Reviews - Douglas Hotel


2 Grange Road, ,, Hartlepool, TS26 8JA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (26)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • g macdonald

  • June 2015

Hotel very clean beds so comfy slept all night

The minute we arrived at the Douglas we were made welcome staff very friendly, I would stay there again and would recommend to friends had a great weekend.

  • Mark J

  • January 2015

Great hotel, great food, massive breakfast and lovely warm comfortable room.

only down side is parking. limited on site parking and the surrounding streets are Permit parking for resident's but you can park there after 6 pm.

  • r drinkwater

  • January 2015

clean but no sleep

Clean hotel.The thing is the fire doors are broke and bang open all night.i had to stick a towel between the door and frame.had 3 hours sleep so missed breakfast to catch up on sleep.Tryed to ring and get help for problem no one answered.So it messed up my day.

  • Stuart Johnson

  • December 2014

Pleasant stay

I would recommend this hotel, nice staff, cozy room, and excellent huge, turkey dinner.

  • S moulding

  • December 2014

Great value for money and rooms were excellent.

Very friendly owner.

The room was very modern and spacious. New en suite was superb. Plenty of towels, drink facilities. Great to and comfy bed. The owner was great and secured my vehicle at the rear. Superb over all.

  • J Pladdys

  • November 2014

Cannot be faulted

The hotel was conveniently located near the centre of town.The staff were friendly and welcoming.The room was spotless and had everything you needed.The breakfast was excellent.At a special price of £29 per night it was fantastic value.

  • Eric G

  • September 2014

Central, no parking

We had a double room on the top floor with sloping roof and a tiny bathroom.

The duvet was too warm for us, even with the window open. We were woken up during the night by men talking loudly on the pavement. Breakfast was good and quick. Parking is a real problem, I am surprised the hotel does not provide vouchers, parking all around is restricted to permit holders only. There are pubs nearby for meals, and the hotel is a mile away from the historic harbour. Friendly staff

  • John R

  • August 2014

Very comfortable stay

Breakfast is served early to accommodate people working who have to be on site locally for 8am ( some places.

I have stayed at, I have had to miss breakfast )

  • John R

  • August 2014

Clean & friendly hotel

I booked a single room the first time that I stayed here which really is a very small room - this is OK for a couple of nights but for longer stays , enquire about a double room for more space

The breakfast selection is excellent & served early

  • Jean B

  • August 2014

Good place to stay

The Douglas Hotel is very close to the town centre coach station and railway station, approx.

10 mins walk. There isn't a lift but the gentleman that greeted me on arrival carried my case up stairs to my room. The single room that I had was spacious with TV and plenty of drawers and wardrobe (with hangers)space. The single bed was very comfortable with a double duvet so no problems with it landing on the floor during the night. Tea and coffee making facilities were well stocked. Plenty of choice for breakfast and it was no problem that I was leaving early to be served early The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay there again . I did have an evening meal in the bistro at the hotel which was very nice , good portion size and served red hot. The dessert I had was gorgeous, cherry and almond crumble with custard. Thankyou The Douglas Hotel.