No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fat Pigeon

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Fat Pigeon, Old Road, Odcombe, Yeovil, BA22 8TD
The Fat Pigeon - a traditional yet stylish B&B located in the heart of the West Country. We are 10 minutes away from the county town of Yeovil and just over 2 hours from London by train (Waterloo to Yeovil Junction) or by road using the nearby A303. The Fat Pigeon offers all of the comforts of home but at reasonable prices. We have a lovely sitting room for guests to relax in, beautifully designed bedrooms, most of which are en-suite (with full Wifi access in the public areas and a TV/DVD in every room) and a large garden. Breakfast is available from 7am until 9am An early bird buffet style breakfast is available from 7am and consists of help yourself tea/coffee, juice, yoghurts, cereals, fruit, toast and preserves, muffins From 8am a cooked breakfast is available for an additional charge Please note that if you are staying at the Fat Pigeon as a wedding guest at Brympton house the cooked option is not available to you unless the wedding couple have requested it as breakfast is taken in the main house Check in is strictly from 4pm until 8pm. As we are a working farm it is not possible to check guests in after 8pm.
Picture of Fat Pigeon, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trying out an amazing old historic house under renovation - but it's not all ready yet.
It's an active farm so there was no-one in reception to welcome guests except between 4 - 8 pm. They need more staff to service 19 rooms. A map of the location of rooms and names on doors would help, as outside hours there is only a mobile no. Older guests should avoid too many stairs. Parking was rather limited for guests' cars. Some repairs were needed in the bedroom. Bed was smart, clean and comfy, with good TV but the bathroom was disappointingly basic.. Breakfast room was crowded but the cooked breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Christine E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A totally different experience
The Fat Pigeon was an absolute pleasure to stay at & a very personal touch, set In fantastic surroundings, will be returning for definite. Part of the brympton estate, & gardens which we walked around at the request of the lady herself.

Reviewed by
S Macoy

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd visit to this quirky gem
Great value yet again with breakfast cooked by the lady of the large stately home next door. A unique experience that the French and Dutch people in there were lapping up.
Give this one a try if you are in the area. Not the ordinary, a unique experience!
Walk the grounds to discover ducklings, a medieval chapel and orchard.

Reviewed by
T Smith

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a great place to stay!
What a great place to stay! Totally different to anywhere we have stayed before, Premier Inn and Travelodge it definitely is not! We stayed in the main house, which is very old but beautiful. The only, small, problems were the stairs (over 50 of them) and no bath. This was only because we had our 7 month old baby with us. The B+B would have been easier to find if we had known that the sign post on the road is for Brympton House! The staff were very friendly and helpful, with the lady of the house serving breakfast! Breakfast was very enjoyable and more than adequate.

Reviewed by
jill c

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful wonderful
we were made so welcome at this B&B in a truely stunning setting and building. The lady owner of the estate was warm and friendly and took us around the grounds. It was like staying at a stately home but without the pretension. Plus they have the largest chicken you will ever see.

Reviewed by
viv gaskin

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely amazing place. Stunning. Very good value for money. Would go back in a heartbeat
The room was slightly less clean than I would have liked - cups dirty, marks on the wall and dirty bath. But given the surroundings/ rooms/ value for money not really a big deal.

Reviewed by
R Dickson

From West Wickham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay!
A bit tricky to find, but an absolute gem. Beautiful grounds and very comfortable furnishings. A lovely place.

Reviewed by
Claire P

From Castelldefels, Spain
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fascinating very English eccentric B&B
Having read a few comments about this place I was intrigued to book in. It's great value, something very different staying in the annexe farm of effectively a stately home.
If you like the different and slightly quirky you will love this, I did.
Breakfast not full English, but good cereals and fruit, hits the spot for me for the price. Masons Arms only a short 20 min walk away, added bonus.
Book in and give it a try! It's a little gem

Reviewed by
T Smith

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
My stay at The Fat Pigeon was as good as the last couple of times that I have stayed there. The room had a lovely view of the lake and gardens which looked lovely in the sunshine. My visit was made more interesting as Michelle, the housekeeper, a very pleasant lady informed me that the House that the B&B was joined to had started doing conducted tours on Tuesday afternoons. I arrived for the 4pm tour unfortunately in drizzly weather but the sight of the house was breath taking. The tour could have been more polished but the house was interesting.
Back to the B&B, I thoroughly enjoy staying there and am sure if people like the countryside and a building with history they could only enjoy their stay there. My only sad point is that they are opening up another kitchen to provide cooked breakfasts. This might mean a plus for many guests but as the price is going up and I don't eat cooked breakfasts I'm disappointed. However, that won't stop me from staying there again

Reviewed by
V Aldridge

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Find
A Sat Nav proved invaluable in locating The Fat Pigeon - we arrived in pouring rain and were made welcome once we had alerted staff of our arrival by phone ' as per written instruction'
Very comfy rooms in this most perfect of places. Waking in the morning to sunshine made it hard to leave. Breakfast was simple & basic but perfectly adequate.
The owners state clearly that they are not a hotel - this should be observed in order to enjoy a stay.
We would love to return.
Thank you Fat Pigeon for a stay with a difference. Dorothy and Sarah x

Reviewed by
Dorothy B

From Hope Valley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next