No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Regency Bristol

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
40 - 44 St Pauls Road Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LR
Located on St. Pauls Road, Clifton, Bristol, The Regency Bristol Hotel truly lives up to its name. Dating from Victorian times, our newly-refurbished hotel blends classic period charm with the very best in contemporary comforts.

Whether you are staying on business or taking a well-earned break, your comfort and well being is paramount to us. Our friendly, professional and dedicated team are committed to making your stay with us a memorable one.

The Regency Bristol provides 30 guest rooms and suites of various sizes, all of which have been newly-refurbished to the highest standards (including free WiFi) to ensure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable.

During your stay, you can unwind in the Shisha Bar, with its beautiful-heated canopies and outdoor terraces. The hotel serves continental breakfast at an additional charge and this can can be booked through reception upon arrival.

The Hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of the City's main attractions. These include The Cabot Circus Shopping Centre, the theatre district and the famous Bristol Harbourside, as well as many other Events and Attractions.

Due to the Hotel's Grade II listed status and layout there are no lift facilities; however our concierge service is there to help make your stay easy and hassle free.

Picture of The Regency Bristol, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fading Regency Splendor
With friendly courteous staff and a a well lit, clean reception the Regency held a lot of promise for this ~£100 room a couple of miles from the city center. After checking in however we found that our rooms were on the second floor with no lifts. Further to this the room, whilst spacious was neither in fully working order nor completely clean. With a bedside lamp that didn't work and an old wooden bureau with stark mug marks, some flaking paint on the ceiling and a window which was less than easy to open it was not what we'd wanted from the climb.
Whilst the room itself was spacious with a large, comfortable bed, the bathroom was anything but; being cramped and with the towel heater so close to the toilet my partner ended up scolding herself on it. Nice, with helpful staff but for the downsides, not worth the price.

Reviewed by
A Head

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
Super friendly staff. Very helpful and welcoming.
Sweet hotel with an awesome bar! Will definately be back!

Reviewed by
K Christmas

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Both the room and breakfast are vastly overpriced and the room was far too hot for comfort. There is no air conditioning and i had to open the door to let the heat out. Shower was very small also
The staff were very welcoming and efficient and the location is good

Reviewed by
ian s

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
Perfect room, perfect location for Clifton

Reviewed by
F Hussain

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
I needed a place to stay last minute. Yia was the ideal hotel at an affordable price

Reviewed by
F Hussain

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If the Marie Celeste were a hotel...
Upon arrival, there was nobody at all in reception. Nor was there for the next 5 minutes. I had to wander around the building calling out 'hello?' to try and get somebody's attention as I was trying to check in. Eventually, someone sauntered out of an adjoining staff room but didn't even bother to apologise for keeping me waiting. This same staff member later in my stay had to give me some shampoo and shower gel as the cleaner had forgotten to replenish the room's supply, but given that he'd carefully rooted through a box of sachets, one of those he gave me was covered in old shampoo and really grimy.
The walls appear to be quite thin as I could hear one guest snoring in the next room one night, and lots of people slamming doors. My room itself was fine (albeit there was the one broken hinge on the wardrobe, the one missing window handle and the time I had to get someone to hit the door to let me in the room as it had jammed).
If you're looking for a cheapish simple place to stay in Bristol where you won't be disturbed, the rooms are clean and tidy, and the (majority of) staff are polite and helpful, go for it. It's quite close to the centre and easily walkable in 15 mins.

Reviewed by
D Howard

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay & Very Helpful Staff
A small and comfortable hotel, with easy access to City Centre. It was my first trip to Bristol, and found the information given by the young man at reception, most helpful. The hotel parking is very limited, but there is plenty of free parking on streets nearby.

Reviewed by
Sue R

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy doors
The hotel is in a very good central location, easy to walk to Clifton Village and centre of City. Although we would stay again because of this, we would bring earplugs because the entrances to all the rooms were off small hallways and very close to each other, the constant banging of the doors from other guests was very intrusive. The doors definitely need silencers fitted as we were woken from 6.00am onwards so loudly that it made us jump! We did not eat at the hotel as it was very conveniently located near many coffee shops and cafes.

Reviewed by
D Jack

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ver good

Reviewed by
Vicky L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very hot room
sadly the room was very hot, it was very hot weather and we arrived late and I must be honest I didn't ask for a fan

Reviewed by
CHLOE H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next