You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Elm Tree Cottage

4

Jacklands Bridge Tickenham, Clevedon, BS21 6SQ

Price From 136.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Anne B

  • November 2015

A little gem

Lovely room with great views, comfortable kingsize bed with nice linen.

Good sized shower room. Everything of good quality. Breakfast excellent with good choice. Hosts very helpful and friendly. Would certainly recommend this B & B

  • G Brown

  • July 2015

1 night stay

Excellent accommodation warm welcome comfortable bedroom extra pillow would be good (we didn't ask) breakfast to die for .wonderful start to trip on the Balmoral.

Thanks

  • alan w

  • June 2015

Good friendly b&b

Very friendly.

Warm comfortable room with pleasant views.

  • Helen W

  • June 2015

Nice place

Immediately upgraded to very nice room as it was unexpectedly vacant - nice touch.

Pleasant, bright room. Lovely comfy bed. Helpful hosts.

  • Patricia G

  • June 2015

Disappointing

After reading the reviews, I expected something quite special so was very disappointed when we arrived at the property.

The room was drab and dark. There was a stain on the ceiling where the roof had leaked at some time. Although the bed was comfortable, there was only one thin pillow each. A summer weight duvet was provided and as it was still quite chilly at night, it was fortunate that a thin fleece blanket had been stored in the wardrobe. The tea tray was adequate, although the edge of the small table on which it was placed was very dusty and the room didn't feel particularly clean. Also, it was not possible to plug in the kettle while it was on the table - the only available plug socket meant that we had to put the kettle on the floor to boil. The shower room was very small; there was no window and the extractor fan did not work. On arrival, we wanted to take a short nap in the late afternoon but there was so much noise from downstairs that it was impossible. We could clearly hear conversations in the kitchen below, cupboard doors banging and the radio was loud. When we used the shower room, we could hear the conversation of the couple in the next room. The property is adjacent to quite a busy main road. We had spent previous nights in superb B&Bs in Gloucestershire and Devon and paid less than the premium rates that Elm Tree Cottage Charge.

Response from hotel

Well a very lengthy review raising so many points which therefore deserves a lengthy reply. I’ll try to get to them all. The ceiling stain, about 3”, arose recently due to strong winds which shifted a roof tile allowing heavy rain to be blown under the eaves. This was repaired leaving the mark still to be fixed. It has now dried out and is awaiting a dab of paint. I’ll do that tomorrow. Drab and dark is rather subjective view. The room faces directly south in an elevated un-overlooked position with 180 degree panoramic view over countryside. Lots of guests say wow! Admittedly if the weather is dull and cloudy, then the room, as any room reflects this. For the past month all beds have had the duvets changed from 13 tog to 9.5

spring weight. We will be changing these for 4.5 tog summer weight in a month or so as the night temperatures dictate ensuring everyone is comfortable all year round, however a blanket is there for those that want something heavier during the night during this seasonal change. It is so hard for us to get this right for everyone so we are glad you found it

useful and that the bed was comfortable. My wife Bev does the dusting and cleaning. She is mortified and mystified that you found some dust and you felt that the room wasn’t clean. Her reason for being is to clean, dust, hoover and check for spiders and cobwebs and that I do everything correctly.

There is no one to blame, it is just us. Most other reviewers rate our cleanliness very highly. The bathroom extractor is silent, and the fan is located in the loft about 6 feet from the room you were in so if you were expecting to hear the whir of blades you won’t. Regarding the noise below during the afternoon we are sorry for the hubbub. Our Son and his wife were

expecting a baby and all our family came round for about an hour or so and talking quite excitedly. She has had a girl. The bathroom is back to back to another bathroom with a well-insulated wall between. This is the first time in 13 years of running our home as a B&B that this type of noise has been mentioned. All other walls separating rooms are over 2ft thick so no noise except what passes through two sets of heavy fire doors. You say we are adjacent to a busy main road. This is about 60 yards away so we are quietly located. Only a week or so ago a guest complained about the noise being awoken to the sound of birdsong (he said jokingly).We wish we could charge premium rates. Alas we have to market price against competitors in the local area of which there are many. We are slightly less than most. We are proud of our offering and the high standards that most of our guests recognise so we are sorry it disappointed you. Lastly, you stayed with us for two nights and did not even ask for extra pillows. We have cupboards full of them. Our pillows are so soft and plump that we stopped putting two out as they were usually on the floor come the morning.

  • D R W

  • April 2015

Handy for Tyntesfield

Hosts very welcoming, nice breakfast, room a bit on the cramped side,.

  • Brian H

  • February 2015

Two day stay

Excellent B&B with spotless room and very friendly welcome.

Freshly prepared breakfast with lots of choice. Convenient location, very close to M5, Coast and Bristol (close to Park and Ride).

  • Stephen H

  • January 2015

Elm Tree Cottage

Very comfortable

  • Andy Williams

  • December 2014

Brilliant stay these guys can't do enough for you

Don't let the steep hill put you off its a great place I never knew about in the thirteen years I lived in nailsea brilliant short stay thank you.

  • billy reid

  • December 2014

Elm Tree Cottage

Our stay was very short but we were made very welcome.

The room and food was very good and we will use the again