No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fat Pigeon

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Fat Pigeon, Old Road, Odcombe, Yeovil, BA22 8TD
The Fat Pigeon - a traditional yet stylish B&B located in the heart of the West Country. We are 10 minutes away from the county town of Yeovil and just over 2 hours from London by train (Waterloo to Yeovil Junction) or by road using the nearby A303. The Fat Pigeon offers all of the comforts of home but at reasonable prices. We have a lovely sitting room for guests to relax in, beautifully designed bedrooms, most of which are en-suite (with full Wifi access in the public areas and a TV/DVD in every room) and a large garden. Breakfast is available from 7am until 9am An early bird buffet style breakfast is available from 7am and consists of help yourself tea/coffee, juice, yoghurts, cereals, fruit, toast and preserves, muffins From 8am a cooked breakfast is available for an additional charge Please note that if you are staying at the Fat Pigeon as a wedding guest at Brympton house the cooked option is not available to you unless the wedding couple have requested it as breakfast is taken in the main house Check in is strictly from 4pm until 8pm. As we are a working farm it is not possible to check guests in after 8pm.
Picture of Fat Pigeon, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well-presented B&B in peaceful & beautiful countryside near Yeovil
Very comfortable stay with a wonderful cooked breakfast. Good value, highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Quan C

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful and historic place to stay in
If you love old fashioned historical buildings with oodles of character then this is the perfect place. Added to that the friendliest hosts I have ever encountered I have stayed there twice in the last three weeks and plan on returning again very soon.

Reviewed by
Patrick Mahony

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to fantastic setting
we booked this at the last minute great value for money fantastic room, lady mary very helpful great breakfast included. Good pubs and shops nearby

Reviewed by
Janet Ward

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fat delight
Wonderful location, fantastic place for a short break.

Reviewed by
Sheila Harris

From Cuckfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Something Different
Charming place and charming people. Where else can you stay in such historic surroundings? We will book again for our future visits to see family in Yeovil.

Reviewed by
Robin K

From Chesham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find!!
Sometimes you accidentally come upon something very special and finding the Fat Pigeon last week is a very good example! I needed a one night stay in the Yeovil area and after searching the usual sites, I booked my stay at the Fat Pigeon, where your hostess Lady Mary has created a unique and special small hotel. The setting is just stunning, the grounds are those of a country house and the house is amazing. After a warm welcome which did away with all the usual forms and paperwork, I was taken to my very comfortable room. Spacious, relaxing and with its en-suite bathroom with deep roll edge bath. Free WiFi in my room and in the public areas is a bonus. Breakfast was served in a small, relaxed dining room with a calm atmosphere and lovely fresh produce including the best bacon I have tasted in years, sourced from the local butcher. Lady Mary quietly looked after all her guests with good food and personal service. After breakfast I walked around the gardens and grounds before settling down in the lounge to prepare for my meeting. I left a little later refreshed and realising I had found somewhere very special and a hotel I will return to again. What a find!

Reviewed by
Sam Weller

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fat pigeon
a lovely friendly hotel set in beautiful surroundings,will definitely return

Reviewed by
andrew gaffney

From cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful
We booked here last minute as we had a wedding in the area, only to find the wedding was at the same venue. There's is a strict check in policy however don't be put off as a quick phone call and all was sorted.
The Fat Pigeon and it's adjoining Brympton House are stunning old buildings and the gardens are beautiful. Our room was huge with a great view of the gardens, a lovely on suite bathroom and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Free WiFi and TVs in all the rooms are just an added bonus.
Waking up to nothing but the sounds of birds was amazing followed by a lovely breakfast cooked by The Lady of the house.
A chance to see the whole estate for the wedding only confirmed that we will be back to stay again when we need a quiet and relaxing break in beautiful surroundings

Reviewed by
S Carr

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Medieval house that makes a lovely B & B
If you want somewhere with a bit of character then this is a good nights accommodation. Very comfortable and a good breakfast to start the day with. The medieval style of building is very easy on the eye and the fat pigeon nestles comfortably in to beautiful grounds.

Reviewed by
H Holmes

From Cottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay

Reviewed by
k french

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next