No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bird in Hand

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Bird in Hand, White Oak Green , Witney, OX29 9XP
The Bird in Hand Inn is a classic Cotswolds country Inn located in Whiteoak Green, Oxfordshire, near Witney on the B4022, just outside the small village of Hailey. This classic Cotswolds hotel is an ideal location in the heart of the country within a few miles of Oxford, Chipping Norton and major motorways. The Bird in Hand Inn is surrounded by the beautiful scenery and rolling countryside of the Cotswolds, this Grade II listed building is made of traditional local stone and slate and boasts beautiful original features.

Typical of the region, the Bird in Hand was originally constructed in the traditional manner in the 17th century. Today, the inn has been totally renovated, but is still rich in original charm and gorgeous period features, such as natural Cotswold stone and heavy wooden beams.

Each of the rooms has its own unique, individual warmth and character. The oldest room is the heart of the hotel. The huge inglenook fireplace blazes away with enormous logs during the cold winter nights and during the hot summer season, the hearth is decorated with a display of local flowers.

With excellent service, mouth-watering food and a warm, friendly, relaxing atmosphere, the Inn is great as a base from which to discover the delights of the Cotswolds and surrounding areas. Why not come and enjoy a few refreshing drinks, some light lunch or the beautiful views of the surrounding countryside, whilst relaxing in the summer sunshine on our seated patio.

The food offering, prepared by Head Chef David Morgan, concentrating on locally sourced, seasonal produce, from local farmers and producers, is recommended by The Gourmet Society. For a list of our local suppliers, please take a look at our Links Page where we will highlight these great, local suppliers.

As well as the superb food offering, The Bird In Hand boasts 16 letting bedrooms, all furnished to the highest standards. These rooms include 2 family rooms and two rooms with full disabled access. The accommodation is set in its own quadrangle, away from the hustle and bustle of the bar and restaurant areas, allowing for a tranquil night's sleep whenever you should wish to retire. These AA**** rated rooms offer an excellent base to explore the beauty of the Cotswolds, or a great place for a business meeting, making use of one of our fully equipped meeting rooms.
Picture of Bird in Hand, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

meeting family for diamond wedding celebration
first class

Reviewed by
michael s

From Chulmleigh, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing value for money, very welcoming and friendly , especially as I was travelling alone,
Fantastic pub, exceptional accommodation, the staff were very friendly and helpful, even writing directions down for me to avoid heavy traffic.
I had the best steak pie ever !! And I like steak pies, so I've had a few. Breakfast too was amazing, and set me up for the day, great quality ..
I loved the bottled water in the room, I thought that was a lovely touch.
If I had to make a criticism , and it's me being "picky" I didn't like the toiletries, by the time I'd opened the sachet, I'd managed to spill most of the shower gel, and I'm not a fan of bars of soap.
All in all I would definitely return if I'm in the area again, and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Sue S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation and breakfast
Restfull accommodation wonderful breakfast and a lovely evening meal

Reviewed by
Shirley Sutton

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend
We were all very impressed with the standards of the hotel, the food was excellent and the portions were generous. All members of staff were extremely friendly and efficient. I could not find fault at all and would definitely use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
l hutchings

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Massive Family Room
The family room was enormous. The evening meal was good and as was breakfast and the Bird In Hand was very convenient for our planned trips to Oxford and Blenheim Palace. The staff were also very friendly and attentive. I would recommend the Bird In Hand and would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Gareth Lawrence

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay, we only stopped for the one night, but thoroughly. Enjoyed our stay we had a lovely evening meal, and a even lovelier breakfast, served by really friendly staff. I loved the way the rooms open onto a courtyard and on a sunny day it would be lovely to sit outside, most enjoyable stay would definitely recommend it.

Reviewed by
A Hartley

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pet friendly hotel
We choose this accommodation as it was near to Witney where our daughter lives and took pets. We couldn't have been made more welcome and our dog was spoilt. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Beryl Burdess

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome awaits
Booked on a whim as we've not been to the area before, but so glad we picked this place.
Lovely, well appointed room, set away from the pub/restaurant in a good location away from the major roads.
Food was good and the hearty breakfast is a perfect start to the day for exploring the Cotswolds.
Where this place excels is the staff, each one of them we met were very friendly and extremely helpful, we repeatedly witnessed that nothing was too much trouble for them.
Many thanks and keep up the good work.

Reviewed by
Iain B

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find!
My husband and I stayed for just one night after a family reunion. We received a warm welcome and we were efficiently checked in and directed to our room. The accommodation is separate from the main pub/restaurant which enabled us to have a peaceful evening and a good night's sleep. The room was spotlessly clean, a comfortable bed, large ensuite, tea,coffee and biscuits and even a large bottle of still water. After being greeted and shown to a table the next morning, we enjoyed a delicious, freshly cooked breakfast. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area, I would highly recommend this establishment.

Reviewed by
Sheila M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place ... excellent food !!

Reviewed by
Darren J

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next