No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fat Pigeon

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Fat Pigeon, Old Road, Odcombe, Yeovil, BA22 8TD
The Fat Pigeon - a traditional yet stylish B&B located in the heart of the West Country. We are 10 minutes away from the county town of Yeovil and just over 2 hours from London by train (Waterloo to Yeovil Junction) or by road using the nearby A303. The Fat Pigeon offers all of the comforts of home but at reasonable prices. We have a lovely sitting room for guests to relax in, beautifully designed bedrooms, most of which are en-suite (with full Wifi access in the public areas and a TV/DVD in every room) and a large garden. Breakfast is available from 7am until 9am An early bird buffet style breakfast is available from 7am and consists of help yourself tea/coffee, juice, yoghurts, cereals, fruit, toast and preserves, muffins From 8am a cooked breakfast is available for an additional charge Please note that if you are staying at the Fat Pigeon as a wedding guest at Brympton house the cooked option is not available to you unless the wedding couple have requested it as breakfast is taken in the main house Check in is strictly from 4pm until 8pm. As we are a working farm it is not possible to check guests in after 8pm.
Picture of Fat Pigeon, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returning guest
Having stayed at the Fat Pigeon at least twice a month for the past three months, I have no desire to look elsewhere in the Yeovil area. Everything you need with a self service buffet breakfast for the early risers. All you would expect in a grand old house and many features you just have to Marvell at (the stone spiral staircase is one).
The only negative coment I can make is that the distance and angle between bed and television, in some rooms is not great.

Reviewed by
Rob W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stumbled across this jewel B&B and was truly amazed. Friendly greetings coupled with the rustic but historic and charming building meant I had a trouble free stay. The attention to detail by the staff delivers true value for money.
This is a must visit place which I wholeheartedly recommend to all.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great house , Great Stay!
The rooms were amazing, spacious and spotless. The welcome was warm but not overdone and the place is fabulous. Only wish I could have stayed there longer.
Really convenient for Yeovil, yet quiet and relaxing. Couldn't fault it.

Reviewed by
Liz W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fat Pigeon
Great hotel very comfortable lovely people.

Reviewed by
Phil Stringer

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet Retreat
This beautiful old house on the outskirts of Yeovil provided a quite secluded stay for us.
We had a good sized room and a very traditional bathroom. This is somewhere I would stay again and the chap who runs it made us feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
S Harrison

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well-presented B&B in peaceful & beautiful countryside near Yeovil
Very comfortable stay with a wonderful cooked breakfast. Good value, highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Quan C

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful and historic place to stay in
If you love old fashioned historical buildings with oodles of character then this is the perfect place. Added to that the friendliest hosts I have ever encountered I have stayed there twice in the last three weeks and plan on returning again very soon.

Reviewed by
Patrick Mahony

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to fantastic setting
we booked this at the last minute great value for money fantastic room, lady mary very helpful great breakfast included. Good pubs and shops nearby

Reviewed by
Janet Ward

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fat delight
Wonderful location, fantastic place for a short break.

Reviewed by
Sheila Harris

From Cuckfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Something Different
Charming place and charming people. Where else can you stay in such historic surroundings? We will book again for our future visits to see family in Yeovil.

Reviewed by
Robin K

From Chesham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next