No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mole & Chicken

4Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
Mole Chicken, Easington Terrace , Aylesbury, HP189EY
The Mole and Chicken is a wonderful country pub & restaurant with five beautiful letting rooms set high on the border offering outstanding views across Oxfordshire & Buckinghamshire.
A warm and friendly reception awaits, and your hosts Steve & Suzanne Bush will endeavour to make your stay as memorable as possible.

The 60 cover restaurant offers a blend of British and Mediterranean food using classical cooking techniques and fresh local produce. A well chosen wine list accompanies the light lunch and a la carte menus and there is also a finer wine and drinks list for the connoisseur.

In the winter months relax by the open log fire or enjoy the views from the terrace in the summer, whatever you choose the Mole & Chicken is certain to please!
Picture of The Mole & Chicken, Aylesbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Insult then injury
After booking through Late rooms and in receipt of the booking reference was left a phone message two days later stating that the room was double booked . Unimpressed. After a couple of phone calls was finally informed that we had a room after all. Over first hurdle. Room was fine and dandy . Food was OK but really nothing that special and for what it was it was pricey, especially the breakfast charged at £18 per person ! For comparison the Bear & Ragged Staff (Cumnor) charge £7.50 for the best breakfast ever. Then to cap it all we arrived home to yet another phone message accusing us of having stolen the towels and bath mat from the room and that we should either return them by post immediately or else the cost of the items would be taken from my card ! We are not thieves and took nothing - BUT we take serious offence to the unsubstantiated accusation - Basically it has cost us dear for a bitter experience..

Reviewed by
stephen enright

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite a little gem
This was a fabulous find. The room was lovely, although a little cramped. The food was of an excellent standard and would most definately stay there again.

Reviewed by
J Airey

From Grange Over Sands, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely friendly pub with comfortable rooms and great food
We really enjoyed our stay at the Mole and Chicken. There was ample parking and the staff were very accommodating, allowing us to access our room early so that we could get changed for the wedding we were attending. We had a delicious lunch and breakfast in the pub. Our room was very pretty and comfortable with lovely views over the fields and nice little touches such as homemade flapjacks on the refreshments tray. Nicest place I've stayed in a long time.

Reviewed by
H Craig

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely charming place
stayed just one night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience,
absolutely five star.
John & Jacky

Reviewed by
john h

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem
Loved our stay here beautiful location great service and food
With friendly helpful welcoming staff , we stayed In dairy cream
Which was beautiful only criticism would be the bathroom
Needs slight attention would def stay again though

Reviewed by
A King

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place To Stay
Stayed overnight following a family get together. Place was packed on a Saturday night so spent more time in the room than planned but very comfortable and well appointed.

Reviewed by
Mike C

From Swanage, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Exellence of The Mole and Chicken
We found everything about this accommodation to be of a high standard with the staff being as helpful as you could wish for.The rooms were clean and bed comfy whilst the food was a delight to taste whilst the views from this hotel were amazing.We would certainly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Reviewed by
M ASSIOTES

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exquisite food and lovely staff, room needs work
We loved the evening food here (highly recommend the pork belly and the guinea fowl), and breakfast was fantastic too. Staff were very friendly and kind, albeit a little slow to bring the bill. Room needed work - rusty shower rail and rusty towel rail, creaky floor and windows running in condensation. I would still recommend.

Reviewed by
Joanne H

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

:)
Lovely stay. Quiet & peaceful.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely room
tranquil setting
Accomodating staff
A most pleasureable stay - regret couldn't stay longer!

Reviewed by
M Richardson

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next