No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Knife and Cleaver

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Grove Houghton Conquest, , Bedford, Bedford, MK45 3LA
AA 4 Gold Star Inn with 2 years AA Dining Recommendations. We have a reputation for Luxury Accommodation. The restaurant & bars are open 7 days a week, last orders for restaurant is 9pm Monday-Saturday, Sundays 7pm. The Accommodation comprises 9 en-suite rooms all set around a courtyard & gardens. Each room has Tea & Coffee making facilities, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing Board, T.V. Radio, Heaters, Heated Towel Rails, Fine Crisp Linen and Big Fluffy Towels, Complimentary Toiletries, Workstation with Wifi, The 3 Superior Rooms also have Armchair & Coffee Table seating areas. Room service is available upon request. Our cancellation policy is 48 hours before the check-in time. A pet is welcome to accompany guests by prior arrangement; we have 2 dedicated rooms with access to a private, fully enclosed, gated, pet garden. Included is a pet's welcome pack, the use of freshly laundered vet bedding and the use of water & food bowls. A charge of £5.00 per night is made for these facilities and must be booked in advance. Situated opposite the beautiful All Saints Church, is one of England's largest grade one listed churches, Houghton Conquest is a quiet, pretty village only a couple of miles from the city of Bedford with a local regular bus service in to town and to Flitwick main line station with direct services to St Pancras every few minutes. There is also an excellent Taxi service available. Only a short walk away are fantastic walks in the countryside, open meadows & woods with lots of walks. Just a short few minutes away by car are some excellent attractions, such as Wrest Park, Woburn Abbey & Wildlife Park, Bletchley Park Home of the code breakers, and the ENIGMA machine, 3D theatre, WW2 aviation display, home front exhibition & gift shop. Kathy Brown the accredited landscape gardener & designer has an amazing display of gardens, plants & flowers for all to see. From concept to design, outdoor space all year round. Garden design & lectures by arrangement.
Picture of The Knife and Cleaver, Bedford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We can't really fault are stay at The Knife and Cleaver, all the staff were friendly, the hotel / pub is in beautiful setting, our room was cleaning and nicely decorated. We enjoyed a meal and breakfast and couldn't fault the food, and will definitely stay again the next time we are in the area. 10/10

Reviewed by
D Sykes

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Warm welcome, excellent dinner and breakfast. Great service.

Reviewed by
H Pickford

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic place!!
We stayed here as we had a party in the local village hall. Rooms were decorated beautifully as was the pub itself, staff were very friendly, cooked breakfast was lovely. Only down side was there was remnants of somebody else's hair in the shower, not just a bit but a massive clump, but that really is being picky, other than than, will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
James p

From Bruton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our recent stay
Lovely setting for a country Pub. Room was not what we expected. Smelt damp and water damage to ceiling. Needed to stay a second night sheets not changed no shampoo or shower gels left for us.
Evening meals on first night where very good unfortunately second nights meal for me was dreadful.the rib eye steak was unedible and was the second. My wife had to eat her meal alone while I ended up with a cheese board. The stay was marred by not being able to pay by my bill as the card machines did not work (There were several customers who could not pay) Graham the manager became quite irritated, but took our details and informed us that new machines were on order. I have now been informed by Graham that my card has been declined (now doubt because they tried at least five times to take payment) I am left with now having to visit my bank to sort this all out today.

Reviewed by
Ron Warden

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Knife and Cleaver
A country pub with well appointed and very comfortable rooms in an annex. The menu has been revised recently. The quality of food and drink is superb.
A very enjoyable stay and far better than staying a corporate hotel in Bedford.

Reviewed by
David P

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful smal Hotel
lovely small Hotel, everybody is very friendly and location is very nice. Not in the city but for country side wonderful and just what I wanted.

Reviewed by
Carsten H

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly
Pretty pub/ hotel in lovely village. Opposite the church,well worth a visit,also walk up RectoryLane. Room clean and quiet with all facilities. Staff friendly and efficient and food gorgeous.

Reviewed by
Toni-Sue W

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant weekend break
Our check-in was handled in a friendly efficient manner. Our room was comfortable and very clean. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening. The food was good though I found my pork medallions a little dry. Breakfast on both mornings was very good and freshly cooked.Staff were friendly and helpful. The only criticism I would make was the poor lighting in the en-suite. Of the 2 downlights 1 was in the shower leaving just 1 to light the rest of the room - not helpful when it came to putting on make-up. Possibly a light-up mirror would help.

Reviewed by
G Broome

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attitude of staff
I found the staff very approachable, they made you feel welcome straight away, comfortable and at ease with an overall relaxed atmosphere. Very responsive yet not overpowering. The wine and beer was slightly over priced though

Reviewed by
S Pancoust

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fab place to stay
This was a great night's stay - very comfortable room nicely furnished with a great bathroom.
We ate in the bar and the food was expensive but worth every penny - really excellent.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next