No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship Inn

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
School Road, Blaxhall, Woodbridge, IP12 2DY
The Ship Inn is a traditional country pub with detached chalet accommodation in the peaceful village of Blaxhall, just 2 miles from Snape and 6 miles from the Suffolk heritage coast at Aldeburgh. We offer a real taste of the country with fine home-made food and Real Ales served in our two interconnecting dining areas. Our eight chalets all offer high quality, en-suite accommodation with a real English breakfast included in the price.
Picture of The Ship Inn, Woodbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night at the Ship Inn
Lovely place friendly people

Reviewed by
John Browne

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location for our purposes. Room fine but shower needs a good clean to shift mould at the bottom of the tray.

Reviewed by
Alan Thomas

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good if you like dogs
The dogs having free reign while having breakfast wasn't the best . I'm not comfortable around dogs especially large dogs

Reviewed by
Denise C

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay.
Accommodation is in chalets next to the pub. Reminded me a little of what Butlins must have been like in the 1960's. However the room with the beds in was clean and we did sleep exceptionally well due to very comfortable beds. The chalet we stayed in would benefit from a bit of an update in the " kitchen " and bath room, but facilities were adequate. The hosts were very easy going and very friendly and we were made to feel at home and welcome. The pub is very old and characterful , which we like. Food was ok . A little pricey compared to some of the other places we stayed in on this short holiday.

Reviewed by
Joan B

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Very pleasant hosts, who volunteered the information that they are planning a refurbishment of their accommodation, otherwise we might have been a bit more critical. The accommodation is in need of freshening-up.
Notwithstanding, we felt a little over-priced. Those are the negatives and were outweighed by the friendliness of locals and hosts alike. Breakfasts were lovely. Can't comment on other mealtimes as we tended to eat out. Not by design I hasten to add. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Kevin O

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real find!
Landlord/lady very friendly + nothing was too much trouble. V nice location near Snape/ Aldeburgh- much better value than a seaside place. Micky's music night recommended. Big+ comfortable double bed. Excellent maid service.

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at the Ship Inn, and for the positive feedback. We take customer reviews very seriously and share all comments, positive or otherwise with the staff to ensure that we are all kept 'on our toes' aand learn from our mistakes. Siggi and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Adrian.

Reviewed by
C Stanley

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant break
very good welcome. service mostly good.
too many dogs in eating area.

Reviewed by
steven c

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice Stay
The Ship Inn is set in a nice and peaceful location. We stayed in room 7 (disabled accommodation). The room was fine, the only thing I would recommend is that the garden chair should be replaced and that there were two chairs rather than one.
The menu was limited, but the quality was first class ( we had fish and steak).

ManagementResponse

Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment on your stay at The Ship Inn. We place great importance on customer feedback and always share the content of each review with our staff. This helps to measure our performance and improve where we fall short of our guest expectations. Thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated. The garden chairs are a source of some amusement as they keep 'migrating' from the pub garden to the chalets. Obviously there is a need for seating outside the guest accomodation and I will be putting forward a proposal to the MD this week. Kind regards, Adrian.

Reviewed by
RAY DANIEL

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You pay for what you get!
greeted by bank holiday morris dancing troop. Check in was a bit confusing as the pub was really busy with locals and Morris men. Shown to room by landlord Adrian. Room had a shabby appearance, broken blind slats and large hole in wall covered with wardrobe. Furniture old, beds poor quality. Shower adequate, but could be dangerous if control nudged to hot as water is extremely hot. Linen was clean and beds neatly made. Bedroom and bathroom very clean. Had meal in pub / restaurant. Meal arrived within 5 minutes of ordering pre-cooked obvioiusly microwaved as very hot and pie pastry was rubbery. Only ate there the the once.
Breakfast (full english or variation on) adequate.
Landlord freindly and sympathetic to last minute change of room booking.
Characterful, quiet country pub. chalet accomodation needing a bit more atttention. Otherwise o.k.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at the Ship Inn. I feel your comments are particularly harsh and mean spirited given the kindness and compassion we showed you on arrival. Having booked two rooms for two nights, you arrived saying your mother had been taken ill and you would only need the one room. As you gave us no notice of the cancellation, we had every right to charge you the full price for the room that you no longer needed. However, I cancelled the room without penalty and offset the deposit you had already paid against the balance remaining on the room in which you stayed. I feel this is more than just sympathetic, and is how I would like to be treated in a family crisis. I will respond to your comments in the order you have made them....We accept the rooms need re-decorating and the furniture old, we have plans to refurbish the chalets in the Autumn. This is taken into account in the room rate which you have marked as good value. I apologised for the blind being broken when I showed you the room, I explained that we had not been able to get a replacement blind over the bank holiday weekend as we were very busy. However the blind was replaced on Wednesday morning, soon after you left. Had you looked properly, you would have seen that the ‘hole in the wall’ behind the wardrobe is in fact a service doorway into the electric plant cupboard where the boiler timer, heating controls, hot water tank & consumer unit are located. All our showers meet the current legal standard and have child safety locks on them that have to be physically depressed to move the controls to the hottest setting, so under normal conditions it should be virtually impossible to nudge the control to the hottest setting. Nearly all our food is home made using fresh locally sourced ingredients. We cook ahead in small batches and finish the dishes at time of order, which is common practice. I am sorry that the pastry on your pie was ‘rubbery’, you did not mention this when the staff checked if all was well with your meal, otherwise a replacement dish or refund would have been given. You also did not mention any of your concerns at check out when you were again asked if everything was satisfactory with your stay. Breakfast consists of unlimited fruit juice, tea, or freshly brewed artisan coffee, a choice of cereals, fruit or porridge, followed by locally reared bacon, hand made sausage, free range egg, mushroom, hash brown, tomato and baked beans. Followed by unlimited toast, butter and preserves – I am not sure what else we could provide to move ahead of your ‘adequate’ score – particularly as it was included in the price of your room! Finally, on a more positive note I am delighted that you found the accommodation clean, this would be one of the absolute priorities for me.

Reviewed by
robert s

From Chessington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

solo travel
Very much enjoyed all aspects out in the country. Great value

ManagementResponse

Dear Anthony, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at the Ship Inn. Siggi and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Adrian.

Reviewed by
anthony w

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next