No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ship Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Ship Inn , Penzance, TR19 6QX
Mousehole, two miles south of Penzance, is the archetypal Cornish village and boasts what is said to be one of the most beautiful harbours in Britain. Sheltered from the Atlantic's fury there is a low tide beach, from the harbour you can take a boat trip or venture along the breathtaking coastal path and in the charming streets of fisherman's cottages you will find craft shops, cafes and galleries.

The Ship Inn is a traditional pub located on the harbour, right in the heart of this traditional Cornish fishing village. Food is served all year round and is made using only local ingredients which can be enjoyed in the cosy bar and characterful restaurant with views of the harbour. Most of our 8 en-suite rooms overlook the harbour, all are tastefully decorated in calming neutral colours and are well appointed a stay here fulfils the Small and Friendly promise of a perfect weekend break!
Picture of Ship Inn, Penzance at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

only one night
nice to wake up to a veiw of the harbour

Reviewed by
brian moon

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice break -pity about the supper menu
An enjoyable stay only let down by the very limited menu for the evening meal . The waitress service was prompt and the food well cooked but we did give thought about moving to another restaurant with a wider choice but decided in favour to say in view of he cosy atmosphere. Very comfortable bed and the rattling windows (it was blowing a SW gale!) could be easily tamed by sliding a tea bag between the frames!

Reviewed by
Ian Royston

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Ship Inn Mousehole
"traditional pub in a picturesque setting"
"great breakfasts"
"friendly staff and and a very warm welcome"
"would stay here again and intend to do so"

Reviewed by
Simon Hartley

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

if u stay in mousehole stay at the ship inn!
great location with a friendly welcome. family room was great. good decor, clean and with a separateroom with bun bed for the kids. would definitely stay at the ship inn again and would recommend others do too. no complaints at all.

Reviewed by
n bastiani

From Musselburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stuff!
This was a fantastic place to stay. The room was lovely. Very comfortable and with a wonderful harbour and sea view. The hotel is in an unbeatable spot right on the waterfront in this charming village. Spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and excellent. The pub downstairs is superb! Very characterful and popular with visitors and locals alike. I'd definitely stay again. If i wasn't moving to Cornwall to live! Yippppeeeee!

Reviewed by
chris r

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely break away from all the christmas rush and The Ship Inn at Mousehole was perfect for that.
Our room overlooked the harbour and was really cosy. The only fault was the sash window constantly rattled with the wind but we fixed it with a piece of card!, The check inn staff were really helpful and let us take the room over early . Breakfast was really nice but a little cold and again the waiting staff was very polite. We would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Ryan T

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The ship Inn was excellent.The choice of beer and bar meals also excellent.Will go again .
Could not really fault the Ship inn at Mousehole,Quite and relaxed with stunning views of the little harbour.Friendly and helpful staff.Late rooms made it value for money.Thanks.

Reviewed by
Kevin Hillier

From Wotton Under Edge, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked for a relaxing break. Couldn't fault the staff and we ate in restaurant on both nights as we enjoyed the food so much the first night.

Reviewed by
D Wills

From Exeter, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay good location nice people
good break fast , room was really good , location is right on the harbour with all the atmosphere of this lovely location

Reviewed by
philip stroud

From Ipswich, England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sub Superior
Upon arrival at the Ship the first problem was in respect of the booking, voucher was for two nights only single night booked at Hotel, we were then told we would be in one room for one night and then we would have to move again for the second night, not really acceptable. Our host then disappeared for a short while then came back to escort us to our 'Superior room' . This was extremely small, no king bed and an ensuite than only one person at a time could enter. bedside light failed to operate, no heating radiator stone cold, rattly shash window (now jammed with paper).

Reviewed by
P James

From Par, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next