No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel at Burford

2Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
14 Witney Street, , , Burford, OX18 4SN
The Angel at Burford provides a great location for exploring The Cotswolds and indeed the beautiful walks and quirky town shops in Burford alone will keep you well entertained. In addition to character filled, comfortable, ensuite rooms, you are guaranteed a warm welcome and a fantastic breakfast every morning! We provide long weekend and mid week break packages, and also welcome families and children to enjoy the charm of this beautiful inn and its picture postcard surroundings. Burford is one of England's prettiest small medieval towns.With its long history of hospitality, beautiful Cotswold architecture, exclusive shops and galleries and one of the top twenty churches in the country. Burford makes a perfect place to visit and stay. With its medieval bridge, old stone houses and attractive Tudor and Georgian frontages, Burford is justifiably one of the most picturesque towns in England. Often referred to as the ‘Gateway to the Cotswolds’, the town was originally a fortified Anglo-Saxon ford which later grew to be an important regional crossroads and wealthy wool town. Situated only 100 yards from Burfords bustling high street, the Angel is a haven of tranquillity and comfort. Built in 1652, this cosy restaurant with rooms is packed with original features. Old oak beams adorn the ceilings and in the winter months, flickering log fires reflect on the gleaming copper and brass. During the summer you can relax in the peaceful courtyard or in the walled garden.
Picture of The Angel at Burford, Burford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of an inn
A female friend and myself stayed for four nights at the Angel at Burford for a getaway in the Cotswolds. The staff were friendly, welcoming and attentive throughout the stay and did everything in their power to help us have an enjoyable time. The breakfasts were delicious - everything freshly cooked to order. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and spacious enough to relax in. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and hope to be able to return at some future date. A wonderful example of true hospitality.

Reviewed by
Sheila Smith

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Cotswolds
Truly wonderful and attentive service. Meals were excellent

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Hailsham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food, excellent service, lots of character
Stayed for 2 nights. They were really nice to us and really friendly. The room was dated but very comfortable if a little quirky. Food was excellent in the restaurant and well priced. Breakfast was also good. No parking onsite, but found a space 1 minute walk away on summer bank holiday weekend. Only minor downside was it was a little noisy one night downstairs.

Reviewed by
J Francis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Angel at Burford
We stayed at the Angel in Burford Oxford.
The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Our room was well presented and had everything we needed for our stay.
Breakfast was fantastic. Our full English was cooked to order , made with local produce.
We had a great time and we will be returning for another stay.

Reviewed by
F Blasi

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly reception and good service

Reviewed by
Martin F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A splendid retreat on a long journey.
Made most welcome . Comfortable and very welcoming. food excellent

Reviewed by
Michael Hargreaves

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely small pub/hotel with lots of character. The staff were absolutely first class and made us feel very welcome and nothing was too difficult for them. The food was very good and we will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Ken Wiltshire

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay in the Cotswolds
We stayed for 1 night at the Angel at Burford and could not have been more impressed with the standard of service and quality of food. In fact the food here is very, very good.
We had booked the package which included dinner in the evening and we were not at all disappointed with the choice of dishes available. For the beer drinker, there are 2 cask ales available at the bar and a well chosen wine list is available.
Our room was the "Madras" room and very comfortable with all expected amenities. It was spacious with windows overlooking the garden patio area. Good comfortable bed.
We stayed at the Angel on Friday night and had made no plans for Saturday night. Had there been a vacancy, we would certainly have stayed on for the second night.
We will certainly stay at the Angel should we plan to visit the Cotswolds again

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
Really lovely place to stay. Beautiful food

Reviewed by
J Pettifer

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2