No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship Inn

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
School Road, Blaxhall, Woodbridge, IP12 2DY
The Ship Inn is a traditional country pub with detached chalet accommodation in the peaceful village of Blaxhall, just 2 miles from Snape and 6 miles from the Suffolk heritage coast at Aldeburgh. We offer a real taste of the country with fine home-made food and Real Ales served in our two interconnecting dining areas. Our eight chalets all offer high quality, en-suite accommodation with a real English breakfast included in the price.
Picture of The Ship Inn, Woodbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

solo travel
Very much enjoyed all aspects out in the country. Great value

ManagementResponse

Dear Anthony, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at the Ship Inn. Siggi and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Adrian.

Reviewed by
anthony w

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortab;le overnight stay
OK for an overnight stop and comfortable. Food good. Wet room floor not entirely clean. TV reception poor. A little expensive.

ManagementResponse

Hello, thank you for writing a review of your stay at our lovely country pub and for your kind comments about the food. TV reception is indeed a problem but the booster boxes that we installed have made a big difference. Unfortunately sometimes, although not very often, atmospherics interfere and even the booster boxes cannot cope. In the medium term we will update to a satellite or internet based system which will address these problems. I am sorry the wet room floor was not clean, it has a raised non slip surface which can be quite awkward to clean, however I have mentioned it to the housekeeper and she will give it extra attention. Regarding pricing, we are very aware of how price sensitive the market is and regularly check our tariff with surrounding establishments, given the quality of our breakfast for which other places often charge extra (up to £10) we believe our prices are inline with the local market. We are prepared to negotiate rates for longer stays or multiple room bookings, especially in the Winter months. Thank you for your valuable feedback, we appreciate our guests sharing their thoughts about their visits to our pub. Best wishes, Adrian.

Reviewed by
Jim M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub in the Suffolk countryside
We stayed here for three nights at the end of September for a nearby family event. Not knowing Suffolk at all, this was a great place to stay as we could just walk out of our chalet and straight into the countryside. The accommodation itself is rather basic but I hear refurbishments are on the way. The pub was relatively quiet the weekend we stayed but I gather they often have live music and events. Very friendly and welcoming pub staff. All in all we really enjoyed our stay, it was a choice between finding somewhere on the outskirts of Ipswich and this, very glad we chose this!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at the Ship Inn, we really appreciate the feedback. You are quite correct, we have already started a refurbishment programme, beginning with making the pub and bottom chalet block 'Winter' proof. We are about to do the same 'up top end' followed by interior re-decoration. The list of things to do grows daily, but by the spring our guests will notice some real improvements. We do hope you will come and see for yourselves.

Reviewed by
S Evans-Darby

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay at The Ship Inn
The accomodation was really nice and although I was there for just 1 night it would be really suitable for a longer stay as there is plenty of room in it.

Reviewed by
Kevin Doona

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very traditional rural pub with rooms
Booked the night before we weren't sure what to expect but the Blaxted Ship was a pleasant surprise - a lovely traditional village pub close to the coastal gems of Aldeburgh & Southwold. The room was a little quirky but the welcome warm and the pub grub good.

ManagementResponse

Hello again, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at the Ship Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Adrian.

Reviewed by
Adrian R

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good chalet accommodation behind country pub. Easy to find using satnav. be aware Suffolk roads are narrow with passing places. Ideal location for Snape Maltings. Tasty cooked breakfast. Relaxed and friendly.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at The Ship Inn and for your kind comments. Your warnings about the Suffolk roads are a thoughtful and useful reminder for future guests. It is harvest time now and the roads are particularly busy with farm traffic - and boy, do we have some big tractors running around here at the moment! Hope you will come and visit us again soon. Kind regards, Siggi and Adrian

Reviewed by
David A

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed - my experience was nothing like the reviews
We received a churlish welcome - the landlord not happy with laterooms bookings.
The chalet was dirty, had dust through out, the towels were thin and of poor quality ,the coffee sachets so old they were stuck; the facilities like the kettle were sticky and in need of a thorough clean. This was accommodation so basic and not cheap either.
It was my Mums birthday and I was so embarrassed to have treated her to this. I was going to complain however my mum said we had an emergency and couldn't stay the 3 nights booked. We were charged all 3 nights and left after one. Anyone reading the reviews for this place would not identify our experience with the rest of the review. I was shocked.

