No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bird in Hand

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Bird in Hand, White Oak Green , Witney, OX29 9XP
The Bird in Hand Inn is a classic Cotswolds country Inn located in Whiteoak Green, Oxfordshire, near Witney on the B4022, just outside the small village of Hailey. This classic Cotswolds hotel is an ideal location in the heart of the country within a few miles of Oxford, Chipping Norton and major motorways. The Bird in Hand Inn is surrounded by the beautiful scenery and rolling countryside of the Cotswolds, this Grade II listed building is made of traditional local stone and slate and boasts beautiful original features.

Typical of the region, the Bird in Hand was originally constructed in the traditional manner in the 17th century. Today, the inn has been totally renovated, but is still rich in original charm and gorgeous period features, such as natural Cotswold stone and heavy wooden beams.

Each of the rooms has its own unique, individual warmth and character. The oldest room is the heart of the hotel. The huge inglenook fireplace blazes away with enormous logs during the cold winter nights and during the hot summer season, the hearth is decorated with a display of local flowers.

With excellent service, mouth-watering food and a warm, friendly, relaxing atmosphere, the Inn is great as a base from which to discover the delights of the Cotswolds and surrounding areas. Why not come and enjoy a few refreshing drinks, some light lunch or the beautiful views of the surrounding countryside, whilst relaxing in the summer sunshine on our seated patio.

The food offering, prepared by Head Chef David Morgan, concentrating on locally sourced, seasonal produce, from local farmers and producers, is recommended by The Gourmet Society. For a list of our local suppliers, please take a look at our Links Page where we will highlight these great, local suppliers.

As well as the superb food offering, The Bird In Hand boasts 16 letting bedrooms, all furnished to the highest standards. These rooms include 2 family rooms and two rooms with full disabled access. The accommodation is set in its own quadrangle, away from the hustle and bustle of the bar and restaurant areas, allowing for a tranquil night's sleep whenever you should wish to retire. These AA**** rated rooms offer an excellent base to explore the beauty of the Cotswolds, or a great place for a business meeting, making use of one of our fully equipped meeting rooms.
Picture of Bird in Hand, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Massive Family Room
The family room was enormous. The evening meal was good and as was breakfast and the Bird In Hand was very convenient for our planned trips to Oxford and Blenheim Palace. The staff were also very friendly and attentive. I would recommend the Bird In Hand and would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Gareth Lawrence

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay, we only stopped for the one night, but thoroughly. Enjoyed our stay we had a lovely evening meal, and a even lovelier breakfast, served by really friendly staff. I loved the way the rooms open onto a courtyard and on a sunny day it would be lovely to sit outside, most enjoyable stay would definitely recommend it.

Reviewed by
A Hartley

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pet friendly hotel
We choose this accommodation as it was near to Witney where our daughter lives and took pets. We couldn't have been made more welcome and our dog was spoilt. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Beryl Burdess

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome awaits
Booked on a whim as we've not been to the area before, but so glad we picked this place.
Lovely, well appointed room, set away from the pub/restaurant in a good location away from the major roads.
Food was good and the hearty breakfast is a perfect start to the day for exploring the Cotswolds.
Where this place excels is the staff, each one of them we met were very friendly and extremely helpful, we repeatedly witnessed that nothing was too much trouble for them.
Many thanks and keep up the good work.

Reviewed by
Iain B

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find!
My husband and I stayed for just one night after a family reunion. We received a warm welcome and we were efficiently checked in and directed to our room. The accommodation is separate from the main pub/restaurant which enabled us to have a peaceful evening and a good night's sleep. The room was spotlessly clean, a comfortable bed, large ensuite, tea,coffee and biscuits and even a large bottle of still water. After being greeted and shown to a table the next morning, we enjoyed a delicious, freshly cooked breakfast. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area, I would highly recommend this establishment.

Reviewed by
Sheila M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place ... excellent food !!

Reviewed by
Darren J

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and wonderful staff - absolute pleasure
The staff bent over backwards to accommodate our need of arriving very late. There was no fuss. The room was an oasis in the dark and wind of the late arrival. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was hearty and set us up for the night. Due to this little gem we will be returning to this part of the world at our leisure rather than on business. There is another hotel 2 miles down the road costing 4 times as much but the accommodation and food is not a patch on The Bird in Hand....

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
We booked this through Laterooms.com, and could not fault in anyway ! First appearance - very pretty
welcomed by very warm friendly staff. We had a family room, which had plenty of space
, comfortable beds, clean, fresh and warm with lovely views!
The restaurant was great with wonderful food, great choice even for the kids, and
the Waitress (Nuggett) was fantastic !
Will definitely book here again and would highly recommend the hotel !

Reviewed by
T Bronstein

From Cambridge, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub, just needs a few tweaks at meal times.
2 night stay. Warm welcome. Very nice accommodation. The pub is of a Welsh Rugby Union theme and has a nice ambiance to it (open fire, warm lighting, wooden floors etc - Classy) The room, although it had an ironing board didn't have an iron but a member of staff promptly brought one to our room after a quick call to reception. Lovely ales on tap and the wine (even though I opted for the cheapest option!) was of a good quality. Few little tweaks? Yes. Ensuring the basics are stocked up on, especially the ones advertised. Brown sauce for breakfast, condiments such as black pepper ready on the tables with your meal, parmesan cheese for the Italian dishes, black pudding was advertised but the kitchen had run out and wasn't restocked up the time we were there, making sure enough beans are in stock for large parties. Maybe just some planning ahead I guess however all in all a very nice weekend. Thankyou

Reviewed by
Amelia S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub, beautiful setting!
Lovely place to stay and great value for the area. Room was decent size and clean and comfortable. The pub is lovely, cosy, nicely laid out with lots of tables, open fire and good service. The portions were massive and the dishes we had were very nice. Only a couple of miles from Witney as well so if you fancied eating out in the town instead is easy to get back. Good value for money. Would stay again!

Reviewed by
S Goddard

From , England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next