Reviews - Thornhill Hotel


The Seafront Mere Lane, TEIGNMOUTH, TQ14 8TA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (13)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Stanton

  • July 2015

A Little Gem

Superb hosts, great food, great value.

We had the last available room which was a little cramped if staying for a fortnight, but with the use of a comfortable lounge would make for a very economical week for two without any problems, and brilliant for a weekend away. Very clean and well presented. Will certainly book again.

  • A Deacon

  • March 2015

excellent accommodation

excellent value for money very warm and friendly owner

  • lynda d

  • January 2015

birthday weekend

Very pleased with our room, very comfortable and clean.

Breakfast was really tasty, there was a very good choice of fresh fruit, cereal and cooked foods. Thankyou

  • Gillian H

  • September 2014

Lovely break

Excellent family run hotel nothing to much trouble.

Intrested in your stay.would recomend to anyone staying in the area.

  • D Patel

  • August 2014

Excellent hospitality

Sandy, Danny and Marika were briliant.

Exceeded expectations and helped us with our wedding arrangements and organising. Breakfast was brilliant and very healthy.

Great location, great price, great hotel

  • catherine parker

  • July 2014

Parking is a problem

The parking was an issue - the description says you can park opposite the hotel all day for £3 or so.

However, the maximum parking stay is two hours and it costs approximately £1.00 an hour. We had to return to the car a few times to top up the meter and had to move the car to the car park at the other end of the sea front to park all day. My partner recently broke his leg and is not very mobile so this wasn't ideal. The room was spotless and appeared recently decorated. There were a few nice touches, for example, nice pictures on the walls, a nice light shade, a bowl of sweets in the room etc. There was only one packet of biscuits and not much milk in the room. We didn't ask for more as we got back late in the evening. The breakfast was outstanding. All the food is freshly cooked to order and the ingredients were top quality. I had Eggs Benedict which was delicious and the fresh fruit salad was lovely. I would have given a 6 for customer service but the girl was unable to give us a receipt when we paid cash for our stay. Other than that, she was very friendly and helpful. I would also have given a 6 for the quality of our room, but the room was quite small, a few things were a bit wonky, like the toilet roll holder and the mirror and the pine furniture is a bit dated. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. I would stay again if I was travelling by train.

  • lisa f

  • July 2014

Very pleasant

Really enjoyed our one night stay, had a great nights sleep and felt really relaxed, would recommend.

  • Tracey Whelan

  • July 2014

Lovely hotel

Sandy made us feel very welcome and the room was lovely.

  • andrew b

  • June 2014


Excellent getaway from the city.

Service with a smile .

  • Benjamin Ford

  • May 2014

Charming hotel

The Thornhill Hotel is a delightful little hotel, tucked away from the hustle and bustle, but still close to all the amenities of the town, and practically right on the waterfront.

(Our room had partial sea views, but we were only there 1 night and it was a last minute booking the night before, so next time we stay we'll go for a full sea view). We would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you're not a fan of large hotels. This one had only a handful of rooms - just the way we like it. Staff were friendly and courteous, the rooms small but perfect for short stays. Breakfast was included, and was cooked well. Also the hotel was very clean and well presented.