Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
87% would recommend it to a friend
lovely quiet place to stay,handy for sldeburgh,snape,thorpeness and along the coast to southwold
The Ship Blaxhall
Very helpful and friendly staff and lots going on in the area.
The accommodation was clean and comfortable and just what we wanted for a pleasant evening and good night's sleep.
The food was excellent and plentiful.
The Ship Inn
Excellent value for money, superb food, truly wonderful example of what a hostelry should be.
Good location but the room was dirty
Plus points include the location (close to Snape), a good sized room with good heating, and the fact that the rooms were separate from the pub so weren't noisy.
Also, the fish and chips at dinner were excellent. However my room was grubby. There was thick dust on the furniture and venetian blinds, the kettle was grimy, and there were cobwebs around the radiators and pipes. Breakfast on the first morning was terrible - the scrambled eggs were rubbery and grey and the bacon was stone cold (it hadn't been put under the grill to crisp up before serving). Overall not a good experience.
The Ship Inn is a little bit out of the way and you need to take care with satnav directions if your system does not take a full post code.
The accommodation was quiet, clean and tidy. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the Inn had a sort of old world charm and appeared popular with the locals. The venue is a good base for exploring Suffolk.
Comfortable accommodation in a small village.
Able to bring the dog
Good cooked breakfast
The Ship Inn
We used the accommodation for an overnight stop whilst visiting family.
We felt it was value for money and the staff with whom we came into contact were very pleasant and helpful.
The Ship Inn
The room was shabby.
Shower unit was rusty and headboard was propped up against the wall having come off the bed. The bedroom was cramped. The whole chalet seemed poorly maintained. There was a boiler that made noises throughout the night keeping us awake.
Response from hotel
Dear Mr Porter, thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, we take all customer feedback extremely seriously I am so sorry to learn that everything was not satisfactory with your stay. I am also surprised that you did not mention any of this when you checked out, indeed had you told us that you were unhappy at any time during your stay, we would have moved you to another room.
In fairness, room 4 is awaiting refurbishment, we are working through a room at a time, but your comments do seem rather harsh, particularly given the goodwill that we extended to you when you had to leave a day early for family reasons - although perfectly entitled to, we did not charge you for the night you did not stay.
I am confident that if you decide to visit again in the not too distant future, you will be impressed with the progress we have made.