No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Castle House Hotel Castle Street, Hereford, HR1 2NW

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "The delicious dinner of locally sourced produce and ingredients, much from the owner’s own farm."

Tucked away in the most elegant quarter of Hereford and within two minutes walk of the magnificent Hereford Cathedral, Castle House is a unique, privately-owned boutique townhouse hotel. The most luxurious and prestigious hotel in Hereford.

With its Georgian architecture, 24 individually-themed suites and bedrooms, and a terraced garden leading down to the tranquil Castle Moat, Castle House has a very special relaxed and informal atmosphere. Eight of our rooms are new and situated just moments from the main hotel at No.25 Castle Street. The Castle Restaurant, amongst the finest restaurants in Herefordshire, and Castle Bistro offer the best dining in Hereford and are the domain of one of England's premier female chefs, Claire Nicholls, who sources her ingredients from local farmers and artisan producers from the Herefordshire Marches, including our own Ballingham Farm.
Picture of Castle House Hotel, Hereford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal, central location for someone lacking a car. Old fashioned but lively and obviously busy. Initially I was dismayed that the busy receptionist made no eye contact or indication I had been noticed as I waited some minutes to check in. Happily a young lady (perhaps from the restaurant) came upon the scene and welcomed me warmly before showing me my room. The accommodation was pleasing - I liked the fridge containing fresh milk, the slippers, the robe and generous toiletries. According to the notes wireless broadband was not available on my floor, but that proved to be incorrect - The notes need updating. I ordered room service for my evening meal, which was served with a smile and at no extra charge. The food was good and plentiful. Breakfast was pleasant, though I was disappointed at the lack of advertised pear juice. On the whole I felt very comfortable there and would revisit.

Reviewed by
Marilyn Pryce

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay at Hereford's excellent hotel
Our stay of six nights was a happy experience. From the initial check-in (very friendly and personal) to the final leaving (efficient and helpful) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in what must be one of Hereford's finest Hotels. The quality of service, the rooms (a Junior Suite) and food (almost too good) was the best we have experienced in the UK in a very long while. As a city centre hotel, the car parking was inevitably restricted but generally adequate unless the hotel was very busy. Overall a great stay and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to friends.

Reviewed by
Peter N

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay
We only spent one night at the Castle but we could not fault the room or service.
Top marks all around.

Reviewed by
KAREN r

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best hotel I have stayed in for a long time. Marred only by the piped music.
One of the good things about hotels of this standard is that, unlike more downmarket establishments, they do not usually play piped music. But this one did.

Reviewed by
DJ Renney

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

castle house
Pleasant, old town centre hotel with annex. Location is good - main sights within easy walk. Restaurant is popular - book if you intend to eat there.

Reviewed by
Tony R

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Best place to stay in Hereford
Very well located, helpful and attentive staff. Stayed here several times and it's been consistently very good.

Reviewed by
Julian Barber

From Bruton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful staff and the perfect hotel
A hotel that I would recommend to anyone. Conveinently located to city centre and the cathedral. Room facilities excellent and even fresh milk for your tea and coffee in the room with sherry before evening meal. All little touches that shows the hotel cares about it's standards and customers.

Reviewed by
Paul E

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service - Bar Staff
Whilst ordering a drink at the bar a customer started to take the Michael out of me, the bar staff a young thought it would be fun to laugh at my expense, I would have given a six if it hadn't been for that incident. Shame because the rest of the staff were impeccable. A superb place to take a lady for a romantic dinner and stay.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday in Hereford
Everything about this hotel is wonderful, except, my evening meal was awful, so I sent it back.
It was supposedly a rib-eye steak. It was the worst piece of meat I have ever, ever been served.
This was a surprise as the hotel is in Hereford, the owner is a farmer who rears Hereford cattle yet my Sunday meal was awful- it was full of gristle/like leather, should never have been cooked.
If I was the owner of this hotel I would dismiss the chef as the dinner menu was, overall, unsatisfactory, experimental, just did not work. I was not charged for the meal.

Reviewed by
Alistair Stones

From Tetbury, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.