No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Travellers Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
23, Green Road Dodworth, Barnsley, S75 3RR
The Travellers Inn is a family run Bar/Restaurant with En-Suite Accommodation, built in 1782 as a Coaching Inn, we are close to Junction 37 of the M1 motorway,
3 miles from Barnsley Town Center and on the edge of the Pennine Trail, Holmfirth ( Last of the Summer Wine Country is only a 20min drive. Only a few miles to the West is Cawthorne which hosts Cannon Hall, 18th Century House Country House. Meadowhall Shopping Center is off Junction 34 off the M1. A mile away from Silkstone Golf Course. Therefore we are at the gateway to numourus places of interest, whether you are visiting the area for Business or pleasure .
Here at the Travellers Inn, we pride ourselves in providing our guests with our awarding winning hospitality, in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere.
Our food is fresh, wholesome, homecooked and to a high standard, you can enjoy a meal in cosy surrounding or sit with a drink infront of the open fire in the bar were we served a fantastic choice of Wines, Spirits and Real Ales.
Picture of Travellers Inn, Barnsley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overrnight stay
Easy to find and was greeted more or less before we had parked the car. offered to take our bags up stairs for us but was not necessary. Warm and comfortable bed, low ceiling into the bath room so watch your head if over 5ft 11inches. Trouble with batteries falling out of tv remote, some one had taken the back and batteries were held in with tape that was not sticking. Request for more milk was accomplished in 2 minuets! Only downside was that the creamer for coffee was 2 months out of date and curdled the coffee other than that a nice place

Reviewed by
M Weatherley

From tring , UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hosts, amazing food
We stayed in the Travelers Inn after playing a sports match in the local area. We chose this place as opposed to a generic Holiday Inn because of the food review. Upon arrival the friendly bar staff were on hand to help get us to our room an were happy to help. We went for a little afternoon drink while lunch service was still on and sat by the coal fire. When we asked about food that evening we were told that they were fully booked - we were obviously disappointed. Later in the evening we received a text from the owner Sharon, who informed us that she has managed to fit us in :) we were not disappointed. The meals were generous in portion and even better in quality. I can highly recommend the steak pie, so much meat, flavourful pastry and the gravy is seasoned just right. We had a couple more drinks then retired to a comfortable bed and was able to make an early getaway in the morning. They had put porridge, juice, cereal bars and plenty of tea and coffee in the rooms if you didn't want something cooked which was great for us. If you're looking for a cosy, friedly atmosphere with proper meals that feel like they've been made for a family dinner, then this is the place for you. We'd definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Rhian J

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Getaway Break
Booked just for me but my son wanted to come too made most welcome. Food on Saturday was very good. A good change for us.

Reviewed by
David O

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much needed break
Had a wonderful couple of days. Great hosts, friendly atmosphere. Customer service dropped a point because we were told after 2pm and we arrived at 4pm only to find everything locked up. We had to ring to gain access but after that rocky start the service was excellent. Thank you

Reviewed by
peter Holloway

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome the room was very comfortable and a cosy atmosphere. The breakfast certainly put us on for the day, well cooked and well presented. All in all we would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
T Jackson

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Jubbly!
Travelling up from Kent I was absolutely knackered on arrival. I only stayed the one night but found the accommodation clean and comfortable, certainly more than adequate for a single guy travelling on his own but tremendous value for money. Service from owners/staff was warm and engaging. Full English breakfast in the morning was excellent.

Reviewed by
N Harding

From Sheerness, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

needs fine tuning
pleasant room but had an overpowering smell or either damp and/or chemicals and a scented candle which made it worse and with only one small window it was not enough to air it out also there was no information pack in the room, I was taken ill in the night and had no phone numbers of local doctors or hospitals and the phone number on the room key fob was unobtainable so I had to drive myself and using my sat nav I found the nearest hospital where I spent the rest of the night

Reviewed by
michael f

From bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

traveller's Inn stay
My son and I spent two nights here. A lovely friendly Inn, The staff very accommodating, and the food was lovely. Just a small qualm, as we had to leave at 7 and breakfast didn't start til 8 we were told we couldn't have any. Apart from this we both had a very comfortable stay. Thank you

Reviewed by
Denise B

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a lovely stay here and will definatley stay again when I'm in the area !

Reviewed by
Julie P

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

monday stay
The main problem, I had, the inn is closed on Monday night!
This means no food without getting back into the car, not good after 250miles.
The actual room could do with better air circulation, slight mistress.
However, the highlight of the visit was the great breakfast that cannot be recommended enough.

Reviewed by
alan c

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next