No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thornhill Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Seafront Mere Lane, TEIGNMOUTH, TQ14 8TA
An elegant Georgian building with residential licence, comprising of 9 comfortable well-appointed bedrooms,each furnished with flat screen TV. You will receive a warm welcome and you will be assured of a comfortable and relaxing stay. Your comfort is our priority and the lounge with a sea view is at the disposal of guests at all times. The Thornhill is beautifully situated on the seafront with no hills to climb and only a few 100 yards from the town centre. You can just walk across the promenade to the sandy beach where you can sunbathe and swim. Alongside the Thornhill there is a heated public lido in contrast to the sea and sandy beach opposite. Long sunshine days and the mild climate of South Devon give rise to the title of The English Riviera of which Teignmouth is the heart. Teignmouth is an the ideal place for sea and river boating, fishing, diving, bowls, golf, bird watching and so much more. The steam railway and the South West Coastal Path pass through the town. At nearby Newton Abbot there are regular horse race meetings and antique fairs. Children over 10 years old are welcome.
Picture of Thornhill Hotel, TEIGNMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
Excellent family run hotel nothing to much trouble. Intrested in your stay.would recomend to anyone staying in the area.

Reviewed by
Gillian H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hospitality
Sandy, Danny and Marika were briliant. Exceeded expectations and helped us with our wedding arrangements and organising. Breakfast was brilliant and very healthy.
Great location, great price, great hotel

Reviewed by
D Patel

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parking is a problem
The parking was an issue - the description says you can park opposite the hotel all day for £3 or so. However, the maximum parking stay is two hours and it costs approximately £1.00 an hour. We had to return to the car a few times to top up the meter and had to move the car to the car park at the other end of the sea front to park all day. My partner recently broke his leg and is not very mobile so this wasn't ideal.
The room was spotless and appeared recently decorated. There were a few nice touches, for example, nice pictures on the walls, a nice light shade, a bowl of sweets in the room etc. There was only one packet of biscuits and not much milk in the room. We didn't ask for more as we got back late in the evening.
The breakfast was outstanding. All the food is freshly cooked to order and the ingredients were top quality. I had Eggs Benedict which was delicious and the fresh fruit salad was lovely.
I would have given a 6 for customer service but the girl was unable to give us a receipt when we paid cash for our stay. Other than that, she was very friendly and helpful.
I would also have given a 6 for the quality of our room, but the room was quite small, a few things were a bit wonky, like the toilet roll holder and the mirror and the pine furniture is a bit dated. The king-sized bed was very comfortable.
I would stay again if I was travelling by train.

Reviewed by
catherine parker

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant
Really enjoyed our one night stay, had a great nights sleep and felt really relaxed, would recommend.

Reviewed by
lisa f

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Sandy made us feel very welcome and the room was lovely.

Reviewed by
Tracey Whelan

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Title
Excellent getaway from the city. Service with a smile .

Reviewed by
andrew b

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming hotel
The Thornhill Hotel is a delightful little hotel, tucked away from the hustle and bustle, but still close to all the amenities of the town, and practically right on the waterfront. (Our room had partial sea views, but we were only there 1 night and it was a last minute booking the night before, so next time we stay we'll go for a full sea view). We would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you're not a fan of large hotels. This one had only a handful of rooms - just the way we like it. Staff were friendly and courteous, the rooms small but perfect for short stays. Breakfast was included, and was cooked well. Also the hotel was very clean and well presented.

Reviewed by
Benjamin Ford

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
We stayed here for a 2 night break and found the hotel to be lovely, the room was spotless and the bed was really comfy. There was a great selection for breakfast and the staff were very friendly. The location of the hotel was excellent and we will definitely stay here again when we are in Teignmouth.

Reviewed by
Lisa J

From Bridgnorth, Shropshire, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A happy stay.
A very happy, relaxing stay with excellent and a friendly environment, would definitely us again.

Reviewed by
v newman

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable stay
welcoming and friendly,very hospitable would definitely come again!

Reviewed by
Ros' Short

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next