No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fat Pigeon

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Fat Pigeon, Old Road, Odcombe, Yeovil, BA22 8TD
The Fat Pigeon - a traditional yet stylish B&B located in the heart of the West Country. We are 10 minutes away from the county town of Yeovil and just over 2 hours from London by train (Waterloo to Yeovil Junction) or by road using the nearby A303. The Fat Pigeon offers all of the comforts of home but at reasonable prices. We have a lovely sitting room for guests to relax in, beautifully designed bedrooms, most of which are en-suite (with full Wifi access in the public areas and a TV/DVD in every room) and a large garden. Breakfast is available from 7am until 9am An early bird buffet style breakfast is available from 7am and consists of help yourself tea/coffee, juice, yoghurts, cereals, fruit, toast and preserves, muffins From 8am a cooked breakfast is available for an additional charge Please note that if you are staying at the Fat Pigeon as a wedding guest at Brympton house the cooked option is not available to you unless the wedding couple have requested it as breakfast is taken in the main house Check in is strictly from 4pm until 8pm. As we are a working farm it is not possible to check guests in after 8pm.
Picture of Fat Pigeon, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

late visit
Lovely staff, arrived late and left early so didn't really get a chance to explore but set in beautiful grounds and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Brad Fitt

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is an amazing place. Historic and fascinating .
Lovely room up in the attic. Scrupulously clean as was the bed linen. en suite . would loved to have stayed longer but couldn't.
Grounds are lovely too.
Somersets best kept secret !

Reviewed by
Cathy C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old but charming
beautiful old building tucked away. Rooms excellent value for money and clearly work is being done to update some of the house and rooms.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returning guest
Having stayed at the Fat Pigeon at least twice a month for the past three months, I have no desire to look elsewhere in the Yeovil area. Everything you need with a self service buffet breakfast for the early risers. All you would expect in a grand old house and many features you just have to Marvell at (the stone spiral staircase is one).
The only negative coment I can make is that the distance and angle between bed and television, in some rooms is not great.

Reviewed by
Rob W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fat Pigeon
Excellent stay. Lovely room with plenty of atmosphere. Very welcoming by hostess Lady Mary.

Reviewed by
Amanda Hughes

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stumbled across this jewel B&B and was truly amazed. Friendly greetings coupled with the rustic but historic and charming building meant I had a trouble free stay. The attention to detail by the staff delivers true value for money.
This is a must visit place which I wholeheartedly recommend to all.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and clean rooms with hearty breakfast
Nice people, nice place and nice stay, will use again

Reviewed by
Andy J

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great house , Great Stay!
The rooms were amazing, spacious and spotless. The welcome was warm but not overdone and the place is fabulous. Only wish I could have stayed there longer.
Really convenient for Yeovil, yet quiet and relaxing. Couldn't fault it.

Reviewed by
Liz W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fat Pigeon
Great hotel very comfortable lovely people.

Reviewed by
Phil Stringer

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet Retreat
This beautiful old house on the outskirts of Yeovil provided a quite secluded stay for us.
We had a good sized room and a very traditional bathroom. This is somewhere I would stay again and the chap who runs it made us feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
S Harrison

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next