No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Inn

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Higher Town, Malborough, Salcombe, TQ73RL
‘The Old Inn' is located in the vibrant Devon village of Malborough, set between the popular market town of Kingsbridge & the sailing town of Salcombe.
Having been completely refurbished, ‘The Old Inn’ offers a mix between old & new, serving local ales & traditional homemade pub food, and fine cuisine.
We have a large bar area with plenty of seating, including a comfortable sofa area.
During the winter we have the fires lit, keeping it very warm & cozy.
A large big screen is used to host some of the more popular football matches, Formula 1, etc but this is not on all the time as many people come to the pub to get away from the TV and to socialize.
Leading off from the main bar area is the pool room, with games machine & TV with colouring areas for the children.
We also allow dogs in the bar area, but they must be on a lead at all times, unfortunately they are not allowed in the restaurant.
We have a well stocked bar, and we have recently received 'The Cask Ale Mark Award' in recognition of the keeping of our fine ales.
For those who smoke, we have a sheltered area with benches at the rear of the property.

Picture of The Old Inn, Salcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief overnight stay
My wife and I had business in Salcombe and needed a quick booking. The Old Inn was comfortable and produced an excellent breakfast..

Reviewed by
D Monteith

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing venue
We had a fabulous experience staying at the Old Inn, location perfect, 2 miles for Salcombe.

Reviewed by
Di F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was perfect apart from some background noise from the pub below which continued into the early hours of sunday morning. Not a problem for me, but my wife found it hard to get to sleep.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your lovely review. Generally, the noise from downstairs is not an issue, but during busy times ie: June, July and August, many people who visit the area, are on holiday, and several are in Devon to celebrate weddings, birthdays, hen & stag parties etc, and when large groups of city dwellers frequent our sleepy little village, it can get a bit noisy. We have tried our best to insulate the rooms upstairs with sound proof underlay & thick carpets, but there will always be an element of noise associated with a pub. Thank goodness you didn't stay this weekend, as we had three stag parties, and one birthday being celebrated all on the same day! As our licence is until 1am, we can legally serve drinks, but use our discretion. We hope to see you again, preferably in a quieter month. Regards, Jo & Sophie

Reviewed by
T Bailey

From Narberth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice surprise
We stayed in the double room without en suite but were really pleasantly surprised to find that we had a private bathroom with shower, toilet and sink just over the corridor. The room was huge, had the most comfortable and was very clean. If you are very noise sensitive you might not like that the room is directly over the bar but what little music we could hear was turned off at 11pm so it wasn't a problem for us at all. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this accommodation to others.

Reviewed by
Laura L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly
Enjoyed a 1 night stay at the old inn. Salcombe. Room was clean and bright, couldn't fault it for the £50 . Not keen on not having own bathroom and shower, but it was only 1 night so not the end of the world. Had lovely haddock mornay off the specials board. it was de lish. Had real early start , so went to bed early. check out was easy. keys through letter box when we left. Lovely friendly mum & daughter team. lots of locals, but didn't feel like a lepper. lol.

Reviewed by
kim s

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub great welcome good fod defenatly stay again

Reviewed by
s davies

From Treorchy, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some sleep would have been nice
Arrived at b&b staff very friendly and we were shown to our room which was ok could do with some updating but was clean we ate here food was lovely can definitely recommend eating here we went to bed after a long day working bed comfortable but we were woken by loud music at around 1.30 we were then woken around 3am by people running around outside our room and the corridor shouting laughing banging doors etc this went on for around an hour we left early the next morning no one around to speak to about this problem as breakfast doesn't start till 9.30 and we left before 8am absolutely shattered and a long drive ahead of us.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review 'The Old Inn'. Obviously we are very happy with the more positive comments regarding the friendly staff & excellent food. We always try to address the negative issues, but unfortunately we are unable to control the noise made by other guests once the pub has closed. We have a late licence until 1am on Thursdays, Fridays & Saturdays, which we only use on rare occasions. It would appear that there were a group of people celebrating an engagement, hence the reason for the laughing & banging of doors upstairs. We do advise guests who book in advance, directly with us, when we have a function or party on, so that they can make a decision as to whether or not they require a quieter B&B, but this particular celebration was very impromptu, With regard to the room requiring some updating, we have been fully booked since January, and obviously the usual wear & tear has to be expected. All rooms are re-decorated & re-carpeted at the end of each season, and the room that you stayed in is having new carpet, new curtains, a new bed & new bedding this week. We hope that your experience will not deter you from staying with us again, as I can assure you that weekend evenings in October, are generally well supported by our locals, but they do not normally carry on until the early hours. Regards, Jo & Sophie.

Reviewed by
R Annals

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

salcombe trip
very freindly hosts,good accommation ,very clean ,second stay at this inn both very good

Reviewed by
lionel george

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, great food, great evening
I booked the Old Inn because it was close to Salcombe but without Salcombe prices. The room was clean and good value. We had a great dinner and then spent the evening in the very friendly bar. Due to our early schedule we explained we would not be able to have breakfast. This was no problem as they suggseted returning mid morning. We did and it was one of the best breakfasts - certainly one of the largest I've had. Friendly staff and fantastic value. I'll certainly book again.

Reviewed by
Derek C

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chose for a one night stay friendly place room basic but clean breakfast was lovely

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next