No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Portpatrick Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Heugh Road , Portpatrick, DG9 8TQ
Standing in a commanding position, high on the Galloway Cliffs, The Portpatrick Hotel is magical and the vistas are unspoilt offering some of the most spectacular views in Britain.
As well as comfortable bedrooms with everything you would expect in a modern establishment, the Portpatrick Hotel also offers stunningly decorated public areas including a comfortable lounge and adjacent bar as well a spacious and elegant dining room.
We are blessed with having some beautiful gardens around the hotel, we also boast our own 9-hole pitch and putt course adjacent is the excellent Dunskey Golf course.
Our location set above the quaint and beautiful fishing village of Portpatrick in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland is very special. “ Pictures can’t do justice to this view” – it’s just beautiful.
The village itself is small and friendly with whitewashed cottages, a picturesque coastal setting and lovely for an early evening stroll – just a great way to relax!
There's plenty to see nearby with Logan Botanic Gardens and Culzean Castle being the best known attractions but there are lots more.
The Mull of Galloway is another great spot, with views across to England, Ireland and the Isle of Man all from one location.
The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for bird watching and fishing.
Picture of The Portpatrick Hotel, Portpatrick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay, fantastic views, great food.

Reviewed by
Hugh M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best views on the coast
Great value on sunday at £79 but why back up to £105 on monday
The room who lovely , shower was not good it leaked from the hose
The bed was huge and very comfortable
Drinks where expensive , and canned guinness WHY
Evening meal was great and so was breakfast.

Reviewed by
paul robertson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed and breakfast stay for aniversary
arrived at hotel and was greeted by simon at reception who made us very welcome he offered us a much bigger room with a seaview for a small amount extra which was well worth it.w stayed for dinner that night which was very enjoyable good selection of meals all served by enthuseastic and friendly staff.we didnt use the bar as it was too nice to sit indoors so i cant comment but looked very nice.we returned to our room after dinner and simon had delivered an aniversary card to us a very nice touch.the decor was clean and modern in bits but still had character would definetly recommend

Reviewed by
janet herd

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick night
A late ferry from Belfast so arrived 11pm. Had a call from they receptionsist to check I was still arriving as they were worried I may have forgotten!! Nice touch.. Hotel is quite smart inside although from the outside could do with a lick of poaint.. Being so close to the sea, the view from the bedroom in the morning was a complete surprsie..amazing views over the bay and the sea beyond. Good breakfast and overall nice place and I would certainly return when I am that way again

Reviewed by
S Jefferson

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel!
I couldn't fault this hotel. Used it as I needed somewhere to stay for the night close to the ferry terminal in Cairnryan. Customer service was excellent and room was comfortable. My only complaint is breakfast isnt served to 8am which is a bit late for those looking an early start but I knew this before booking. Would reccommend.

Reviewed by
Lisa C

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday maker couple touring from the Lake District
Very pleasant stay; beautiful views all round. Room & ensuite bathroom very acceptable. Would definitely stay at The Portpatrick Hotel, again; hospitality at breakfast time given really good - The Portpatrick is spacious hotel which we liked.

Reviewed by
LJ Smith

From Stratford upon Avon, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No electric shower in bathroom flaky paint on ceiling badly in need of walls painted

Reviewed by
D Glasgow

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I paid a lot less than the normal rate i would be very disappointed if i had paid the full rate room very tired.cracked sink. Paint peeling on walls and ceiling.
Nice public areas but very little atmosphere.shame because it has stunning views in a beautiful area

Reviewed by
d gardner

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hilltop hotel
a lovely hotel that looks like it has recently been decorated room was a bit too warm but opened a window food was great staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
a carson

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.