No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Regency Bristol

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
40 - 44 St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LR
Located on St. Pauls Road, Clifton, Bristol, The Regency Bristol Hotel truly lives up to its name. Dating from Victorian times, our newly-refurbished hotel blends classic period charm with the very best in contemporary comforts.

Whether you are staying on business or taking a well-earned break, your comfort and well being is paramount to us. Our friendly, professional and dedicated team are committed to making your stay with us a memorable one.

The Regency Bristol provides 30 guest rooms and suites of various sizes, all of which have been newly-refurbished to the highest standards (including free WiFi) to ensure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable.

During your stay, you can unwind in the Shisha Bar, with its beautiful-heated canopies and outdoor terraces. The hotel serves continental breakfast at an additional charge and this can can be booked through reception upon arrival.

The Hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of the City's main attractions. These include The Cabot Circus Shopping Centre, the theatre district and the famous Bristol Harbourside, as well as many other Events and Attractions.

Due to the Hotel's Grade II listed status and layout there are no lift facilities; however our concierge service is there to help make your stay easy and hassle free.

Picture of The Regency Bristol, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
Super friendly staff. Very helpful and welcoming.
Sweet hotel with an awesome bar! Will definately be back!

Reviewed by
K Christmas

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Both the room and breakfast are vastly overpriced and the room was far too hot for comfort. There is no air conditioning and i had to open the door to let the heat out. Shower was very small also
The staff were very welcoming and efficient and the location is good

Reviewed by
ian s

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If the Marie Celeste were a hotel...
Upon arrival, there was nobody at all in reception. Nor was there for the next 5 minutes. I had to wander around the building calling out 'hello?' to try and get somebody's attention as I was trying to check in. Eventually, someone sauntered out of an adjoining staff room but didn't even bother to apologise for keeping me waiting. This same staff member later in my stay had to give me some shampoo and shower gel as the cleaner had forgotten to replenish the room's supply, but given that he'd carefully rooted through a box of sachets, one of those he gave me was covered in old shampoo and really grimy.
The walls appear to be quite thin as I could hear one guest snoring in the next room one night, and lots of people slamming doors. My room itself was fine (albeit there was the one broken hinge on the wardrobe, the one missing window handle and the time I had to get someone to hit the door to let me in the room as it had jammed).
If you're looking for a cheapish simple place to stay in Bristol where you won't be disturbed, the rooms are clean and tidy, and the (majority of) staff are polite and helpful, go for it. It's quite close to the centre and easily walkable in 15 mins.

Reviewed by
D Howard

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay & Very Helpful Staff
A small and comfortable hotel, with easy access to City Centre. It was my first trip to Bristol, and found the information given by the young man at reception, most helpful. The hotel parking is very limited, but there is plenty of free parking on streets nearby.

Reviewed by
Sue R

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy doors
The hotel is in a very good central location, easy to walk to Clifton Village and centre of City. Although we would stay again because of this, we would bring earplugs because the entrances to all the rooms were off small hallways and very close to each other, the constant banging of the doors from other guests was very intrusive. The doors definitely need silencers fitted as we were woken from 6.00am onwards so loudly that it made us jump! We did not eat at the hotel as it was very conveniently located near many coffee shops and cafes.

Reviewed by
D Jack

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ver good

Reviewed by
Vicky L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very hot room
sadly the room was very hot, it was very hot weather and we arrived late and I must be honest I didn't ask for a fan

Reviewed by
CHLOE H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, but room & breakfast was overpriced.
Bed was up to scratch. En suite was compact, but good. Nothing outstanding. Guess one of the most exceptional perks was the contactless card key.
Overall, the room was at a standard that you'd get for ~£30pp/night mark elsewhere, which would generally include a cooked breakfast. We made the mistake of choosing to pay an extra £8/9pp for breakfast, which we were surprised to read on the receipt was continental. Ever optimistic, we held out hope for an impressive spread the following morning & were disappointed. There was nothing wrong with the food, but it was basic & certainly a rip-off at that price. Wished we'd gone out for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Llŷr Davies

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Bristol
We stayed two nights in the King Room. The room was spacious, clean, and there was lots of light. The hotel does not have a lift, but there aren't too many flights of stairs for this to be a problem and our room was on the ground floor so it didn't affect us.
The receptionists were lovely, very polite and helpful.
The hotel is conveniently located, easy walking distance to the village and Park Street.
I enjoyed staying here and would happily return.

Reviewed by
Sacha T

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic hotel

Reviewed by
p smith

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next