You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Ship Inn


School Road, Blaxhall, Woodbridge, IP12 2DY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (23)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • david reynolds

  • August 2016

suffolk coast

lovely quiet place to stay,handy for sldeburgh,snape,thorpeness and along the coast to southwold

  • E Davies

  • July 2016

The Ship Blaxhall

Very helpful and friendly staff and lots going on in the area.

  • Alison Y

  • July 2016

Very comfortable

The accommodation was clean and comfortable and just what we wanted for a pleasant evening and good night's sleep.

The food was excellent and plentiful.

  • Derek Loan

  • July 2016

The Ship Inn

Excellent value for money, superb food, truly wonderful example of what a hostelry should be.

  • Carolyn R

  • May 2016

Good location but the room was dirty

Plus points include the location (close to Snape), a good sized room with good heating, and the fact that the rooms were separate from the pub so weren't noisy.

Also, the fish and chips at dinner were excellent. However my room was grubby. There was thick dust on the furniture and venetian blinds, the kettle was grimy, and there were cobwebs around the radiators and pipes. Breakfast on the first morning was terrible - the scrambled eggs were rubbery and grey and the bacon was stone cold (it hadn't been put under the grill to crisp up before serving). Overall not a good experience.

  • Pamela C

  • April 2016


  • Mark M

  • March 2016

Rustic Charm

The Ship Inn is a little bit out of the way and you need to take care with satnav directions if your system does not take a full post code.

The accommodation was quiet, clean and tidy. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the Inn had a sort of old world charm and appeared popular with the locals. The venue is a good base for exploring Suffolk.

  • O Beer

  • February 2016

Comfortable accommodation

Comfortable accommodation in a small village.

Able to bring the dog

Good cooked breakfast

Friendly hosts

  • c davis

  • December 2015

The Ship Inn

We used the accommodation for an overnight stop whilst visiting family.

We felt it was value for money and the staff with whom we came into contact were very pleasant and helpful.

  • M Porter

  • July 2015

The Ship Inn

The room was shabby.

Shower unit was rusty and headboard was propped up against the wall having come off the bed. The bedroom was cramped. The whole chalet seemed poorly maintained. There was a boiler that made noises throughout the night keeping us awake.

Response from hotel

Dear Mr Porter, thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, we take all customer feedback extremely seriously I am so sorry to learn that everything was not satisfactory with your stay. I am also surprised that you did not mention any of this when you checked out, indeed had you told us that you were unhappy at any time during your stay, we would have moved you to another room.

In fairness, room 4 is awaiting refurbishment, we are working through a room at a time, but your comments do seem rather harsh, particularly given the goodwill that we extended to you when you had to leave a day early for family reasons - although perfectly entitled to, we did not charge you for the night you did not stay.

I am confident that if you decide to visit again in the not too distant future, you will be impressed with the progress we have made.

Kind regards,