No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fat Pigeon

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Fat Pigeon, Old Road, Odcombe, Yeovil, BA22 8TD
The Fat Pigeon - a traditional yet stylish B&B located in the heart of the West Country. We are 10 minutes away from the county town of Yeovil and just over 2 hours from London by train (Waterloo to Yeovil Junction) or by road using the nearby A303. The Fat Pigeon offers all of the comforts of home but at reasonable prices. We have a lovely sitting room for guests to relax in, beautifully designed bedrooms, most of which are en-suite (with full Wifi access in the public areas and a TV/DVD in every room) and a large garden. Breakfast is available from 7am until 9am An early bird buffet style breakfast is available from 7am and consists of help yourself tea/coffee, juice, yoghurts, cereals, fruit, toast and preserves, muffins From 8am a cooked breakfast is available for an additional charge Please note that if you are staying at the Fat Pigeon as a wedding guest at Brympton house the cooked option is not available to you unless the wedding couple have requested it as breakfast is taken in the main house Check in is strictly from 4pm until 8pm. As we are a working farm it is not possible to check guests in after 8pm.
Picture of Fat Pigeon, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fascinating very English eccentric B&B
Having read a few comments about this place I was intrigued to book in. It's great value, something very different staying in the annexe farm of effectively a stately home.
If you like the different and slightly quirky you will love this, I did.
Breakfast not full English, but good cereals and fruit, hits the spot for me for the price. Masons Arms only a short 20 min walk away, added bonus.
Book in and give it a try! It's a little gem

Reviewed by
T Smith

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
My stay at The Fat Pigeon was as good as the last couple of times that I have stayed there. The room had a lovely view of the lake and gardens which looked lovely in the sunshine. My visit was made more interesting as Michelle, the housekeeper, a very pleasant lady informed me that the House that the B&B was joined to had started doing conducted tours on Tuesday afternoons. I arrived for the 4pm tour unfortunately in drizzly weather but the sight of the house was breath taking. The tour could have been more polished but the house was interesting.
Back to the B&B, I thoroughly enjoy staying there and am sure if people like the countryside and a building with history they could only enjoy their stay there. My only sad point is that they are opening up another kitchen to provide cooked breakfasts. This might mean a plus for many guests but as the price is going up and I don't eat cooked breakfasts I'm disappointed. However, that won't stop me from staying there again

Reviewed by
V Aldridge

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Find
A Sat Nav proved invaluable in locating The Fat Pigeon - we arrived in pouring rain and were made welcome once we had alerted staff of our arrival by phone ' as per written instruction'
Very comfy rooms in this most perfect of places. Waking in the morning to sunshine made it hard to leave. Breakfast was simple & basic but perfectly adequate.
The owners state clearly that they are not a hotel - this should be observed in order to enjoy a stay.
We would love to return.
Thank you Fat Pigeon for a stay with a difference. Dorothy and Sarah x

Reviewed by
Dorothy B

From Hope Valley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful location
We wanted a B and B that was convenient for the wealth of National Trust properties on the area. The Fat Pigeon's location is excellent. Adjacent to a stunning manor house used for weddings, the house itself is very old and full of atmosphere and also there is an excellent pub in the village a short drive away. Initially we were given a very small room with a door knob that kept falling off and a TV which only worked erratically. It was not like the room in on the website! Neither was there a communal lounge. There is no reception as such - you have to phone for the housekeeper, but we were moved to a much better room.. Breakfast is self service. Overall we enjoyed our stay in this lovely corner of Somerset.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky,great place to stay
Difficult to find as not signposted at the end of the long drive. Great setting,wonderful views.Room was basic but clean.Staff very friendly.Will stay here again,liked the informality and relaxed atmosphere.Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Sheila D

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tranquility in Somerset
This guest house may be the best kept secret in Somerset. I stayed a few days and then block booked several weeks. I think that sums up my satisfaction with The Fat Pigeon.

Reviewed by
Andrew D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
This was my second stay at the Fat Pigeon and it was as good as the first. The weather was against thee stay as there was a howling wind and rain even thought it was May! This meant that the really old windows which were facing the wind did let a draft in. The house couldn't possibly have double glazing and it was just bad luck weather-wise. I understand that there is a new kitchen being built for cooked breakfast which I'm not particularly worried about but will definitely stay there on my next trip own to Dorset.

Reviewed by
Vanessa A

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night only
very happy. generally what we were looking for. simple room, no fuss and simple food
pleasant outlook and quiet environment

Reviewed by
john young

From Y Barri, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room in old interesting house in rural setting. Amazing views. Very peaceful.

Reviewed by
jennifer k

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply, couldn't be better.
I chose the Fat Pigeon for a night in Yeovil just because the photograph looked interesting - it turned out to be the most exceptional and beautiful farmhouse that could be imagined. Set in rolling scenery, approached down a long drive within a private walled garden with a lake! A very friendly reception. The accommodation is in a many centuries old house of wonderful architectural quality. The oak staircase rising to a broad gallery with flowering plants on the window ledges of the, three foot thick walls - the bedroom, elegant and comfortable and with a deep bath - everything was right.
Breakfast was diy as I had to be up early, excellent and plentiful and all spotless.
Since returning home, I haven't stopped talking about my visit.

Reviewed by
Peter Venner

From Ryde, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next