No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Southern Cross

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
41-43 LANGLEY ROAD , WATFORD, WD17 4PP
Friendly Hotel with10 simply furnished bedrooms (rooms not en suite) The rooms are located above the pub, and all rooms have Tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TV,and hairdryer.
The hotel is ideally located close to major Motorway Networks (M1 and M25) and is an ideal stop over for commuting into London.
We have Ample on-site parking, and serve great value hearty meals in the Flaming Grill Bar.
Picture of The Southern Cross, WATFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value
Its a great place to stay it's not far from watford junction station and the food is amazing and is cheap too. The room was perfect for what we needed it for.

Reviewed by
Tamara R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Couldn't of asked for more considering the price.

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not impressed
Check in was 2pm when we got there were told room wont be ready till 4pm. We had to get to a reception for 4 so they said use the room and we will clean it later. Room needed a lot of maintenance and general standard was extremely low for price. The bathroom was communal and on a landing outside the room. The hotel alarm went off at 2am and didnt stop for approx 40 mins. Overall it was not a great experience.

Reviewed by
E McGarry

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Toilets
The only complaint we have is that the toilets upstairs and downstairs were not flushing properly.

Reviewed by
Pauline Harrington

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow for the steaks!
Room next to, and above, main road, hence rather noisy! Double glazing would help.

Reviewed by
Ronald B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good food

Reviewed by
I Barker

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay away
Room in dire need of decorating all of the electrical appliances needed to be PAT tested (Law)

Reviewed by
William M

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

decent
Pretty basic good for what I needed

Reviewed by
Paul Hart

From x, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay for the money, good friendly staff room was adequate and food excellent.
Dont expect the Hilton for the price I didnt but I was presently suprised with the hotel, I enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
chris sheehan

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small, basic and reasonably cheap stay for 1 person, 1 night

Reviewed by
Philip Wood

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next