No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
THE CROWN INN THE SQUARE, BISHOPS WALTHAM, SO321AF
The Crown Inn is a charming 16th Century coaching inn situated in St. Georges Square near the centre of Bishops Waltham, a delightful small country town set in the heart of the beautiful Hampshire countryside in the Meon valley.

The building has its own place in history as it billeted captured French Sailors after the Battle of Trafalgar, including the Admiral of the Franco-Spanish fleet, Vice-Admiral Villeneuve.

From the moment you arrive, you will be able to feel the history and charm with our open fires, exposed beams and wood panelled walls preserving the integrity of this magnificent property.

Inside there are many appealing areas where locals and guests can enjoy our quality ales, fine wines and seasonal dishes. We also aim to support the local community by selling and promoting some local produce and speciality products from our display counter.

The crown boasts eight boutique bedrooms that have been beautifully furnished and decorated to a very high standard oozing character and individual appeal.

Situated close to Winchester, in the heart of the Hampshire countryside, The Crown Inn is a perfect retreat for you to visit and experience a genuine welcome and our hospitality.

Imagine how many tales The Crown could tell. Hundreds of years of history in the making - although as far as we are aware the only spirits we have at the Crown are the drinkable ones!
Picture of The Crown Inn, BISHOPS WALTHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice pub with rooms.
A lovely pub with good food including made to order breakfast. Very nice room too - smallish but nicely appointed. Lots of parking.

Reviewed by
Mike W

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully restored hotel with lots of character
Staying here was an experience to be remembered.Fascinating history and intriguing rooms.Just watch your head though, originally built with short people in mind!

Reviewed by
Pamela Freeman

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First night away without little one
Within an hour of home, good food and charming room.
We wanted a nice pub / restaurant with rooms to have a nice meal, few drinks and just a chilled out evening and morning without our little one. And that's what we got. The rooms were nicely appointed, nice shower room. Food was lovely. Service was great, manager was very nice.
More rural than country bug nice all the same. Did exactly what we wanted.

Reviewed by
Stephen T

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A decent shower - always important to start a business day
Breakfast fine to good
Polite and helpful management
Warm and comfortable

Reviewed by
BERNARD O

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay - I enjoyed it
I arrived (as planned) after 22h30 and was warmly welcomed to the hotel/pub/restaurant. I had a good night's sleep in a warm room with a comfortable bed, and had an excellent freshly-cooked breakfast the next morning. All interactions with the staff were pleasant. My only small quible - and it's NOT a complaint - is that the room was small in floor area with a double bed in it, nor would it suit my brother-in-law who is 6ft 7 in height.

Reviewed by
Hugh Browton

From Aldeburgh, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value!!!
Stayed on business, absolutely fantastic hotel!!! Great accommodation, and food that I could eat again and again!!! Completely faultless and a credit to the efforts and attitude to the staff!! Recommended.

Reviewed by
G Andrew

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place!
We had a fantastic room on a late booking which made it really good value. Loved the furnishings, the size of the room, the staff and the food.

Reviewed by
peter t

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good theme
Themed on previous residents of this village the Crown gives a good part of the history of the Battle of Trafalgar and fascinating information about very senior officers of the French Navy captured during that conflict.
Good all round but being an olde worlde inn -- please mind your head !!!

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little find! Highly recommend.
Stayed here 3 times now on business, good rooms, good food, good, friendly, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
N WILLIAMSON

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great All Round Experience
Beautiful hotel and really lovely rooms. In a central location to the village with really good transport links to Winchester and other key locations. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Rebecca S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next