No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bird in Hand

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Bird in Hand, White Oak Green , Witney, OX29 9XP
The Bird in Hand Inn is a classic Cotswolds country Inn located in Whiteoak Green, Oxfordshire, near Witney on the B4022, just outside the small village of Hailey. This classic Cotswolds hotel is an ideal location in the heart of the country within a few miles of Oxford, Chipping Norton and major motorways. The Bird in Hand Inn is surrounded by the beautiful scenery and rolling countryside of the Cotswolds, this Grade II listed building is made of traditional local stone and slate and boasts beautiful original features.

Typical of the region, the Bird in Hand was originally constructed in the traditional manner in the 17th century. Today, the inn has been totally renovated, but is still rich in original charm and gorgeous period features, such as natural Cotswold stone and heavy wooden beams.

Each of the rooms has its own unique, individual warmth and character. The oldest room is the heart of the hotel. The huge inglenook fireplace blazes away with enormous logs during the cold winter nights and during the hot summer season, the hearth is decorated with a display of local flowers.

With excellent service, mouth-watering food and a warm, friendly, relaxing atmosphere, the Inn is great as a base from which to discover the delights of the Cotswolds and surrounding areas. Why not come and enjoy a few refreshing drinks, some light lunch or the beautiful views of the surrounding countryside, whilst relaxing in the summer sunshine on our seated patio.

The food offering, prepared by Head Chef David Morgan, concentrating on locally sourced, seasonal produce, from local farmers and producers, is recommended by The Gourmet Society. For a list of our local suppliers, please take a look at our Links Page where we will highlight these great, local suppliers.

As well as the superb food offering, The Bird In Hand boasts 16 letting bedrooms, all furnished to the highest standards. These rooms include 2 family rooms and two rooms with full disabled access. The accommodation is set in its own quadrangle, away from the hustle and bustle of the bar and restaurant areas, allowing for a tranquil night's sleep whenever you should wish to retire. These AA**** rated rooms offer an excellent base to explore the beauty of the Cotswolds, or a great place for a business meeting, making use of one of our fully equipped meeting rooms.
Picture of Bird in Hand, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely stay again
This place was lovely.
When you open the door, it was like having your own cottage style room all to yourself. The bedroom was decorated simply but very nicely down. Everything was catered for and the bed was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
J Fairhead

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cornish Abroad
We only stayed here for one night but was made very welcome. The accommodation, hospitality and food received (as well as breakfast, dined there as well in the eveing) was outstanding and if we found ourselves in the area again would certainly revisit.

Reviewed by
Graham E

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mattress
The room was spacious and clean but the mattress needs replacing asap, the springs could be felt and kept us awake all night due to discomfort. The heating didn't work, the bedside lamp didn't work and the taps in the bathrooms didn't work well, it was a struggle to turn them on and off.

Reviewed by
Maria B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and room and we had a nice meal. We did not sleep well as you could feel every spring in the mattress and woke up with a painful body. What a shame! The breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Jenny H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lack of sleep
The room and hotel was very nice but the quality of the mattress left alot to be desired.
I could feel practically every spring within the mattress which gave me a very uncomfortable experience. Lack of sleep left me very tired for the next days activities that I had planned.

Reviewed by
Ruth B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable accommodation, well suited for Oxford and Cotswold villages
Clean, comfortable venue, well placed for Oxford and lovely Cotswold villages. Nice friendly staff who were happy to help. Good food (although on the slightly expensive side perhaps). Lovely breakfasts.

Reviewed by
Jo M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for a meet up
We met up with friends at the Bird in Hand last weekend as we needed somewhere midway between both of our houses so we stayed 1 night and took dinner. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped. Nice comfy bed, nice pillows and bedding and nice biscuits with the tea making facilities. Nice and warm too but not overly hot. The bathroom was very dated and really needs an urgent upgrade. It was spotless but there was mould on the wall behind the toilet which did smell and was off-putting. There were also gaps in the grouting beside the bath which would allow water through and need urgent attention. The bathroom did put us off a bit. The food in the bistro pub was very good indeed as was the breakfast and all the staff were very friendly indeed and helpful. But please do something about the mould in those bathrooms. Our friends had the same problem in theirs. Otherwise a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Karen Taylor

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
Comfortable warm and clean room, nicely prepared breakfast staff friendly & helpful.

Reviewed by
A Cox

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
Excellent hotel for the money, well worth more more money! Service, food and accommodation all very good. The bar, surrounding countryside and staff are all very welcoming. If in and around Oxford would recommend without reservation

Reviewed by
M Darnell

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We went with another couple and we both really enjoyed our weekend stay. The recently built chalet-style accommodation is attached to the pub. Rooms are spacious with good amenities and there is a large car park making unloading etc very easy. Although by a main road at the southern end of the Cotswold, we never had any interference from traffic noise We had pre booked our evening meals with looked a good decision as the restaurant was busy. The food was delicious, the menu fairly straight forward, although some of the portions were actually on the large size! It may have benefitted from one or two more daily 'specials' especially fresh fish dishes which we like. Staff were very friendly and tried to meet all our requests. We were delighted with our choice.

Reviewed by
Brian K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next