No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
West Cliff , WHITBY, YO21 3HA
Taking pride of place on Whitby's West Cliff opposite the famous whale bones arch and overlooking Whitby harbour, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal Hotel is steeped in history and heritage.
Boasting tastefully decorated public areas and warm, comfortable bedrooms with everything you would expect from a modern establishment, the Royal Hotel is an extremely popular destination which is frequented by many returning customers thanks to the great hospitality provided by our warm and friendly team.
Our Ballroom offers a great variety of entertainment, and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar.
The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break.

The hotel has a car park. Alternatively street parking is available or there is a public car park located nearby. (Parking charges apply).
Picture of The Royal Hotel, WHITBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst Hotel
The Hotel was not worth the money paid. Dirty Walls in the room. Masking tape round the window. Breakfast was not given as no table allocated,

Reviewed by
J Dobinson

From xx, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night only
Hotel was old tatty and needs doing up, even the lettering on the front of building is worn and falling appart
Don't like the idea of paying before you have even been in the room not good
Never be back there again

Reviewed by
D White

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room with brilliant view

Reviewed by
Lyn H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A charming old hotel in a great location
This was clearly a luxurious hotel in its day, it may be a bit faded now but still retains its charm. The public areas are still quite grand and the view of the abbey from the front terrace remains unchanged. The location on the cliffs overlooking the bay gives to rooms to the front an excellent view and means it's far enough away from the Main Street to be very quiet. The room was adequate, the usual en-suite and tea making facilities are fine; but the breakfast was superb. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Nick Morgan

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again !
I will never book this hotel again. The bath was extremely dirty, the light fitting was falling off the wall and the breakfast was very small and the egg tasted of vinegar. The view from the window overlooked the carpark, not the sea front, and finding a parking space for our car was a nightmare. For £145 for 1 night, I expected more ! Very disappointed all round.

Reviewed by
m burton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired
Hotel is tired but has an unbeatable location. Good value if you can get a discount.

Reviewed by
John J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel needs good refurbishment, more for the older generation. Room was ok just somewhere to shower and sleep, hairs on toilet which never moved even though supposed to be cleaned every day. Breakfast very poor small portions, waiter didn't even understand english very well didn't no what bacon was! Service also poor and little rude!! For a main hotel in central whitby its very poor standard! And priced far too high. Will not be returning! There a plenty of better hotels in Whitby also cheaper than here, I highly recommend you search elsewhere!

Reviewed by
Katie B

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
bedroom very clean and beautifully presented, customer service good, breakfast cold and not to the standard expected at this hotel.

Reviewed by
Richard S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would have been a Beautiful Hotel in its hayday.
We only stayed overnight on b&b. Off Laterooms. For what we paid I suppose it was worth it. But to say we had Saved over £100 on what it should have cost We was very Disappointed . The windows was held together with black tape on both windows. The shower panel was falling apart at the bottom. All in all the room needs refurbishment. Its an Old Hotel. Which was once an Elegant hotel.but it cud do with refurbishment all the way through. The Staff on reception was fantastic when we arrived a cpl hrs early to check in. They swapped us a room round so we cud check in there and then. The LIFT well its a cupboard its supposed to hold 4 persons but my hubby and myself and a small suitcase just fit in. . The beds was very comfortable we had a double and a single so I spread out in the double. Tea & coffee facilities was good . Just needed some biscuits would have been a good touch. Breakfast well what can I say we was given table 20 . After staying at Premier inn the night before we was very disappointed. My husband went to help himself to juice as nobody had explained how it worked. But to be told off by a young man. We was asked if we wanted hot drinks so I ordered a tea & coffee which they brought but NO milk. We didn.t bother with ceriels. Just had the full english. Which again was a disappointment. The sausage looked like it had been made into a miniture. The tomatoe was hard just warmed thro. I dropped a piece of my toast on the floor. It was picked up but when we asked for some more we got a shocking look of the waiter. So we never complained about anything just ate and left. We had to vacate early to go home to pic our dogs up from kennels before 12 . The Hotel is in a Fabulous location views to die for even from bedroom windows. But its a very old hotel used by Coach firms so has alot of usage. But it needs a refurbishment especialy the bedrooms. Don.t think we would stay here again we was Very disappointed. .

Reviewed by
JUDITH E

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Outdated Hotel
This hotel is long overdue for an upgrade, the room we were given was old fashioned in decor the bed mattress gave no support at all, and the TV was an old portable, the bed clothes consisted of sheet blanket and bedspread, and all the guests seemed to be coach parties, not surprising as I later found it was owned by Shearings. Even with the late rooms discount down to £55 pounds the room is overpriced. No way should anyone pay full price for one of these outdated rooms

Reviewed by
N Boulton

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next