No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Fat Fox Inn

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
13 Shirburn Street, , , Watlington, OX49 5BU
The Fat Fox Inn is located at the centre of the small market town of Watlington on the edge of the Chiltern Hills. The town is approximately 45 miles from London, 13 miles from Oxford and 10 miles from Henley on Thames. It is therefore very much a home to commuters going to London and Oxford, albeit it remains a self sufficient and thriving community. In addition to being on the doorstep to the Chilterns it benefits from The Ridgeway, a national trail, running along the town’s west border. The pub has an attractive bar set next to an inglenook fire place with a wood burning stove and a newly developed dining room which is elegantly eclectic. To the rear of the property there is a converted coaching barn which houses seven of nine letting en-suite bedrooms. Drinks and food are served in the bar whilst the dining room is reserved for diners only. We are very conscious that we make drinkers and diners feel equally welcome, making a great effort to introduce those drinking alone into the general conversation, no one is a stranger here for long. Having two distinctly differing areas to dine gives us the opportunity to satisfy different dining occasions. The bar suits a quick informal meal for two or perhaps a large get together of old friends all of which may not wish to eat and would like to draw from the bar atmosphere. The dining room is ideal for couples who wish for greater intimacy or a special gathering with family and friends. Both the dining room and the bar offer an informal knowledgeable friendly service. The staff do not wear a uniform, dressing smartly but casually.
Picture of The Fat Fox Inn, Watlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom hell
the bathroom had an hole in the floor which had lino over it ,every time you showered you nearly went throu the floor there was no shelf to but anything on, althou the brackets were there the shelf wasnt. The fan in the toilet stays on about 20 nims after the lights gone off, no good for middle of the night. Around the shower was mould and grimme. I have pictures of these.

Reviewed by
christopher hollister

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed and friendly
Top notch.

Reviewed by
Benjamin D

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was excellent. Room was small and in need of some decoration and repair especially the bathroom. But okay once the pub was closed and it went quiet.

Reviewed by
M Buttigieg

From Harlech, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality accommodation, food and service
Good quality accommodation, food and service. Good value. I'll be returning.

Reviewed by
Philip Brown

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flawed
Nice room with fan supplied as very warm so appreciated. Food at dinner over elaborate. Get basics right first. Breakfast experience awful. Toilets being cleaned while we ate so we had to close doors to keep smell out. Really slow service. Gave up waiting for slice of toast after 40 mins and 3 requests! Really need to improve quality of staff training. Would not recommend.

Reviewed by
Julian M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review 2 guests overnight stay
The car parking is perfect 5 metres away, the rooms are bright clean and fresh
plenty of towels, toiletries etc, coffee/tea/biscuits all in room etc
the pub attached is excellent and outside seating area
for the money i will definately re visit and a very good experience indeed
thank you Danny

Reviewed by
Danny Hughes

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended country pub/hotel
I booked a discounted room for a 2 night stay in the area with my husband. The quality of the pub/hotel exceeded our expectations particularly the food which was excellent. It transpired that the cuisine had received many accolades- stars, rosettes etc. Our room was small but it was the discounted room and everything required was provided including generous in room hospitality. Definitely one to return to!
Christine Foulkes

Reviewed by
Christine Foulkes

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others
Very polite young members of staff who were very efficient at all times

Reviewed by
Sylvia Yeo

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

With a very friendly and helpful team, we felt looked after during our stay.
We had a room in the outside block which was comfortable, but we felt that the attention to detail wasn't that good and teh servicing of the room could be better.
The sinl had a massive crack across it, the fan in the bathroom didn't work so when we showered, the room filled with steam!
This is obvoiusly a common occurence as the mirror in the bedroom had started to peel the covering off at the top, due to moisture ingress....not a good sign.
There was also no hairdryer which, combined with above, didn't impress my wife!
When we stayed, it was mild, but in the winter, it might get a tad cold in the room, or draughty, as there are so many gaps around the doors that you could see daylight around the frames.
The bed was comfy with clean duvet and undersheets.
Tea/Coffee making facilities are provided, as are bottles of drinking water too.
The TV is LCD Flatscreen but oh so small! It would be better if it were a larger unit and put up on the wall as tucked in the corner its nigh on useful.
The breakfast in the restaurant was superb - beautifully cooked and highly recommended - probably the best cooked breakfast we have ever had! Yummy.
As a B&B, very good but could be better with just a few changes to the rooms - it would make all the difference between a good stay and a great stay.

Reviewed by
P Harris

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stop over.
Good room out in the courtyard, large enough and comfy beds. Bit noisy from the guests above due to wooden floorboards, but wouldn't put me off staying again. Breakfast OK.

Reviewed by
stephen f

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next