No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bird in Hand

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Bird in Hand, White Oak Green , Witney, OX29 9XP
The Bird in Hand Inn is a classic Cotswolds country Inn located in Whiteoak Green, Oxfordshire, near Witney on the B4022, just outside the small village of Hailey. This classic Cotswolds hotel is an ideal location in the heart of the country within a few miles of Oxford, Chipping Norton and major motorways. The Bird in Hand Inn is surrounded by the beautiful scenery and rolling countryside of the Cotswolds, this Grade II listed building is made of traditional local stone and slate and boasts beautiful original features.

Typical of the region, the Bird in Hand was originally constructed in the traditional manner in the 17th century. Today, the inn has been totally renovated, but is still rich in original charm and gorgeous period features, such as natural Cotswold stone and heavy wooden beams.

Each of the rooms has its own unique, individual warmth and character. The oldest room is the heart of the hotel. The huge inglenook fireplace blazes away with enormous logs during the cold winter nights and during the hot summer season, the hearth is decorated with a display of local flowers.

With excellent service, mouth-watering food and a warm, friendly, relaxing atmosphere, the Inn is great as a base from which to discover the delights of the Cotswolds and surrounding areas. Why not come and enjoy a few refreshing drinks, some light lunch or the beautiful views of the surrounding countryside, whilst relaxing in the summer sunshine on our seated patio.

The food offering, prepared by Head Chef David Morgan, concentrating on locally sourced, seasonal produce, from local farmers and producers, is recommended by The Gourmet Society. For a list of our local suppliers, please take a look at our Links Page where we will highlight these great, local suppliers.

As well as the superb food offering, The Bird In Hand boasts 16 letting bedrooms, all furnished to the highest standards. These rooms include 2 family rooms and two rooms with full disabled access. The accommodation is set in its own quadrangle, away from the hustle and bustle of the bar and restaurant areas, allowing for a tranquil night's sleep whenever you should wish to retire. These AA**** rated rooms offer an excellent base to explore the beauty of the Cotswolds, or a great place for a business meeting, making use of one of our fully equipped meeting rooms.
Picture of Bird in Hand, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NIce People
We got a very warm welcome, had good food and a comfortable bed. What more do you need?.

Reviewed by
Colin H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice place to stay but the hotel hadn`t received confirmation of our booking from Late Room . com. Fortunately they had a spare room available.

Reviewed by
Christopher Coulson

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great family room
We tend to avoid staying in hotels or B&B's, as with a young family, we are conscious of other guests getting a full nights sleep! However on organising a family celebration break for my family, my brothers young family and my parents this hotel was perfect. The rooms were huge - plenty of room for the children. The breakfast superb. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Kathryn W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value family room
Very large room . Double bed, single bed and sofa bed. Fittings and furnishings not brand new but ok. Free wifi. Very quiet and well located.

Reviewed by
Claire S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek stay
We stayed at the Bird in Hand for a weekend in July when we attended the International Air Tattoo at Fairford and were so impressed we came back for a midweek break.
The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and set just far enough away from the pub to avoid any noise.
I don't think we have had better food when we have stayed away.
The breakfast was excellent, the full english too much for me to eat.
The choice and quality of the food in the evening was even better. We chose something different on each of the four nights we stayed, and could not fault anything.
Matt, the owner and chef, has done a brilliant job at The Bird. Thanks to him and all the staff who were very helpful and friendly, and gave us an enjoyable few days away.
We used this as a base to visit Oxford. It is roughly a 15 minute drive to 'Oxford Peartree Park and Ride' where you can leave your car all day for £2 and catch a bus right into the centre of Oxford.

Reviewed by
David S

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't have asked for any more
We stayed here to break up our journey returning North from the South Coast. It was only meant to be an overnight stay, so we weren't overly bothered about quality. In hindsight we wish we'd booked for more nights! The grounds of the B&B are lovely and our toddler was captivated by the ducks and chickens.
The room was spacious with easily enough room for our travel cot. It was also clean and well decorated. It may have been all the driving or it could have been the comfy beds, but I slept like a log.
Oh and the food we had in the pub was great too. Really can't find anything to complain about. Would definitely recommend this place and we hope to go back soon.

Reviewed by
Tim C

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was our second stay at the Bird in Hand and it was just as enjoyable as the first. Very friendly and helpful staff, large comfortable rooms and in a lovely relaxed setting. Very pretty courtyard with tables and chairs, so we were able to sit outside with an early morning coffee.

Reviewed by
j hogan

From Newhaven, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely spot
just right for a break

Reviewed by
B Farleigh

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and clean
Excellent welcome. We were able to check in a little early too. Room was extremely clean and well presented but a little dated - bathroom fittings were cracked, taps were a bit odd and the mattress on the bed was uncomfortable and probably needs updating. That aside, the staff were really welcoming and breakfast was very good indeed. I would return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Reviewed by
Anne W

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night only
We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room. Very clean and very well equipped. We were given a warm welcome and interacted well with our little boy. The breakfast was very good and filling in pleasant surroundings.

Reviewed by
darren ward

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next