No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Douglas Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
2 Grange Road, , , Hartlepool, TS26 8JA
The Douglas Hotel is a four star rated recently refurbished hotel. This seventeen bedroom hotel which has recently been awarded best hotel in Hartlepool on Tripadvisor is conveniently located in the town centre ideally placed for both business people and visitors to the area, with close proximity to the marina, the award winning Historic Quay and local multiplex cinema. Nearby is the Maritime Experience, a recreation of an 18th century seaport and the Historic Quayside where visitors can enjoy period architecture and shops. The hotel is within driving distance of Newcastle (40 minutes) and Middlesborough and is 25 minutes from Durham Tees Valley airport. The hotel has a residents’ lounge. The Douglas has its own 40 cover Restaurant, Ruskins, with Bar, which is ideal for a celebratory meal, party or meeting. Ruskins is open to residents and non-residents and has Carveries on every Saturday and Sunday, bookings essential if you want to guarantee a table. A full English breakfast can be included in the tariff and vegetarians can be catered for. Wireless internet is available free of charge for all residents.
Picture of Douglas Hotel, Hartlepool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy bed
Malcolm was very friendly, and couldn't do enough to make my stay enjoyable. Unfortunately I missed breakfast as the bed was so comfy I didn't want to get out of it.

Reviewed by
C Ryan

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff
I was traveling alone to visit a dying friend. The hotel only has permit parking and sadly there were no spaces. The manager and chef found me somewhere to park and escorted me to my car.
I was upgraded at no extra cost and I felt very safe and secure in my room. Will definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Michelle Betts

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Room clean and bright. Comfortable bed. Central location. Friendly staff. Breakfast included. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
D MCALPINE

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
We had our room booked for 5pm despite telling late rooms we were arriving late and ended up arriving at 10pm. Malcolm who was running the hotel when we arrived could not have been any more helpful. He showed us to our room which was a lovely twin room on the top floor and we were supplied with fresh bedding, towels, tea and coffee facilities and toiletries. We missed breakfast both mornings but it looked and smelt amazing.
Malcolm was so friendly and helpful and deserves to be given something extra for his efforts. Nothing was a bother for him and the hotel was superb. We would definitely stay again :)

Reviewed by
T Matthews

From Burford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms. We had a great stay.

Reviewed by
i hill

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

customer service
Staff couldnt do enough for you very helpful and friendly went out of there way.

Reviewed by
c gerrard

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff, great food, very welcoming.Will stay again.

Reviewed by
a wheatcroft

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
friendly staff and clean tidy room.

Reviewed by
Douglas F

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely warm and comfortable room. Excellent food. I will come again!

Reviewed by
Pauline H

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value and Quality.
The B&B is not a fancy establishment, but at this price the rates and quality are very good. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
J Roberts

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next