No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The ROSE and CROWN

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
CHURCH ROAD, BRADFORD ABBAS Dorset , SHERBORNE, DT9 6RF
The Rose and Crown is a friendly and cosy 17th Pub in the charming village of Bradford Abbas, run by the sensational and charismatic landlady Mary Ashby.

We have a good selection of Ales, draft beers, ciders and wines from Marston’s Brewery.

Our two wonderful chefs Arran Gosney and Jacob Kahan have a great selection of food to tickle anyone’s taste buds. We also have our mouth watering Sunday carvery all locally sourced meat and vegetables, however to avoid disappointment please book a table.

We have two newly furbished letting rooms available, one double and one twin.
We have free WIFI and pets are also welcome as long as the owner is on the lead!

Please note that we do have live music/bands on alternative Saturday nights.


Picture of The ROSE and CROWN, SHERBORNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three bedrooms had a single bathroom which we did not realise until we had agreed to stay.
The bar, immediately below our room , was open until midnight and very noisy.
The Wifi did not work.
The breakfast was excellent

Reviewed by
R Walker

From lymington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and welcoming
We stayed here over the August Bank Holiday whilst taking part in a local show. Maggie and her team were welcoming and friendly. Nothing was a problem and they were always happy to help.

Reviewed by
J Moore

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In the heart of Hardy country
A very pleasant stay .
A warm welcome and a very caring landlady .
Beautiful countryside around , we would go again .

Reviewed by
Judith G

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont stay over on a skittles night
Mary is a grand lady and the staff are very helpful but the rooms are directly over the bar and you would not believe how rowdy a skittles team can be .I had a job interview the next day so it was not the best prep. However the food was reasonable if a little over priced for what was basic fair, if you want a good laugh and have the time to join in with the locals you could do a lot worse ,if however your not to keen on bri,nylon sheets and want a good nights sleep i would suggest you look elsewhere. hard to justify £60 a night. great brekky though . sorry i could not be more positive

ManagementResponse

Thanks for your review. Our rooms are of good quality and we have received many compliments about them from previous guests. Our sheets are of good quality. They are poly cotton sheets and are from 'out of eden' who supply hotels. We believe we offer good value for money. You had booked a double room for two people for sole occupancy.

Reviewed by
George G

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of charm!
A lovely welcoming Pub in a charming village. The room was comfortable but remember to take a dressing gown as the bathroom is shared! Landlady very friendly and we had the biggest cooked breakfast ever.

Reviewed by
Sylvia S

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The friendly Rose and Crown
My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Rose and Crown whilst house hunting. The location was central to our search being near Sherborne and Yeovil. This is one of the most friendly village pubs I have visited. This atmosphere is generated by the charismatic owner who runs a very tight ship. All her staff take a personal interest in guests as though they were visitors in their own homes. She likes to talk to her guests and encourages them to meet the many locals who visited the pub throughout our stay. They respond by greeting visitors with open friendliness and cheery welcome. The service was excellent and the food very good indeed. The cooked breakfast menu was huge and a good system of ticking choices and time the night before ensured speedy delivery to the table. It far outshone the quality of any hotel I have stayed in. Quantity is mentioned in other reviews and I can add similar views as we had to ask for smaller quantities after we were beaten by our first dinner. Bedrooms are small but adequate and the beds comfortable. We also liked watching the chickens over the road which were a constant amusement. Note the booking in time between 11 am and 3.00pm and then from 6.30pm Guests have a door key allowing free access throughout your stay. One point to note is that rooms are not ensuite, but we had no problem sharing the spotless facilities with others. A further nice touches were the many personal memorabilia ,ornaments and fresh flowers adorning public rooms and Mary's garden where herbs and produce are grown. The large beer garden near the garden is most attractive. We may not stay in the Rose and Crown again but we will drop in for a pint because we are hoping to buy a house in the village.

Reviewed by
John P

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hospitality - Fantastic Cooked Breakfast
Beautiful traditional village pub. Lovely location. Great landlady. Shared bathroom but that was ok as we had booked all of the rooms. Would make a great stay for any family/group needing to book all of the rooms.

Reviewed by
Nicole S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely owner
Owner was amazing. Only negative is a shared bathroom but this didn't matter as the customer service was brilliant.

Reviewed by
Ben C

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hideaway pub
Such a beautiful Dorset village with thatched cottages, an interesting Church and this delightful 17C
inn with a restful rural view of hens in a field across the road. Made to feel welcome and spent a night in the comfortable double room. The breakfast was delicious accompanied by friendly, helpful chat for a short while from the proprietor. Various winding roads in and out of the village near the A30.

Reviewed by
A Pitts

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable bed, spacious room. Shared bathroom was clean and tidy. Average breakfast. Very good evening menu. Some difficulty finding the right b&b, as 2 have the same name locally but the landlords are working together to try and sort this out.

Reviewed by
Gemma B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next