Reviews - Travellers Inn


23, Green Road Dodworth, Barnsley, S75 3RR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (15)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • michael chiswell

  • September 2015

What a find

I have stayed in Barnsley a great number of times, usually in the large chain hotels, Premier Inn or Ramada.

I booked the Travellers Inn off the back of the excellent reviews it had received for its quality dining and considerate hosts. I was not to be disappointed. The room was cosy, fresh and had all the space you would ever need and more. The bed is without doubt the most comfortable I have ever stayed in and I had a great nights sleep. After a relaxing soak in the bath I ventured downstairs and paid a visit to the restaurant. Wow. As I said to the manager "If I have ever had a better fish meal I certainly can not remember it!!" The meal was fantastically presented, cooked to perfection, delivered with a smile and good value for money. I was to be away early in the morning so didn't book a full English breakfast, I certainly will next time, but the complimentary breakfast pack was just the job. All in all a fantastic experience and one that left me well refreshed for the long day I had in front of me. I won't be staying anywhere else but here when I visit Barnsley next...

  • Kay T

  • April 2015

Great stay

Great stay for the money, staff friendly, comfy bed, the evening food from the pub was great but didn't have a cooked breakfast.

the take away breakfast is a fab idea. Felt comfortable on my own in the pub. I would stay again.

  • nicola lawson

  • April 2015

cheap night away

We had to travel to barnsley to collect a puppy so was just after a cheap nights stay.

Room was perfect for that even had a breakfast pack enclosed which was great for drive home.

  • M Weatherley

  • February 2015

overrnight stay

Easy to find and was greeted more or less before we had parked the car.

offered to take our bags up stairs for us but was not necessary. Warm and comfortable bed, low ceiling into the bath room so watch your head if over 5ft 11inches. Trouble with batteries falling out of tv remote, some one had taken the back and batteries were held in with tape that was not sticking. Request for more milk was accomplished in 2 minuets. Only downside was that the creamer for coffee was 2 months out of date and curdled the coffee other than that a nice place

  • Rhian J

  • February 2015

Lovely hosts, amazing food

We stayed in the Travelers Inn after playing a sports match in the local area.

We chose this place as opposed to a generic Holiday Inn because of the food review. Upon arrival the friendly bar staff were on hand to help get us to our room an were happy to help. We went for a little afternoon drink while lunch service was still on and sat by the coal fire. When we asked about food that evening we were told that they were fully booked - we were obviously disappointed. Later in the evening we received a text from the owner Sharon, who informed us that she has managed to fit us in :) we were not disappointed. The meals were generous in portion and even better in quality. I can highly recommend the steak pie, so much meat, flavourful pastry and the gravy is seasoned just right. We had a couple more drinks then retired to a comfortable bed and was able to make an early getaway in the morning. They had put porridge, juice, cereal bars and plenty of tea and coffee in the rooms if you didn't want something cooked which was great for us. If you're looking for a cosy, friedly atmosphere with proper meals that feel like they've been made for a family dinner, then this is the place for you. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • David O

  • December 2014

Getaway Break

Booked just for me but my son wanted to come too made most welcome.

Food on Saturday was very good. A good change for us.

  • peter Holloway

  • November 2014

Much needed break

Had a wonderful couple of days.

Great hosts, friendly atmosphere. Customer service dropped a point because we were told after 2pm and we arrived at 4pm only to find everything locked up. We had to ring to gain access but after that rocky start the service was excellent. Thank you

  • T Jackson

  • November 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome the room was very comfortable and a cosy atmosphere.

The breakfast certainly put us on for the day, well cooked and well presented. All in all we would definitely stay there again.

  • N Harding

  • October 2014

Lovely Jubbly!

Travelling up from Kent I was absolutely knackered on arrival.

I only stayed the one night but found the accommodation clean and comfortable, certainly more than adequate for a single guy travelling on his own but tremendous value for money. Service from owners/staff was warm and engaging. Full English breakfast in the morning was excellent.

  • michael f

  • September 2014

needs fine tuning

pleasant room but had an overpowering smell or either damp and/or chemicals and a scented candle which made it worse and with only one small window it was not enough to air it out also there was no information pack in the room, I was taken ill in the night and had no phone numbers of local doctors or hospitals and the phone number on the room key fob was unobtainable so I had to drive myself and using my sat nav I found the nearest hospital where I spent the rest of the night