No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Heights Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Yeates Road, Portland , Nr Weymouth, DT52EN
The Heights Hotel is set at the heart of the World Heritage Coastline on the summit of the Isle of Portland, Dorset. Stunning panoramic views over Chesil Beach, Weymouth, Lyme Bay and Portland Harbour. The Heights Hotel is an ideal base for exploring Dorset, the Jurassic Coast and Hardy Country.Weymouth & Portland are proud to have hosted the sailing events for the London 2012 Olympic & Paralympic sailing venue. The Hotels unique position is situated within a short distance of the Weymouth and Portland Sailing Academy with facilities to accommodate many International sailing teams.

66 non-smoking en suite bedrooms in classic and deluxe options. Your room will have a quality touch with Dorset 'Clipper' tea, Moores Dorset biscuits and Gilchrist and Soames toiletries. Whatever the event you are celebrating e.g. Valentine's, Mother's Day, Easter, Father's Day, Christmas or New Year, coming to the Heights Hotel will ensure that a good time becomes a great time.

The Heights Hotel Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop have spectacular views over the Dorset Coastline. We use local produce to create our ever evolving Bistro menus. An on-site gym is also available for your enjoyment. The Heights Hotel has function rooms suitable for conferences, meetings and family functions. With 200 complimentary car parking spaces the Heights Hotel can accommodate all requirements and is very easy to find.

The Heights Hotel is the perfect location for a short break, family gathering, residential conference and for all your dining out requirements.
Picture of Heights Hotel, Nr Weymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Weymouth.
Portland as great views, hotel looks what I call commercial and well used. Helpful staff,late night bar and good breakfast to choose from.

Reviewed by
R Ward

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room and view but the restaurant was somewhat disappointing.
The room was fantastic and the views from the room and the restaurant were outstanding.
I was disappointed that despite it being the beginning of August and very hot, the outdoor pool remained covered and unused throughout our stay!
There is a very odd system of taking orders and serving food in the restaurant. One person takes all the orders and others then deliver the food. Unfortunately, the person taking the orders had no idea what the food was like and could not answer basic questions to support the diners. This does not matter if your are serving basic food, but with a fine dining restaurant, diners often want to know more about the food than what is written on the menu. As for recommending a wine to drink with a specific dish - forget it!
Once orders had been taken, the food arrived quickly, but the wait for someone to take the orders was far too long.

Reviewed by
Sue R

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heights Hotel
Fantastic hotel, superb views- location.

Reviewed by
A Turner

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

View is brilliant but rooms aren't what you might be expecting
Its perfect for the chesil beach view and its the highest point on the Island but the room size is small. I paid £120 for double room but the room size was really small and I expected a better room for that price. But was a relaxing stay and the swimming pool wasn't open even in summer. Shocked but I stayed for a day so it didn't made much difference as I had other things to do.

Reviewed by
R Dhingra

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary Spoiled by our visit!
From an initial confusion over our booking where we booked a twin room and had asked for a quiet room on the top floor we were shown to a double room on the ground floor that was as close to the main road as possible. This was remedied with a move to the last available twin room on the upper floor and whilst apparently refurbished recently had a stale smell and smelt a though smokers had not obeyed the no smoking signs.
We had dinner on the first evening and were not at all pleased. Firstly the rolls and butter were obviously layer on the table before service began, so the butter was melting well on a warm evening. Our main course was disappointing and contained some plastic packaging. After the Chef failed to give a satisfactory answer to our problems we took things up with the general manager next day.
We were not charged for our meal and cut our stay short. The General Manager was as helpful as he could be in the circumstances and agreed to refund back the balance of our room payment for the second night.
The one good thing about this hotel has to be the views.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing views
We found this on a last minute whim and so happy we did.
The views were outstanding, so much history in and around this area. We walked for miles, so nice to be surrounded by countryside and wonderful views instead of traffic and shops.
Our room was a deluxe double, the bed was huge, we had a normal size flat screen tv, a fruit bow, water and organic chocolate in the room as well as the regular tea and coffee facilities.
The bathroom was large, clean and the shower worked without burning/freezing you.
We had use of gowns and slippers also in the wardrobe.
We only ate a light snack when we arrived but this was fresh and very tasty.
We had breakfast which was really nice, a huge selection of cereals, fruit, juices along with a buffet style hot food option which also had vegetarian (not quorn, just vegetables) sausages.
The only downfall I would say was that the toast was not at all toasted, it was like warm bread.
Would go back and stay here again, a lovely time was had by us both.

Reviewed by
M Tan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel in Portland
I found this hotel when looking to stay in Weymouth, Its well worth the exrta drive.
Very nice food, friendly staff & great views for the hotel.

Reviewed by
L Jordan

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heights Hotel
Excellent stay. Views across Chesil Beach and the Fleet are amazing. Excellent restaurant too.

Reviewed by
P Curtis

From Andover, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Howard and Bridget at Portland Bill
Excellent, if basic, accommodation. Very friendly and efficient staff. Excellent dinner menu comprising much local fare. Many of wines listed not available though. All-in-all very good value for money in a friendly hotel with the most incredible views.

Reviewed by
Howard Hughes

From Staines, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel overall
fab location - views to die for.
staff very helpful - food off main menu vg , but off the cheep menu basic.
rooms a bit small and dark, but overall would come again.

Reviewed by
SUSAN H

From WINCANTON, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next