No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The ROSE and CROWN

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
CHURCH ROAD, BRADFORD ABBAS Dorset , SHERBORNE, DT9 6RF
The Rose and Crown is a friendly and cosy 17th Pub in the charming village of Bradford Abbas, run by the sensational and charismatic landlady Mary Ashby.

We have a good selection of Ales, draft beers, ciders and wines from Marston’s Brewery.

Our two wonderful chefs Arran Gosney and Jacob Kahan have a great selection of food to tickle anyone’s taste buds. We also have our mouth watering Sunday carvery all locally sourced meat and vegetables, however to avoid disappointment please book a table.

We have two newly furbished letting rooms available, one double and one twin.
We have free WIFI and pets are also welcome as long as the owner is on the lead!

Please note that we do have live music/bands on alternative Saturday nights.


Picture of The ROSE and CROWN, SHERBORNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The friendly Rose and Crown
My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Rose and Crown whilst house hunting. The location was central to our search being near Sherborne and Yeovil. This is one of the most friendly village pubs I have visited. This atmosphere is generated by the charismatic owner who runs a very tight ship. All her staff take a personal interest in guests as though they were visitors in their own homes. She likes to talk to her guests and encourages them to meet the many locals who visited the pub throughout our stay. They respond by greeting visitors with open friendliness and cheery welcome. The service was excellent and the food very good indeed. The cooked breakfast menu was huge and a good system of ticking choices and time the night before ensured speedy delivery to the table. It far outshone the quality of any hotel I have stayed in. Quantity is mentioned in other reviews and I can add similar views as we had to ask for smaller quantities after we were beaten by our first dinner. Bedrooms are small but adequate and the beds comfortable. We also liked watching the chickens over the road which were a constant amusement. Note the booking in time between 11 am and 3.00pm and then from 6.30pm Guests have a door key allowing free access throughout your stay. One point to note is that rooms are not ensuite, but we had no problem sharing the spotless facilities with others. A further nice touches were the many personal memorabilia ,ornaments and fresh flowers adorning public rooms and Mary's garden where herbs and produce are grown. The large beer garden near the garden is most attractive. We may not stay in the Rose and Crown again but we will drop in for a pint because we are hoping to buy a house in the village.

Reviewed by
John P

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hospitality - Fantastic Cooked Breakfast
Beautiful traditional village pub. Lovely location. Great landlady. Shared bathroom but that was ok as we had booked all of the rooms. Would make a great stay for any family/group needing to book all of the rooms.

Reviewed by
Nicole S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely owner
Owner was amazing. Only negative is a shared bathroom but this didn't matter as the customer service was brilliant.

Reviewed by
Ben C

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hideaway pub
Such a beautiful Dorset village with thatched cottages, an interesting Church and this delightful 17C
inn with a restful rural view of hens in a field across the road. Made to feel welcome and spent a night in the comfortable double room. The breakfast was delicious accompanied by friendly, helpful chat for a short while from the proprietor. Various winding roads in and out of the village near the A30.

Reviewed by
A Pitts

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable bed, spacious room. Shared bathroom was clean and tidy. Average breakfast. Very good evening menu. Some difficulty finding the right b&b, as 2 have the same name locally but the landlords are working together to try and sort this out.

Reviewed by
Gemma B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rose and Crown
Very nice Inn
Very friendly, and nice beer and cider Food, good location for country walks. Nice place to chill, the only drawback was shared bathroom but we was the only guests so no problem with that. Yes it could do with an update with furniture, but it was a nice stay over for us on the way to Cornwall.

Reviewed by
d vincent

From Grays, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family party stop over
Everything was fine, could only have been made better by having a toilet in the room.

Reviewed by
Joseph C

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay at the Rose and Crown.
Landlady Mary was very welcoming, interesting and interested, bar staff very friendly, local skittle teams provided a lively atmosphere.
Very well kept ale, enjoyable evening meal from an interesting menu ( larger portions would have been good ) and the best cooked breakfast we've had in a long time.
Room was adequate, bed very comfortable. Overall, very good value and would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
A Hallam

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

live music extravanganza
the room was very comfortable and warm, Mary ( landlady ) and James ( bar manager ) very efficient and friendly, full marks to them both, the food was excellent, I would advise that on a live music night it probably isn't the best place to stay if you don't want a late night listening to a live band and you fancy an early night, other than that 9 out of 10

Reviewed by
J Reeve

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service in a beautiful location
Really lovely place to stay. Has such a homely feel. Mary took such good care of us and didn't mind when we showed up so late because of being stuck in traffic from Manchester. Couldn't recommend the place enough.

Reviewed by
Kyle M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next