No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Fat Fox Inn

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
13 Shirburn Street, , , Watlington, OX49 5BU
The Fat Fox Inn is located at the centre of the small market town of Watlington on the edge of the Chiltern Hills. The town is approximately 45 miles from London, 13 miles from Oxford and 10 miles from Henley on Thames. It is therefore very much a home to commuters going to London and Oxford, albeit it remains a self sufficient and thriving community. In addition to being on the doorstep to the Chilterns it benefits from The Ridgeway, a national trail, running along the town’s west border. The pub has an attractive bar set next to an inglenook fire place with a wood burning stove and a newly developed dining room which is elegantly eclectic. To the rear of the property there is a converted coaching barn which houses seven of nine letting en-suite bedrooms. Drinks and food are served in the bar whilst the dining room is reserved for diners only. We are very conscious that we make drinkers and diners feel equally welcome, making a great effort to introduce those drinking alone into the general conversation, no one is a stranger here for long. Having two distinctly differing areas to dine gives us the opportunity to satisfy different dining occasions. The bar suits a quick informal meal for two or perhaps a large get together of old friends all of which may not wish to eat and would like to draw from the bar atmosphere. The dining room is ideal for couples who wish for greater intimacy or a special gathering with family and friends. Both the dining room and the bar offer an informal knowledgeable friendly service. The staff do not wear a uniform, dressing smartly but casually.
Picture of The Fat Fox Inn, Watlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent night's stay, highly recommended
I arranged a last minute meeting in Oxford so was looking for somewhere to stay at short notice. The Fat Fox is a real treat: lovely room; great cask beers and good company around the bar; fantastic (vegetarian) breakfast. All round excellence!

Reviewed by
Rufus Meakin

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel and Pub
A real find, helpful and friendly staff, great atmosphere, fab breakfast, all round great experience. Oh, and our room was just lovely!

Reviewed by
R Curtis

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Best Kept Secret in Watlington
Such a beautiful room just like the pictures, wish we had stayed longer. Served quality food with locally sourced food. We shall definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
dawn w

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Staff, good food, accommodation ok
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good. Accommodation was in annexe and drab verging on shabby. Not as clean as I was expecting from reviews. Overall I didn't think it was good value for money, particularly compared to other places we stayed on same trip.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect choice
This was a great place for us to stay whilst attending a friends wedding nearby, the staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was lovely, quaint and clean. There was lots of parking available and the food in the pub was delicious.

Reviewed by
L Nana

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place would stay again
A very clean establishment, with friendly efficient staff. Good breakfast. Ample parking. Overall good value for money. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Ian E

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fat Fox Watlington Mid Week Break
This is the /nd time we have stayed here in one of their Delux Rooms out in the Stable Conversion. It would have Eden 3 times but they were fully booked when we wanted !
Friendly Staff, eclectic food, wines fine and good selection of beers. Wears the pub Restaurant with rooms well and is Dog Friendly. Locals as well as travelling clients in a great location. Walkers doing Ridgeway every time we have been.
We will stay again!

Reviewed by
Peter A T

From Stourbridge, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay!
Excellent stay at the Fat Fox Inn. Family room in the converted barn on the grounds. The Pub served great quality food, has to be tried! :) Customer service was first rate from everyone from arriving through to departure. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
J Brown

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay in a beautiful room, staff were really helpful and friendly. Food is amazing!
We were really pleased with our stay here and the staff catered for us well. Only criticism was the bathroom which wasn't that clean and shelf over sink was fixed wrong which meant everything fell off it! Bedroom however, was lovely and really comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
sue b

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly
We had a one night stay here and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The beer and wine from the bar were superb. It would have been great to have some garden furniture on the lawn outside our room so we could have stayed up later when our children went to sleep. The breakfast was delicious and we would certainly recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Matthew Spowage

From Wollaton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next