No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
West Cliff , WHITBY, YO21 3HA
Taking pride of place on Whitby's West Cliff opposite the famous whale bones arch and overlooking Whitby harbour, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal Hotel is steeped in history and heritage.
Boasting tastefully decorated public areas and warm, comfortable bedrooms with everything you would expect from a modern establishment, the Royal Hotel is an extremely popular destination which is frequented by many returning customers thanks to the great hospitality provided by our warm and friendly team.
Our Ballroom offers a great variety of entertainment, and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar.
The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break.

The hotel has a car park. Alternatively street parking is available or there is a public car park located nearby. (Parking charges apply).
Picture of The Royal Hotel, WHITBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The re-furbished room was excellent - especially the views of the sea. Food was average, but served very quickly and good value for the price.

Reviewed by
D hathaway

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised at the refurbishment of the hotel, returning after about four years,we found improvements in all aspects, rooms, staff, food, all much better.

Reviewed by
J Bradford

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
Room well equipped .very good breakfast.
Ballroom a little noisy nearby.

Reviewed by
Caroline N

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first stay in whitby
hotel position - excellent. walking into town easier than it looked. Car park very convenient. Hotel staff most helpful. Room and bed comfortable. Breakfast a little like faulty towers as the staff found it difficult to separate us from the bus trip and didn't appear to know what to do with individual bookings.

Reviewed by
b hibbitt

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whitby short break
Everyone very polite and curteous,, service fine, couldn't find ballroom or entertainment although we didn't go out of our way to look for it

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Stevenson, Thank you for your comments regarding the Royal Hotel Whitby. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, James Hird

Reviewed by
Derek S

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was nice with nice sea views put the food on the first night was so bad we went out on the 2nd night you can see that years ago it was one of the top hotels in whitby put is a bit run down now
We would not have stayed if we knew that it was a shearings owned hotel a lot of Coachs arrived when we were there they a just catering for cheap holidays that was why the food was so bad.we went out on the front balcony having a drink when some from the coach party came out and started smoking no one from the hotel stopped them no signs up out side we had to go in side

Reviewed by
j perkins

From Poole, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst Hotel
The Hotel was not worth the money paid. Dirty Walls in the room. Masking tape round the window. Breakfast was not given as no table allocated,

Reviewed by
J Dobinson

From xx, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast
full english was very small .. pensioner portions

Reviewed by
michelle b

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night only
Hotel was old tatty and needs doing up, even the lettering on the front of building is worn and falling appart
Don't like the idea of paying before you have even been in the room not good
Never be back there again

Reviewed by
D White

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room with brilliant view

Reviewed by
Lyn H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next