No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Fat Fox Inn

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
13 Shirburn Street, , , Watlington, OX49 5BU
The Fat Fox Inn is located at the centre of the small market town of Watlington on the edge of the Chiltern Hills. The town is approximately 45 miles from London, 13 miles from Oxford and 10 miles from Henley on Thames. It is therefore very much a home to commuters going to London and Oxford, albeit it remains a self sufficient and thriving community. In addition to being on the doorstep to the Chilterns it benefits from The Ridgeway, a national trail, running along the town’s west border. The pub has an attractive bar set next to an inglenook fire place with a wood burning stove and a newly developed dining room which is elegantly eclectic. To the rear of the property there is a converted coaching barn which houses seven of nine letting en-suite bedrooms. Drinks and food are served in the bar whilst the dining room is reserved for diners only. We are very conscious that we make drinkers and diners feel equally welcome, making a great effort to introduce those drinking alone into the general conversation, no one is a stranger here for long. Having two distinctly differing areas to dine gives us the opportunity to satisfy different dining occasions. The bar suits a quick informal meal for two or perhaps a large get together of old friends all of which may not wish to eat and would like to draw from the bar atmosphere. The dining room is ideal for couples who wish for greater intimacy or a special gathering with family and friends. Both the dining room and the bar offer an informal knowledgeable friendly service. The staff do not wear a uniform, dressing smartly but casually.
Picture of The Fat Fox Inn, Watlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation at reasonable price with fantastic catering
I think this has to be one of the best B & B venues I have stayed in. The welcome was warm and friendly, room was very comfortable with lovely facilities and homely touches and the breakfast was probably the nicest I have ever had at a weekend retreat. The evening menu and food was also fantastic. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun at The Fat Fox.
A very happy, friendly environment with excellent customer service. The pub atmosphere in the evening was delightful. We were also very pleased with the room which was clean, comfortable and spacious enough for two. The food was good, but the menu was limited and expensive.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom hell
the bathroom had an hole in the floor which had lino over it ,every time you showered you nearly went throu the floor there was no shelf to but anything on, althou the brackets were there the shelf wasnt. The fan in the toilet stays on about 20 nims after the lights gone off, no good for middle of the night. Around the shower was mould and grimme. I have pictures of these.

Reviewed by
christopher hollister

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Visit
I booked the Fat Fox for family visiting from Canada. The room and location were great, but we were all a little disappointed by the food

Reviewed by
Peter Brixey

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed and friendly
Top notch.

Reviewed by
Benjamin D

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was excellent. Room was small and in need of some decoration and repair especially the bathroom. But okay once the pub was closed and it went quiet.

Reviewed by
M Buttigieg

From Harlech, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality accommodation, food and service
Good quality accommodation, food and service. Good value. I'll be returning.

Reviewed by
Philip Brown

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flawed
Nice room with fan supplied as very warm so appreciated. Food at dinner over elaborate. Get basics right first. Breakfast experience awful. Toilets being cleaned while we ate so we had to close doors to keep smell out. Really slow service. Gave up waiting for slice of toast after 40 mins and 3 requests! Really need to improve quality of staff training. Would not recommend.

Reviewed by
Julian M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review 2 guests overnight stay
The car parking is perfect 5 metres away, the rooms are bright clean and fresh
plenty of towels, toiletries etc, coffee/tea/biscuits all in room etc
the pub attached is excellent and outside seating area
for the money i will definately re visit and a very good experience indeed
thank you Danny

Reviewed by
Danny Hughes

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended country pub/hotel
I booked a discounted room for a 2 night stay in the area with my husband. The quality of the pub/hotel exceeded our expectations particularly the food which was excellent. It transpired that the cuisine had received many accolades- stars, rosettes etc. Our room was small but it was the discounted room and everything required was provided including generous in room hospitality. Definitely one to return to!
Christine Foulkes

Reviewed by
Christine Foulkes

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next