No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Westbeach Resort

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
Westbeach Resort Nelson Road, Westward Ho, EX39 1LF
With excellent balcony views over the sandy beaches of Westward Ho!, Westbeach Resort consists of newly built apartments with iPod docks and modern kitchens. Set in the natural beauty of North Devon, these stylish apartments offer free parking.

Sleek and modern, each apartment at West Beach resort boasts a living area with a flat-screen TV/DVD player, free Wi-Fi, as well as a balcony with stunning views. Some apartments also feature games consoles for guests to enjoy.

The chic, fitted kitchen is equipped with an integrated oven/hob and microwave for self-catering, as well a fridge, dishwasher, and inclusive kitchenware.

Westward Ho!’s 2 miles of beach and the North Devon Surf School are both just 10 minutes’ walk from the apartments. The oldest links golf course in England, Royal North Devon Golf Course, is less than a 5-minute drive away.
Picture of Westbeach Resort, Westward Ho at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful, clean and cozy
The apartment was very clean and tidy. Lots of space to move around. Free parking facility. Close to seaside, shops and restaurants. Only issue we had was difficulty in locking the shower door and this can certainly be fixed. I will highly recommend this acomodation to others.

Reviewed by
R Doya

From London, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality accommodation in great location
The apartment is well fitted with all conveniences excepta washing machine,which would be useful for longer stays, and very clean. The reset isobviously growing and has a ride range of restaurants to choose from. The main attraction of the resort is the location with a great surf beach, rock pools and access to the Devon coast.

Reviewed by
Darren C

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break at Westbeach
I booked this apartment building as a place to stay for a couple of nights whilst we visited family in nearby Bideford. As we have a toddler we opted for an apartment rather than a hotel as it gives us more freedom and a lot more flexibility and space than a hotel or caravan (when we made the mistake of staying at the Bideford Bay Park last year). We arrived late, after 10 pm and found the complex with a little bit of driving around (directions aren't brilliant). The key was in a key safe by the door, so no problems gaining entry. The apartment itself was a ground floor Osprey style, and was quite simply stunning. Very clean, spacious open plan lounge/diner/kitchen which was very well equipped. Tv on the wall with all of the freeview channels plus a DVD player. No iPod Dock or games console which was advertised although not a major issue for us. Sliding patio doors from the lounge and the main bedroom into a balcony with partial sea views. Leather sofas and chairs which weren't the largest or comfiest of things, but perfectly adequate for a weekend. Bedrooms were a good size and the beds were very comfy. Ample wardrobe space in both bedrooms. Bathroom was very nice indeed with a large bath and a rainfall shower.
The location was perfect with literarily a 30 second stroll down the side of the complex to get the sea front. There have been some comments on this place complaining that it wasn't finished, however we have no complaints at all. The apartment block is right next to a building site admittedly, as they are building another block the same as the one we stayed in. However, this was hardly an inconvenience as it didn't disturb one little bit. For the price I paid, (actually cheaper than most hotels wanted for the same duration of stay) I can't fault it at all. The management team were extremely helpful, friendly and helped us out in a big way on our last day. (I won't say what they did as they may not thank me for it), but it was unexpected and very welcome. If you read this, thank you again.
Would I return? Definitely.

Reviewed by
Simon E

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Apartment ...
Just what was written on the box, couldn't find fault with anything. A thoroughly enjoyable experience, would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Cathy P

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The apartment itself was fine but the windows were dirty (both could have been cleaned on the balcony).The carpet in the main bedroom was filthy and of poor quality.The blinds were of poor quality and let in light.

Reviewed by
John Hayes

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minuet break
A very nice accommodation. Clean and bright good size bedrooms and a good kitchen that was very well equipped, the only downfall being the two seater leather sofa and two arm chairs not being comfortable for a night in watching tv I could see the practicality of them and they looked good. But we brought the single mattress into the room for two evenings to watch x Factor in more comfort. So it was ok .
The location is good but as the other blocks haven't been built yet quite a walk round to get to the pub that was nearby it maybe once finished easier access all in all a good stay. We found a beautiful Thai restaurant nearby with excellent food and the beach is good for long walks as stretches for miles we found the one way street made it hard to find the resort entrance so people really need to print out a map before arriving as we toured westward ho three times to find it

Reviewed by
Kathleen C

From Alicante, Spain
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over booked
Arrived to find appartments occupied .phoned help number no help .found a cleaner ,she tried to phone someone no help ,as the person had not turned up she gave us the appartment she was cleaning .there was one other family with no accomadation .It appears this is common in this building. Would not recommend.

Reviewed by
D Wilkins

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good self catering apartment in unfinished resort
Positives-very clean, modern apartment with patio doors off living room and double bedroom. Spacious for a couple as other bedroom used for a dressing room. Bathroom the best finished room with lovely rainfall shower, bath and tiling. Westward Ho! is lovely for a holiday- this was our third year and apartments perfectly placed near great restaurants, beach and surf hire places. Check in very easy and convenient. Derek responded to request for info very quickly. TV modern and kitchen well equipt for making breakfast. Ate out the rest of the time.
Improvements needed- washing machine rather than dishwasher, had to hand wash surfing/beach wear yet dishwasher there which went unused. Last two years similar priced apartments had both.
Bed side lamps- reading at night with main light on- not an uplighter so looking at bulb. A few maintenance jobs not dealt with before our arrival( handle off patio door but could still be locked so no need to call anyone- not an emergency and handle coming off dishwasher- again not an emergency so didn't call anyone). Not major problems but don't give an excellent impression.
Finally the resort is not finished so do not go expecting to walk into a luxury entrance or stairway, building dust and around and wooded boarding up. Once in the apartment everything was very good.

Reviewed by
J Macleod

From Stornoway, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely clean and comfortable accommodation inside . A pity that the actual building and outside of accommodation is not yet complete. Tried to get in touch with housekeeping company all week about problem with patio door still no reply!

Reviewed by
E LAWRIE

From Leicester, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location to sea front,apartment block was ok but surrounded by land about to be developed
We had great weather, Westward Ho is charming, the accommodation was ok with fittings generally to a good standard but bed and mattress felt flimsy and lacked substance. The rear of the apartment backed onto land that was about to be developed. That said it did not interfere with our enjoyment and we had a good break

Reviewed by
Nigel R

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next