Reviews - Bird in Hand


Bird in Hand, White Oak Green, Witney, OX29 9XP

Price From 166.80 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • ali k

  • April 2014

Bird in Hand

We stayed here for two nights when we went to see our granddaughter it was lovely , staff were friendly ,breakfast delicious room was spotless.

Would definitely stay here again. Thank you

  • Shauna K

  • April 2014

Poor quality room for the price

Room is in dire need of updating, especially the bathroom which had sticky, warped laminate flooring, bath end falling off and a door that squeaked loudly.

Our room, (8) was large but had uncomfortable beds and in the morning noise could be heard from the walkway above. Woken at 7am by a false fire alarm (no apology from staff as we stood out in the cold...) Maybe we were unlucky, but we were very unimpressed. Breakfast was good but did not make up for the rest.

  • k kenny

  • March 2014

Business trip to witney

A very nice location and warm welcome.

The room was a very good size. The biege carpet was stained and the fan in the bathroom was very noisy . The bed was very comfortable. For the price I would have like better quality soap etc. I did not use the products. A great range of choice for breakfast too. I would consider staying again at Easter . Thankz

  • SC W

  • March 2014

Saturday night stay, with dog

The accommodation and pub both looked attractive on arrival.

Check-in was easy, at the pub bar, and it was no distance from the car to our room. The room was large, with plenty of natural light. The towels & sheets were spotless, there was plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits & bottles of water. The room was very warm but the weather was unseasonably fine & once we turned the radiator off and opened both windows for a bit, it was fine. We left our [well-behaved & well-travelled] dog in the room when we went for dinner. The pub was fairly busy but we were served drinks quickly. There was plenty of Welsh rugby memorabilia to look at but we did not feel pressured to rush our order. We were seated near a radiator & offered an alternative table at the waitress' initiative. My angels on horseback were delicious, as was my chicken saltimbocca. My boyfriend enjoyed his chili prawns & said the Cajun chicken kebabs were cooked really well.

We didn't have room for pudding but enjoyed a drink at the bar and chat with the bar staff. The bed was very comfortable & the shower very good. Plenty of towels, shower gel etc. There was no noise from surrounding rooms & had I woken earlier I'd have enjoyed an early cup of tea in the garden. Breakfast... Huge. We ate the lot without regret.

Thank you Bird in Hand, we had an enjoyable, great value stay.

  • michael s

  • March 2014

meeting family for diamond wedding celebration

first class

  • Sue S

  • March 2014

Amazing value for money, very welcoming and friendly , especially as I was travelling alone,

Fantastic pub, exceptional accommodation, the staff were very friendly and helpful, even writing directions down for me to avoid heavy traffic.

I had the best steak pie ever !. And I like steak pies, so I've had a few. Breakfast too was amazing, and set me up for the day, great quality .. I loved the bottled water in the room, I thought that was a lovely touch. If I had to make a criticism , and it's me being "picky" I didn't like the toiletries, by the time I'd opened the sachet, I'd managed to spill most of the shower gel, and I'm not a fan of bars of soap. All in all I would definitely return if I'm in the area again, and would recommend to anyone.

  • Shirley Sutton

  • February 2014

Excellent accommodation and breakfast

Restfull accommodation wonderful breakfast and a lovely evening meal

  • l hutchings

  • February 2014

Great weekend

We were all very impressed with the standards of the hotel, the food was excellent and the portions were generous.

All members of staff were extremely friendly and efficient. I could not find fault at all and would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Beryl Burdess

  • February 2014

Pet friendly hotel

We choose this accommodation as it was near to Witney where our daughter lives and took pets.

We couldn't have been made more welcome and our dog was spoilt. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Gareth Lawrence

  • February 2014

Massive Family Room

The family room was enormous.

The evening meal was good and as was breakfast and the Bird In Hand was very convenient for our planned trips to Oxford and Blenheim Palace. The staff were also very friendly and attentive. I would recommend the Bird In Hand and would stay here again.