No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Hawks Road Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE8 3AD
Just 300 metres from the Gateshead Millennium Bridge and the Baltic Art Centre, this modern hotel has a stylish on-site restaurant, bar, gym, and free Wi-Fi throughout.
The hotel is located less than 20 minutes walk from Newcastle city centre, and the Quayside’s bars and restaurants are just a 10-minute walk away. The Sage, a performance and conference venue, is just 5 minutes’ walk away and Gateshead Metro Station is within a 15-minute walk.
There is a 24-hour business centre, which is free to use. Each contemporary, wooden-floored room includes a Freeview flat-screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, and an en suite bathroom with power shower.
Picture of Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 255 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The water was a bit cold and slow
Overall the stay was good

Reviewed by
N Hussain

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parking
To charge an additional £5.00 to park in a muddy pot-holed bit of wasteground next to the hotel is outrageous - for that reason alone I will not be staying here again.
The room was acceptable for the price and the food looked reasonable priced - we didn't try any.
However prepare to have a disturbed nights sleep - this is encouraged by the hotel, why else would you advertise "6 shots for £6" in your lift? - by drunken, rowdy revellers.

Reviewed by
Alastair M

From Kyle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location, easy check in.
The ramada is a modern, clean hotel located very close to Newcastle city centre on the Gateshead side of the Tyne. Check in was quick and easy and the room was clean and modern. Even thought there were a lot of people obviously booked in for a night on the town the room was still quiet enough for a good nights sleep. Next time I'm in Newcastle this hotel will be my 1st choice for a place to stay. There are cheaper options near the city centre but you definitely get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
S Crawford

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality hotel near quayside
A colleague and I stayed here on business on a Friday and Saturday night. This is good hotel, but the customer service at reception let it down. We arrived at about 10pm after a long, tiring day, and were left waiting by one of the reception team who clearly wanted to go home, while the other was clearly tied up dealing with a client who was complaining. It was a shame he couldn't spend what in the end took less than two minutes to check us in. The other downside was a few noisy people coming back late at night - possibly stag parties - but this didn't last long.
The beds were comfortable and warm and the shower decent. It is only a few minutes walk from the Quayside, with good restaurants. Would recommend Piccolinos for an evening meal. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
A Morris

From Shepton Mallet, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a short stay
Lovely hotel within a short walk from quayside & Newcastle town centre. Rooms comfortable with lovely wet room. All staff were really helpful & friendly & even suggested some places to visit. Food in hotel restaurant was lovely & not too expensive although drinks were usual hotel prices. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
I Walker

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Banging door only problem
Hotel and room fine. Staff friendly. Only had sandwiches but tasty. Location good for Newcastle Quayside just over bridge. Good price £49 Saturday night. Only problem was room next to fire door which banged during night as guests came in and out.

Reviewed by
d ferguson

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and value for money stay
Well situated, clean and comfortable. Perfect for a business stay

Reviewed by
Sue T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay Feb 2014
This was my second stay at the Ramada Encore and if anything it was even better than my first. The staff are exceptionally friendly and very helpful. I requested a particular room that i like and was given it without question. The room itself was extremely comfy and there were features often only found in more expensive hotels. It was very clean and everything worked.
Thank you

Reviewed by
Anthony B

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and welcoming
I booked the hotel for my dad and me as we were in Newcastle for the football. We both found the staff very warm and friendly and the atmosphere was relaxing. Whilst there were several parties there for events such as hen do's, the rooms we were given were towards the back of the hotel so we were not disturbed at all but any late night guests coming back to their rooms. Whilst the hotel was on the gateshead side of the river, it was well within walking distance of the town centre and was surrounded by a lot of landmarks. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and in fact my mum and dad will be returning for a stay in the next couple of weekends. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Heather Hancock

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If I was to complain about anything and it really wasn't the hotels fault at all was the noise me and my partner had to enure around half 2 in the morning from a group of drunks returning to the hotel after a obvious night out and we're shouting and banging on doors for a good hour and half .. Was not the nicest thing to listen to at that time in the morning. But again this was not the hotels fault and I just wanted to have my rant about it, all in all I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and everything about the room was fantastic for the price.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.