No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Douglas Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
2 Grange Road, , , Hartlepool, TS26 8JA
The Douglas Hotel is a four star rated recently refurbished hotel. This seventeen bedroom hotel which has recently been awarded best hotel in Hartlepool on Tripadvisor is conveniently located in the town centre ideally placed for both business people and visitors to the area, with close proximity to the marina, the award winning Historic Quay and local multiplex cinema. Nearby is the Maritime Experience, a recreation of an 18th century seaport and the Historic Quayside where visitors can enjoy period architecture and shops. The hotel is within driving distance of Newcastle (40 minutes) and Middlesborough and is 25 minutes from Durham Tees Valley airport. The hotel has a residents’ lounge. The Douglas has its own 40 cover Restaurant, Ruskins, with Bar, which is ideal for a celebratory meal, party or meeting. Ruskins is open to residents and non-residents and has Carveries on every Saturday and Sunday, bookings essential if you want to guarantee a table. A full English breakfast can be included in the tariff and vegetarians can be catered for. Wireless internet is available free of charge for all residents.
Picture of Douglas Hotel, Hartlepool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, great food, massive breakfast and lovely warm comfortable room.
only down side is parking.
limited on site parking and the surrounding streets are Permit parking for resident's but you can park there after 6 pm.

Reviewed by
Mark J

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean but no sleep
Clean hotel.The thing is the fire doors are broke and bang open all night.i had to stick a towel between the door and frame.had 3 hours sleep so missed breakfast to catch up on sleep.Tryed to ring and get help for problem no one answered.So it messed up my day.

Reviewed by
r drinkwater

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
I would recommend this hotel, nice staff, cozy room, and excellent huge, turkey dinner.

Reviewed by
Stuart Johnson

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money and rooms were excellent.
Very friendly owner. The room was very modern and spacious. New en suite was superb. Plenty of towels, drink facilities. Great to and comfy bed. The owner was great and secured my vehicle at the rear. Superb over all.

Reviewed by
S moulding

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cannot be faulted
The hotel was conveniently located near the centre of town.The staff were friendly and welcoming.The room was spotless and had everything you needed.The breakfast was excellent.At a special price of £29 per night it was fantastic value.

Reviewed by
J Pladdys

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central, no parking
We had a double room on the top floor with sloping roof and a tiny bathroom. The duvet was too warm for us, even with the window open. We were woken up during the night by men talking loudly on the pavement. Breakfast was good and quick. Parking is a real problem, I am surprised the hotel does not provide vouchers, parking all around is restricted to permit holders only. There are pubs nearby for meals, and the hotel is a mile away from the historic harbour. Friendly staff

Reviewed by
Eric G

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable stay
Breakfast is served early to accommodate people working who have to be on site locally for 8am ( some places. I have stayed at, I have had to miss breakfast )

Reviewed by
John R

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay
The Douglas Hotel is very close to the town centre coach station and railway station, approx. 10 mins walk. There isn't a lift but the gentleman that greeted me on arrival carried my case up stairs to my room. The single room that I had was spacious with TV and plenty of drawers and wardrobe (with hangers)space. The single bed was very comfortable with a double duvet so no problems with it landing on the floor during the night. Tea and coffee making facilities were well stocked. Plenty of choice for breakfast and it was no problem that I was leaving early to be served early The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay there again . I did have an evening meal in the bistro at the hotel which was very nice , good portion size and served red hot. The dessert I had was gorgeous, cherry and almond crumble with custard. Thankyou The Douglas Hotel.

Reviewed by
Jean B

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy bed
Malcolm was very friendly, and couldn't do enough to make my stay enjoyable. Unfortunately I missed breakfast as the bed was so comfy I didn't want to get out of it.

Reviewed by
C Ryan

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff
I was traveling alone to visit a dying friend. The hotel only has permit parking and sadly there were no spaces. The manager and chef found me somewhere to park and escorted me to my car.
I was upgraded at no extra cost and I felt very safe and secure in my room. Will definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Michelle Betts

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next