No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Green Gables Guest House

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
37 Broad Street, , , Windermere, LA23 2AB
Green Gables Guest House is a three star accredited, family owned and run guest house in Windermere, in the heart of the Lake District. We offer excellent value bed and breakfast holiday accommodation in a welcoming environment. Green Gables is ideally placed for visiting all the attractions the Lake District has to offer including Hawkshead, Kendal, Grasmere and the Beatrix Potter Museum. The guest house is also conveniently located about five minutes from the train station. We have a selection of Family, Twin, Doubles and Single rooms available. All are very well presented and well equipped with TV and tea and coffee making facilities. In the mornings guest can enjoy a freshly prepared breakfast in the spacious dining room. Secure cycle storage is available and walkers are also welcome, there is parking is available across the road. This welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation sees many guests return year after year and we aim to help to make your visit to Windermere and the Lake District as special as possible. If you are with us for one night or a weekend break we will work hard to make sure you feel right at home in our welcoming B&B. We offer information on a wide range of pubs, restaurants, attractions and activities across Cumbria. We can even help visitors plan their stay well in advance of their visit.
Picture of Green Gables Guest House, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, warm and friendly welcome by the owners. Gave us good advice on restaurants in the area. Would recommend the guest house

Reviewed by
K Simpson

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A home from home
The old cliche 'meet as strangers, leave as friends' is true. A friendly welcome and a very comfortable room with an excellent breakfast. There was time for them to chat and make you feel at home. An experience I will repeat for a longer stay as from the middle of December I will be retired! I look forward to the return visit.

Reviewed by
Angie T

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Guest House Packs a Big Punch
Check-in was fuss free even though we arrived early.
People running the guest house are really friendly and warm.
Breakfast was surprisingly satisfying.

Reviewed by
Z Chia

From Singapore, Singapore
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Green Gables
We were made to feel very welcome on arrival cannot fault the standard or the service breakfasts were fantastic overall a very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Keith Moores

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best experience
The Green Gables is a very friendly bed an breakfast experience. Check in is usually from 4pm, we arrived at 1pm nothing was a problem. The bedding and towels were clean and fresh, the breakfast was amazing and matched the service,with added entertainment from Carol and Gillie, and we are thinking of going back for a 4 day midweek break next year....

Reviewed by
Barry Robertson

From Cottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake Windermere - UK
Green Gables - very pleasant family run guest house. Very friendly, clean and pleasant decor. Within couple of mins to centre of town, shops and restaurants, also for open-top bus tours along from Bowness to Grasmere, practically on doorstep. Even though my partner and I had a front facing room to road, it was very quiet. Only small drawback rather 'chancy' to find free parking space outside, but a couple of streets away found more free spots, otherwise car park right accross guest house; could work out expensive as it applies 24/7. Good location, starting point for lakes - told 5 mins to rail statiion from guest house.

Reviewed by
Clea Mylonas

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the breakfast was very nice and the room was comfortable
the only thing was having to wait until 8 30 to have breakfast I did see that you could see the proprietor but it would not have been fair. The breakfast could do with being run earlier as we was waiting to get down and in.

Reviewed by
jan lister

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a very pleasant stay at Green Gables, the staff are friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Norma Scott

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous spot
Our stay at this guest house was a wonderful experience and we would definitely go back again. They were warm and accommodating in every way and the room was very comfortable and spotless. The breakfast was great and something for everyone. So glad we found this online.

Reviewed by
A Slatter

From Durban, South Africa
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and welcoming.
Room very nice .good location
Shower room was a bit tired.
Very clean B & B

Reviewed by
Stephen Handy

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next