ManagementResponse

Siggi and I are very sad that you had such a disappointing visit to the Ship Inn, you are quite correct your experience is a contradiction of all the reviews that we have recently received, and does not match my understanding of the situation either . I would like to expand on all of the points you have raised... I personally welcomed you and your mother to the Pub because we were closed when you arrived and I was upstairs in the flat doing paperwork. On hearing the doorbell I went downstairs, let you in and completed the check in process. Everything appeared perfectly normal and I did say it would be useful if there were a facility on the Late Rooms website for customers to advise us of their eta so that we could always ensure someone is here to meet guests who plan to arrive when we are closed as we often need to pop out to get supplies etc. Once checked in I showed you to your room & offered help with the luggage. As usual I demonstrated all the facilities and explained mealtimes etc, I bid you a comfortable stay and departed back to the pub. We work very hard to provide a warm welcome for all our guests & to make them feel relaxed and 'at home'. I have never been described as churlish before! Whilst some of our chalets are old and in need of refurbishment, including chalet 1 where you both stayed, they are all clean and tidy. All chalets are checked and cleaned daily and my wife does regular spot checks - rarely does she find any problems. Although Chalet 1 had not been spot checked for several days, it was occupied the night before and thoroughly cleaned that morning. As you know, we are in the heart of the Suffolk countryside and over the last few weeks the farmers have been harvesting which generates a large amount of dust, unfortunately this does come into the pub and chalets and we can do little to stop it. This is further compounded because we leave the windows open throughout the day during the hot weather to prevent the rooms being over heated. At the moment we could clean hourly and the dust would be back very quickly. The housekeeper does a weekly check of all the sachets and milk cartons to ensure that they are 'within date' and the turnover is so great that we very rarely find anything that is 'old', therefore I refute the allegation that the coffee sticks were old, I also doubt they were stuck together. I understand they are manufactured in a long 'chain' and sometimes we find that a few are not cut properly and are still joined together. I fully accept the comments regarding the towells, only last week we replaced all of the bed linnen including all towells and bath mats. They were old and wearing thin. I was on breakfast duty the following morning when you came over to eat. As usual you would have been greeted in a friendly and polite way and most likely asked if you had a comfortable night. You were served breakfast without incident and there was no evidence to suggest anything was wrong. When you got up from the breakfast table I was suddenly informed that there was an emergency and you would have to leave early - I was instructed to prepare the bill. I asked if there was anything we could do to help - there wasn't. As you didn't elaborate on the reason for cancelling the remaining 2 days of the stay or ask for a refund, I charged the full amount of the stay and the bill was not queried at the time of payment or subsequently. We have a strict cancellation policy which is clearly displayed on our website and that of Late Rooms, it was also detailed on your booking confirmation; however we are human and would not want to cause anyone additional stress when they are 'vulnerable' if approached I would most likely have offered to refund night 3 as we may well have been able to resell the room. At no time did you or your mother complain or express the slightest dissatisfaction and we believed that you left for genuine reasons. We do make mistakes from time to time, and when customers tell us we always apologise and try to address the issue quickly often giving the client some form of token reward for the 'trouble' (usually free drinks, food or flowers). We embrace constructive criticism and use customer feedback to educate ourselves and our staff. When my wife and I were contracted to manage this establishment back in September 2012 it had received consistently poor reviews and we have worked hard to improve customer service as the most important priority. We can only develop the facilities as funds allow, but a programme of refurbishments has been agreed and is already under way. Our staff have been taught to meet and greet every customer who visits the pub, even if they can't talk directly then make eye contact smile and nod - we take customer care very seriously. I am not sure why you have written such a harsh and unpleasant review, but I firmly believe that we do not deserve it. You have painted a very black picture indeed, and based on your review alone I would think twice about coming here to stay. I accept that we cannot please everybody all of the time, but I am particularly sad that you felt unable to approach us and discuss the concerns that you had, and worse still had to fabricate an excuse to curtail your stay. I am confident that had we discussed your concerns openly, we would have found a solution that meant you and your mum had a very happy and enjoyable stay and just maybe you would have been able to write a far more positive review. Or better still, be looking forward to coming back again in the future. In closing, may I apologise once again that we did not meet your expectations, I remain disappointed that we have two very unhappy customers and have learned a few lessons from the experience. Best wishes, Adrian.

Reviewed by
Virginia L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a very friendly and comfortable place to stay and an ideal location. The landlord and landlady were very attentive and friendly and made sure that their customers were happy. Food was excellent and being vegetarian my choice can be limited, but this was not the case at the Ship Inn. Travelling on my own, I felt at ease on my own in the bar and the atmosphere was comfortable and friendly.
The room was comfortable and clean, but my only negative comment would be that the furniture and flooring were tired and do need replacing.
However I will certainly visit again and will be recommending it to friends.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review and kind comments, we really appreciate the valuable feedback that our guests give to us. Siggi and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and accept your comments regarding the carpets & furniture in your chalet. We are working through a programme of refurbushment which should see the pub and accomodation fully restored by the spring of 2015. Since taking over the management in September 2012, we have repainted the whole exterior and renewed the celler plant (great news for real ale devotees). Before the winter we will be completely updating the kitchen and replacing the main central heating system. Redecoration of the chalets will follow shortly, as funds allow. Initially outside then inside - we will start with the bottom block first. Then we will re-surface the car park...and start all over again!! We hope you will come and see us again soon, once again thank you for your helpful comments. Regards, Adrian.

Reviewed by
Maureen Roche

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
A delightful area of the country to stay in. Customer service - excellent. Very welcoming and friendly. Would recommend to anybody to stay there as its priced extremely well for the lovely accommodation and gorgeous breakfast!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind comments both about our pub and the lovely village of Blaxhall. Cyril is delighted to receive further praise for her breakfasts which get so regularly mentioned in reviews. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again when next in the area. Best wishes, Siggi & Adrian.

Reviewed by
o bowskill

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of the Ship
We were very well looked after. The landlord , landlady and breakfast lady werereally friendly and worked hard to provide a good service. A lovely rural location, and with only 8 chalets we got a very individual service. The breakfast was really well cooked, individually for us all. The evening menu was understandably not extensive with a relatively small numbers of diners, but well cooked and varied enough for a three night stay. Very convenient if you were attending an event at Snape Maltings, only two miles away

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at the Ship Inn, we really appreciate it and always discuss customer feedback with the staff. We are currently recruiting additional kitchen staff and plan to extend the menu once we have the full team 'on board'. We do hope you will stay with us again when you are next in the area. Kind regards, Siggi & Adrian.

Reviewed by
M Cuthbert

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next