No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ship Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Ship Inn , Penzance, TR19 6QX
Mousehole, two miles south of Penzance, is the archetypal Cornish village and boasts what is said to be one of the most beautiful harbours in Britain. Sheltered from the Atlantic's fury there is a low tide beach, from the harbour you can take a boat trip or venture along the breathtaking coastal path and in the charming streets of fisherman's cottages you will find craft shops, cafes and galleries.

The Ship Inn is a traditional pub located on the harbour, right in the heart of this traditional Cornish fishing village. Food is served all year round and is made using only local ingredients which can be enjoyed in the cosy bar and characterful restaurant with views of the harbour. Most of our 8 en-suite rooms overlook the harbour, all are tastefully decorated in calming neutral colours and are well appointed a stay here fulfils the Small and Friendly promise of a perfect weekend break!
Picture of Ship Inn, Penzance at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character
The ship inn is full of character in a village full of character and mystery. Inevitably, therefore, the accomodation does not equal that of more modern , purpose built accomodation. It is small and not as comfortable as a consequence but the service was very pleasant with a manager who took time with her customers.

Reviewed by
Peter Wareham

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little room with a view
We stayed in room 2 facing the harbour. Spotlessly clean and well presented but a tad small for the money - we appreciate we paid a premium for the sea view. The pub has retained its traditional fishing village charm and we've eaten here a few times. The fish and chips have always been superb. Breakfast was a delicious full English. Suggested improvements: the coffee at breakfast was poor and difficult to get a top up. My husband helped himself in the end. Why not provide small cafetieres at table? There was no marmalade.

Reviewed by
karen p

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Information
Would have been good if the emailed re dinner as arrived to be told fully booked - should have emailed with an option.
also just to give guide lines re dropping off and parking.
Room comfortable but basic.
Enjoyed staying in this very special village.

Reviewed by
J Swan

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit disappointing in that we didn't realise there was no parking and that our accommodation was in a house adjacent to the Inn and not in the Inn itself.

Reviewed by
H Ford

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seaside relaxation
Well appointed room with a seaside feel and decor, tastefully done

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay at the Ship Inn
I was looking for a simple but pleasant hotel for one night only near to Penzance. The Ship Inn was excellent value for money, clean and tidy simple room with an on suite. Nice view over the harbour, this does not set itself out to be a luxury venue but it had all of the basic facilities and a comfortable bed.
I did not eat dinner so cannot comment, but the restaurant was full so that must say something, breakfast was nice with the usual choices of help yourself buffet or a cooked meal, or both. Staff were very friendly and even served me an early breakfast to help me get to Penzance for an appointment.

Reviewed by
Mike R

From Pershore, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great view over harbour
Although advertised as an hotel it is actually a lively Pub and can be noisy at times. Accommodation is clean and comfy . All staff are very helpful and do their best to satisfy your needs.
Perfect location directly on the harbour front, there is limited parking on either side of the harbour at a daily charge of £3.

Reviewed by
A Morris

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bit overpriced
Small room for theprice

Reviewed by
H TROUT

From YELVERTON, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quaint location, excellent, warm friendly place.
my first port of call when staying in the area

Reviewed by
Nicola H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old Pub in the heart of Mousehole
Great food, nice atmosphere & friendly staff. Great choice of beers. Room was clean & had everything you could need.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next