No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Pub

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
27, High Street , Skipton, BD23 1DT
The Red Lion Skipton is a beautiful pub situated in a Prime Location on the High Street of the historic town of Skipton. The pub is the oldest 'coaching inn' in the town and offers great value food, 8 Cask Ales, Accommodation and real Yorkshire hospitality to locals and visitors alike. Skipton has 4 Market Days a week Monday, Wednesday, Friday & Saturday. You are with in 15/20 mins drive to Grassington, Bolton Abbey, Keighley and the Dales, Skipton Castle, The Canel are all right on your door step. We have a limited space Car Park which is normal accessable AFTER 6pm BUT CAN NOT BE GUARENTEED. The Red Lion at Skipton is a much loved part of the local community as well as a popular place for visitors holidaying or visiting the area. Skipton is one of Yorkshire’s most appealing and vibrant market towns and has much to offer. Tourists return year after year to enjoy the area and stay at The Red Lion. We are well known locally for our outstanding great value meals, comfortable accommodation and our range of 8 real ales FROM THE SURROUNDING AREA.

WATCH THE TOUR de FRANCE RIGHT FROM YOUR BEDROOM WINDOW.IN 2014

Picture of The Red Lion Pub, Skipton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful welcome and stay
Fabulous manager and staff, fun place to visit, room needs updating, but have since been told that all the three rooms are being done next month. Food great value for money and a good menu.

Reviewed by
Susan h

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rugby in'dales
Friendly helpful staff value for money lovely setting and our team won!

Reviewed by
Keith H

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic accommodation
Very basic rooms and facilities - staff were friendly. Bedroom was clean but bathroom could have been cleaner and would definitely benefited from a total rip out and replace. Food was ok but distincly uninspiring. I won't be hurrying back ....

Reviewed by
S Low

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location staff friendly rooms need updating breakfast good very small car park very busy on weekends

Reviewed by
robert pendlebury

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor room, awful breakfast, wouldn't stay there again
bedside light, bathroom light didn't work, broken TV left on wall and replacement blocked dressing table mirror, no useable plugs near dressing table, no double glazing so noisy from market place, floor sloped so that our legs were higher than our heads in bed, cheap shower barely functional.
Breakfast truly awful - sausage 'off', bacon burnt and shattered when touched, even the toast was barely edible and we are not fussy eaters. Staff cleaned around us when we ate, cleaner had to be asked for items, no real service. However, the staff were friendly and polite although disorganized

Reviewed by
jack g

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at Appletreewick. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was a very good size and the bathroom was spacious. But. The bathroom was reminiscent of a hospital facility and the shower was broken, the paint was pealing and there was black mould around the bath. The bedroom was fine but the mattresses bowed so the edges were head height once you were in it, the paint is pealing off the walls, the tv didn't work, and there were the remains of brackets on the walls for old TVs. The room just needs freshening up and modernising as its really starting to look shabby. Its a shame because the staff really were lovely and the room really lets down their efforts.

Reviewed by
P Bradbury

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
Room was not to bad but shower did not work but as we were staying only one night did not worry to much told them next morning and they said yes we know waiting for plumber to come put they did not tell us when we booked in we think this was very poor

Reviewed by
j perkins

From Poole, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy customer
friendly helpful staff. clean room,no undue noise , nice breakfast. would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
lee m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a pub with rooms, arrived on a very busy Saturday, excellent location right on the high street of Skipton, however this makes it very noisy, especially as the pub was open until 1am.Steps to the bedrooms was very tight, steep and you go around a bend, not suitable for anyone who is not fully fit and agile. Room was 'tired', fittings were of poor quality, TV was out of the ark ages, bed uncomfortable and room very cold, all this for £90 a night. I would not recommend this place at all.

Reviewed by
Alvin D

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Day Out
A great venue to stop to visit this Yorkshire Town, only three rooms but ideal location right next to Castle and market. Staff really good and looked after us well. Only a one nighter this time but longer next

Reviewed by
W Lloyd

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next