Reviews - Bird in Hand


Bird in Hand, White Oak Green, Witney, OX29 9XP

Price From 168.02 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (50)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • g edwards

  • October 2015

Very pleasant weekend break!

We were looking for something quiet and homely to spend a weekend away and this was perfect.

The accommodation was very good and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The staff were very pleasant and we look forward to returning soon.

  • C Price

  • April 2015


All positives, quality, cleanliness, service levels, quality of food.

Big spacious rooms, quiet & away from pub. The food quality / quantity was very good, a little bit expensive but that's being very petty.

  • Christopher R

  • March 2015

Pleasant stay

After a mix up with the type of room booked - sorted after the boss became involved- a good experience with friendly cheerful staff

  • Katherine H

  • March 2015

Excellent customer service

I was very impressed by the Bird in Hand, who dealt with a serious problem with my reservation efficiently, promptly and helpfully.

There had been some miscommunication between and the inn, with the result that the people at the inn could see my reservation on the system, but there was no room available for me on the second night of my stay. They quickly found me another room in a local hotel for that night, and were courteous and apologetic, paying the difference in rate between the new hotel and their own rate. Apart from that, I had dinner in the restaurant, which was superb, and the room was very spacious, clean, and excellent value for money. I would highly recommend this inn.

  • Claudia M

  • February 2015

Magical stay

The room was spacious and comfortable, the landscape in the middle of the countryside and near to Witney was wonderful, the garden around the premises was great

  • C Walker

  • January 2015

Jet Lagged Travellers

We stayed at the Bird in Hand following on from returning from holiday and landing at Gatwick, so we wanted somewhere to stay around the Oxford area to break our journey following on from a night flight and too far to drive home all in one go.

We cannot fault this place. It is a nice country pub with great d├ęcor, friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make us welcome and the food is fabulous. The accommodation is next door in converted barns/stables with a nice outdoor area.

  • A Mackey

  • December 2014

Bird in Hand when visiting Cotswold Wildlife Park

Needed affordable family accommodation for a one night stay.

Location is good, although there is no address as such, and not easy to find - we had to resort to google maps rather than the car SatNav. Nice country location and authentic pub feel. Room was separate to the main pub as described which was good, and room is of excellent size and setup with a double, single and sofa bed. All clean, and with flat TV and some easy chairs. Great for killing time before dinner. Food was excellent but noticably pricier than we would pay at home - tourist prices. Kids meals were particularly good and all excellent quality. Beer very nice, including Welsh ale, an unexpected treat. Recommended, and would definitely revisit, if in the area.

  • Garry M

  • December 2014


My wife and I can't fault this hotel.

The accommodation was very clean and well appointed. The staff were very welcoming and efficient and the food was absolutely wonderful. The choice of breakfast was superb and generous. We intend to return in the Summer as it is an ideal base for Oxford and surrounding area.

  • Andy Harvey

  • December 2014

Decent Rooms and Good Food

  • W Duncan

  • December 2014

Lovely place , nice setting , run well

Could so with updating bathrooms , but very nice place