No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship Inn

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
School Road, Blaxhall, Woodbridge, IP12 2DY
The Ship Inn is a traditional country pub with detached chalet accommodation in the peaceful village of Blaxhall, just 2 miles from Snape and 6 miles from the Suffolk heritage coast at Aldeburgh. We offer a real taste of the country with fine home-made food and Real Ales served in our two interconnecting dining areas. Our eight chalets all offer high quality, en-suite accommodation with a real English breakfast included in the price.
Picture of The Ship Inn, Woodbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real village pub with lovely friendly people who made us very welcome. Food was briiliant and nothing was too much trouble. We'll be going back.

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for your kind comments and positive feedback, Siggi and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes, Adrian.

Reviewed by
Glynis M

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation
A comfortable stay here. I am glad to keep coming back.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are all glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again next time. Best wishes Siggi & Adrian.

Reviewed by
Jim M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great pub in a lovely part of the world
We were received with a warm welcome and a warm woodburner in a lovely country pub in some of the nicest Suffolk countryside. Our chalet was perfect for a long weekend away; clean, spacious and equipped with everything we needed. The central heating was almost instant and we were cosy for the whole time. Our hosts were charming and although we didn't take our dogs they would've been very at home there. It's a great base to explore local attractions and is central for places such as Southwold, Thorpeness, Aldeburgh, Dunwich, Snape etc etc..... Great food and regular entertainment in the pub. All good and we'll be back :-)

Reviewed by
Paul Tansley

From Holt, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made to feel very welcome
Stayed one night in chalet, which was spacious and comfortable. No teaspoon, but very quickly resolved! Evening food delicious but v large portions. Very dog- friendly which suited us as we took our dog with us, but staff made sure rest of customers were amenable before doggies allowed in.
Dog was given a sausage for breakfast...better treatment than home,he can't wait to go back!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Blaxhall Ship. Siggi and I are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and really appreciate the positive feedback. The disappearing teaspoons remain a mystery, must be the beer pixies getting over excited about Christmas! We both hope you will visit us again soon bringing Reilly along with you as well, we really enjoyed your company. Best wishes for Christmas and 2015. Kind regards, Siggi and Adrian.

Reviewed by
kate j

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

welcome
the food was very good
i was leaving early so they gave me a free pack up
you are treated as a guest
very good value for money

ManagementResponse

Hello, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Ship Inn, and for your positive comments. Siggi and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Adrian.

Reviewed by
graham c

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value village pub based accommodation
I've stayed previously at the Ship Inn and it is a home from home for me now. Rooms are en suite with a refrigerator, and wifi is now available in the rooms as well as in the main pub building. The pub itself sells excellent food (and beer!) and is run by Adrian and Siggi who always give a warm welcome. Highly recommended!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at The Ship Inn, and for your kind comments. Siggi and I are glad you have noticed the improvements that we have made since your last visit and hope you will be equally impressed when you come again in 18 months time. We have just started re-decorating the insides of the chalets, a long process which will see us through into the Spring. Look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Adrian.

Reviewed by
Alastair P

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night at the Ship Inn
Lovely place friendly people

Reviewed by
John Browne

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good if you like dogs
The dogs having free reign while having breakfast wasn't the best . I'm not comfortable around dogs especially large dogs

Reviewed by
Denise C

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location for our purposes. Room fine but shower needs a good clean to shift mould at the bottom of the tray.

Reviewed by
Alan Thomas

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay.
Accommodation is in chalets next to the pub. Reminded me a little of what Butlins must have been like in the 1960's. However the room with the beds in was clean and we did sleep exceptionally well due to very comfortable beds. The chalet we stayed in would benefit from a bit of an update in the " kitchen " and bath room, but facilities were adequate. The hosts were very easy going and very friendly and we were made to feel at home and welcome. The pub is very old and characterful , which we like. Food was ok . A little pricey compared to some of the other places we stayed in on this short holiday.

Reviewed by
Joan B

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next