No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Fat Fox Inn

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
13 Shirburn Street, , , Watlington, OX49 5BU
The Fat Fox Inn is located at the centre of the small market town of Watlington on the edge of the Chiltern Hills. The town is approximately 45 miles from London, 13 miles from Oxford and 10 miles from Henley on Thames. It is therefore very much a home to commuters going to London and Oxford, albeit it remains a self sufficient and thriving community. In addition to being on the doorstep to the Chilterns it benefits from The Ridgeway, a national trail, running along the town’s west border. The pub has an attractive bar set next to an inglenook fire place with a wood burning stove and a newly developed dining room which is elegantly eclectic. To the rear of the property there is a converted coaching barn which houses seven of nine letting en-suite bedrooms. Drinks and food are served in the bar whilst the dining room is reserved for diners only. We are very conscious that we make drinkers and diners feel equally welcome, making a great effort to introduce those drinking alone into the general conversation, no one is a stranger here for long. Having two distinctly differing areas to dine gives us the opportunity to satisfy different dining occasions. The bar suits a quick informal meal for two or perhaps a large get together of old friends all of which may not wish to eat and would like to draw from the bar atmosphere. The dining room is ideal for couples who wish for greater intimacy or a special gathering with family and friends. Both the dining room and the bar offer an informal knowledgeable friendly service. The staff do not wear a uniform, dressing smartly but casually.
Picture of The Fat Fox Inn, Watlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent experience

Reviewed by
robert morgan

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others
Very polite young members of staff who were very efficient at all times

Reviewed by
Sylvia Yeo

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

With a very friendly and helpful team, we felt looked after during our stay.
We had a room in the outside block which was comfortable, but we felt that the attention to detail wasn't that good and teh servicing of the room could be better.
The sinl had a massive crack across it, the fan in the bathroom didn't work so when we showered, the room filled with steam!
This is obvoiusly a common occurence as the mirror in the bedroom had started to peel the covering off at the top, due to moisture ingress....not a good sign.
There was also no hairdryer which, combined with above, didn't impress my wife!
When we stayed, it was mild, but in the winter, it might get a tad cold in the room, or draughty, as there are so many gaps around the doors that you could see daylight around the frames.
The bed was comfy with clean duvet and undersheets.
Tea/Coffee making facilities are provided, as are bottles of drinking water too.
The TV is LCD Flatscreen but oh so small! It would be better if it were a larger unit and put up on the wall as tucked in the corner its nigh on useful.
The breakfast in the restaurant was superb - beautifully cooked and highly recommended - probably the best cooked breakfast we have ever had! Yummy.
As a B&B, very good but could be better with just a few changes to the rooms - it would make all the difference between a good stay and a great stay.

Reviewed by
P Harris

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stop over.
Good room out in the courtyard, large enough and comfy beds. Bit noisy from the guests above due to wooden floorboards, but wouldn't put me off staying again. Breakfast OK.

Reviewed by
stephen f

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good room and an excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
S Jones

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

looking for local hotel for business visitors
lovely contempary room, some nice extras in drinks and spring water. Very comfortable bed.
Food in the bar was excellent, certainly wasn't pub grub more fine dining.
Two small points firstly the bathroom floor was half covered in water which I hadn't noticed until just going to bed so mopped up using bath mat. Secondly you couldn't seem to turn the over bed lights off when in bed and had to turn them off at the door, which was a bit odd.

Reviewed by
IAN J

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy ,quaint, fab food , lovely staff
everything you want from a overnight stay or more

Reviewed by
anne p

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best customer service outside the US!
We booked a room at the Fat Fox as somewhere to lay our heads - we did not expect it to be as perfect as it was! our room was in a converted barn out back of the main building, which was a superb experience - can imagine it being even better in the summer as the room had French doors. Room was spotless, full of atmosphere and beautifully laid out (kitkats in the coffee cups and designer toiletries were a nice touch). What really set the Fat Fox aside, for us, was the customer service. Having worked in the industry, in the UK and abroad for many years, customer service will make-or-break a stay for me. My partner and I were treated to absolutely the best customer service I have ever seen outside of the US.... staff were knowledgeable, polite, attentive and lacking the forced affectations that you often find in large chain hotels (they actually looked like they wanted to be there!). Local beers were amazing, breakfast was fresh, hearty and perfectly done... even the locals were friendly, without being overbearing. My partner and I would absolutely recommend the Fat Fox for a business or leisure break and will definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Matt Aiello

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
Attention to detail first class. They even called to say that my colleague had left a shirt in the room. Very few hotels with several stars would bother!

Reviewed by
C Rogers

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Base for Oxford and the Chilterns
We had a most enjoyable overnight stay at The Fat Fox. Reading the printed menu prior to leaving home, we thought that the food would be standard, pub grub. However, the menu might read as such, but the food itself was excellent and the special on the night we stayed was delicious. The accommodation is in a block at the back. The room was clean and apealling and the bed comfortable - most important.

Reviewed by
N Martin

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next