Reviews - The Royal Hotel


West Cliff, WHITBY, YO21 3HA

Price From 114.89 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (30)

60% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Chris Gill

  • November 2015

3 Night Stay

At the price £99 per night suprised that no toiletries supplied in the bathroom, had trouble getting an iron as other guest hadn't returned it, room was fine breakfast was good, don't book unless you are over 65, it's an OAP hotel, the ground floor public areas are like a sauna, gets are rolled in by the coach load.

  • Colin W

  • October 2015

Great Location

The hotel overall is a little dated and tired but not lacking in character.

We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a superior room on the from of the hotel with great views over Whitby and the harbour. Thanks go to the receptionist. She was great and we could not heave asked for more.

  • Geraldine M

  • July 2015

This is a very tired hotel, the room was nice but the bathroom had two bars of soap.The location is good and the breakfast was very good,I think they could extend the breakfast times.

  • N Watson

  • June 2015

The Royal hotel is dated, it is tired, old fashioned, it is like a throw back to the 50s.

Oh for a company like Premier Inns (or similar) to take control of this tired hotel.

It really does need a complete makeover. Our room at best was only just adequate, the washbasin in the bathroom was tiny, the shower was almost as old as I am. The window (overlooking the sea) did not close properly. Our bed (a double, when most hotels have king size at least) shall I say only just fell into the comfortable zone. Wifi, was only available on the ground floor in the public rooms (why) We only stayed 1 night, on the morning of our departure, like most people I imagine, I wanted a shower, only to find there was NO hot water,(It's 2015 for goodness sake not 1915) not only could I not have a shower, I needed to boil the kettle so I could have a shave. This hotel is tired, dated, old fashioned. The bar closed at 10.00, to be told if I required another drink, I would have to go to the ballroom, where a disco was ongoing, not for the fainthearted, another tired, dated throw back to the 50's. Would I recommend this hotel, absolutely NOT.


  • June 2015

Quite pricey.

Everything fine, a bit expensive for one night.

  • K Finn

  • February 2015

Whitby break

Good view from window.

Room nice and warm. Breakfast a little on the small size. We walked to Runswick Bay fantastic views.


  • January 2015

smelly cold and noisy

smelly cold and noisy never again!!!!!

  • D hathaway

  • November 2014

The re-furbished room was excellent - especially the views of the sea.

Food was average, but served very quickly and good value for the price.

  • J Bradford

  • October 2014

Pleasantly surprised at the refurbishment of the hotel, returning after about four years,we found improvements in all aspects, rooms, staff, food, all much better.

  • b hibbitt

  • October 2014

first stay in whitby

hotel position - excellent.

walking into town easier than it looked. Car park very convenient. Hotel staff most helpful. Room and bed comfortable. Breakfast a little like faulty towers as the staff found it difficult to separate us from the bus trip and didn't appear to know what to do with individual bookings.