No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Inn

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Higher Town, Malborough, Salcombe, TQ73RL
‘The Old Inn' is located in the vibrant Devon village of Malborough, set between the popular market town of Kingsbridge & the sailing town of Salcombe.
Having been completely refurbished, ‘The Old Inn’ offers a mix between old & new, serving local ales & traditional homemade pub food, and fine cuisine.
We have a large bar area with plenty of seating, including a comfortable sofa area.
During the winter we have the fires lit, keeping it very warm & cozy.
A large big screen is used to host some of the more popular football matches, Formula 1, etc but this is not on all the time as many people come to the pub to get away from the TV and to socialize.
Leading off from the main bar area is the pool room, with games machine & TV with colouring areas for the children.
We also allow dogs in the bar area, but they must be on a lead at all times, unfortunately they are not allowed in the restaurant.
We have a well stocked bar, and we have recently received 'The Cask Ale Mark Award' in recognition of the keeping of our fine ales.
For those who smoke, we have a sheltered area with benches at the rear of the property.

Picture of The Old Inn, Salcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely go back!
Really friendly, family run b&b lovely food and couldn't have been more helpful. Comfortable bed and room just wish we had longer there.

Reviewed by
J Luscombe

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country B&B
Very comfortable B&B in remote area near Salcombe and South Milton Sands. Friendly staff and good clean facility. Comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
simon p

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
We were made to feel very welcome and couldn't fault the food or the room. The beer was nice too! Will definitely stay here again when we return to the area.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our short stay at the Old Inn
On arriving at the Old Inn, we were immediately greeted by a lady at the bar, and shown up to our room. We found the room very satisfactory; the shower worked well and the ventilation fan stopped after about 1 minute. The bed was very comfortable. We had a very tasty meal in the evening, and a great breakfast the next morning - I like late breakfasts, which leave time for a walk before them and you don't feel you're being forced to leave the accommodation too early. All round, a great place to stay!

Reviewed by
M Thompson

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief overnight stay
My wife and I had business in Salcombe and needed a quick booking. The Old Inn was comfortable and produced an excellent breakfast..

Reviewed by
D Monteith

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing venue
We had a fabulous experience staying at the Old Inn, location perfect, 2 miles for Salcombe.

Reviewed by
Di F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was perfect apart from some background noise from the pub below which continued into the early hours of sunday morning. Not a problem for me, but my wife found it hard to get to sleep.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your lovely review. Generally, the noise from downstairs is not an issue, but during busy times ie: June, July and August, many people who visit the area, are on holiday, and several are in Devon to celebrate weddings, birthdays, hen & stag parties etc, and when large groups of city dwellers frequent our sleepy little village, it can get a bit noisy. We have tried our best to insulate the rooms upstairs with sound proof underlay & thick carpets, but there will always be an element of noise associated with a pub. Thank goodness you didn't stay this weekend, as we had three stag parties, and one birthday being celebrated all on the same day! As our licence is until 1am, we can legally serve drinks, but use our discretion. We hope to see you again, preferably in a quieter month. Regards, Jo & Sophie

Reviewed by
T Bailey

From Narberth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice surprise
We stayed in the double room without en suite but were really pleasantly surprised to find that we had a private bathroom with shower, toilet and sink just over the corridor. The room was huge, had the most comfortable and was very clean. If you are very noise sensitive you might not like that the room is directly over the bar but what little music we could hear was turned off at 11pm so it wasn't a problem for us at all. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this accommodation to others.

Reviewed by
Laura L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly
Enjoyed a 1 night stay at the old inn. Salcombe. Room was clean and bright, couldn't fault it for the £50 . Not keen on not having own bathroom and shower, but it was only 1 night so not the end of the world. Had lovely haddock mornay off the specials board. it was de lish. Had real early start , so went to bed early. check out was easy. keys through letter box when we left. Lovely friendly mum & daughter team. lots of locals, but didn't feel like a lepper. lol.

Reviewed by
kim s

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub great welcome good fod defenatly stay again

Reviewed by
s davies

From Treorchy, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next