming. Nice rooms. We'll positioned with impressive local rural landscape and Chirk castle. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Daniel H

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The porch was unkempt which was not welcoming. The bedroom only had one comfy chair when the room was for two. With no guest lounge available this was not very comfy. The bathroom was clean. The dining room needed dusting. There were breakfast crumbs on the dining table on our first morning...they were still there the next morning! It was annoying that we couldn't have a key to the front door. This meant we had to wait,sometimes ages for the owner to answer the door.

ManagementResponse

Dear customer, I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Swn y Dwr, I will address your comments. Hygiene and cleanliness are at the forefront of our service, the dining room is cleaned everyday, anything that has been overlooked will be found. I'm so sorry you didn't have 2 comfy chairs in your room, however there are 2 chairs in the room. Here at Swn y Dwr we try to provide a safe comfortable home from home, there is a warm welcome for everyone who enters inside. The doors are open most of the time, although we have to lock them when we are in the garden, the most time needed to unlock and gain entry would be no more than a few minutes, again sorry for your inconvenience. We can assure you your comments are being taken seriously and addressed, thank you for your review.

Reviewed by
janice brown

From Penmaenmawr, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place stayed two nights our room didn't have own ensuite but our own bathroom which was fine if you like it that way place abit busy and in need of a good spring clean breakfast was great and plenty of it .If B&B's are your thing this is a good one.

Reviewed by
Tony A

From Christchurch New Zealand, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Smiths
A lovely feindly welcome and ideal as a stopping point into Wales aor a walking trip.

Reviewed by
N Smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend at Swn Y Dwr
Everything was really nice, from the welcome we received, to the accommodation, food and the location which was just off the A5, but could have been in a different world. It is just right for a few days in the Llangollen area.

Reviewed by
Christopher H

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely guest house, excellent value for money
Welcoming and clean guest house, very nicely designed. The double bedroom is large and comfortable with an en suite and scrumptious cakes on arrival (the cakes are worth the booking alone). Kath the owner is very friendly and has lots of helpful advice on eateries, pubs, walks etc. Location excellent for walkers or those wanting to visit Llangollen canal, the Chirk aqueduct and viaduct and the Pontcysllyte aqueduct. Highly recommended.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for a lovely review, I hope to see you both again soon. Regards, Kath

Reviewed by
Sarah G

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelllent all round

Reviewed by
nigel l

From Windlesham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic little hideaway
I was made very welcome by Kath, room was great having all the home comforts and very spacious. I had a lovely evening meal on my secong night and spent several hours in her most lovingly kept gardens after a long days walking. the house is well situated for lots of interesting walks and makes a good quiet and private base.
Kath has a good knowledge of local wildlife and the seasons habits as well as being a wonderful cook and warm host. Great value for money and look forward to another visit.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for the wonderful review, you were a model guest and it was a pleasure to accommodate you here at Swn y Dwr. We look forward to meeting you again soon. Kath Thomas, Swn y Dwr B&B.

Reviewed by
c hymas

From Todmorden, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good family guest house/B&B
Made very welcome. Nothing too much trouble. Good night sleep. Good breakfast. What more could one ask for?
We will use them again when next visiting Nth Wales.

Reviewed by
N Bridle

From Steyning, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
We had a lovely stay here. The house is easy to find (just off the Chirk roundabout) and our room was very comfortable. We had a large bathroom next to the bedroom for our sole use which was great. We were made feel very welcome and all our needs were catered for.

Reviewed by
Adele G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next