No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - West Park Hotel

0Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
157-159 Elswick road, , , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE4 6SQ
The West Park Hotel is designed for short stay, basic,comfortable & clean. There are self catering facilities in the hotel. You can order Breakfast (menu's & price list will available). We also provide an ordering service from the local takeaways or restaurants. Beverages can also be ordered for our customers. We can also arrange (to the point of personal signatures being required) discount car hire for your stay in Newcastle, for as little as £20.00 per day, car can be delivered to the hotel.(Only available to West Park Hotel guests with appropriate documents) The West Park Hotel is very much an adult (over 18 years old) environment! There are no facilities for children, their safety could not be guaranteed! The management will insist that the peace is not disturbed, and will also insist that the privacy of clients is not disrupted. The management will try there best to ensure a comfortable stay.
Picture of West Park Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 53% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, great for one night as a place to sleep
Although the room was small and we didn't have an en suite, the staff were friendly and it was a very relaxed atmosphere (you can drink and smoke). This hotel is definitely meant for a one or two night stay as a place to sleep (great if you are having a night out in Newcastle). It is about a 15 minute walk to the centre of Newcastle and only cost us a fiver for a taxi. Would recommend for backpackers and nights out.

Reviewed by
Matt K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paid £50 to stay in a room with a shared bathroom where the lights didn't work, shower didn't work.
Pillows paper thin, it seemed to be more like a hostel for young people to stay in after a heavy night on the town as it was very noisy during the night with people coming and going and arguments.
I thought the price of the room should have been at least half.
Customer service however was very good.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not book into this hotel!! It is a health risk
My friend and I booked in to this hotel for somewhere to stay as we had planned a night out in Newcastle. We live about 1.5hrs away by car so it had taken some time to get there.
As we pulled up to the hotel it was in a very non desirable area and the parking is not somewhere you want to leave your car, so this immediately put my friend and I on edge but thought we would give it a shot anyway, seeing that we were now here.
We went into the 'reception' and they took the money off of us straight away, but the card machine is in the shop next door, you also have to pay £5 for a key deposit which they tell you that you'll get back but in reality you don't. From being in the reception it was run down and very unwelcoming but we decided to go up and view the room.
We were allocated room 4 which is on the first floor with views overlooking the local shops. As we walked along the corridor we past rooms with the doors open and people smoking, it stank of smoke. We got to room 4 and opened the door.
Now we booked an ensuite, as we opened the door we were greeted on the left with a shower unit and a sink, no toilet and they were in the same room as the bed, infact only feet from the bed, we were shocked as this is not an ensuite. We walked in taking it all in. There was stains on the carpet, a particularly large one at the bottom of the bed shaped like an iron, there was chewing gum on the blinds and walls, blood on the curtains, chips of plaster missing, stains on the bed sheet, headboard falling off the wall, bed not made right as sheet off on far corner, wobbly wardrobes, hair in both the sink and shower plug holes, sticky substance in the cupboard above the sink, room stank of smoke, chips out the wardrobe and a prepayment meter with only £3.85 credit on it.
We immediately contacted late rooms and were advised by the lovely operator to go to reception, so we went to reception to speak to the male receptionist, checking the communal toilet on the way (it was a mess). He contacted his managed who is the person named on their business cards, who advised the male receptionist that the hotel has no ensuites and that it was late rooms fault for listing it as one when we made the booking. They offered us the options of staying there in that room as it was, paying more money to go to another hotel that they owned or to get out. We were in shock they didn't offer to check the room to confirm what we were saying or apologise for how we had found the room. After a long discussion with both the male receptionist and the manager on the phone we left the hotel, we were not offered our money back for the room or for our key (which we gave back to reception).
This is not somewhere you want to stay, after leaving the hotel we contacted late rooms again who have advised us to send in pictures of the hotel along with detailing our experience of this horrendous establishment. Late rooms confirmed it is the hotel who enter what kind of rooms they have eg ensuite. Therefore it is the hotel that are advertising the rooms as this on late rooms website and not late rooms.
We have been left very stressed and shaken by our experience. Never have i been treated so appallingly by staff in the hotel business and never have i seen sure a disgusting establishment.
This need visited by health and safety.

Reviewed by
I Phillips

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Place to crash not splashing the cash
functional - tv decent bed and clean great for one night to crash whilst out with friends or partner. Not glam but what do you expect for money? Must say the Geordie on the desk was top draw couldn't do enough for you and totally dedicated - it your not fussy this place is fine, don't take the kids take a crate of corona and join the party!! :-)

Reviewed by
Lynsey Goddard

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great party at the hotel!
The hotel is basic,there is not even a soap to wash your hands. I liked the bath towels,one of them was a beach towel with flip flop drawings. If you just need to sleep, the hotel is Ok but do not go on weekends. Basically you can do whatever you want inside it. On Saturday night we had to call the steward twice at 2 and 5 a.m. because of the noises outside our room. People partying with loud music, shouting, slamming doors...Next morning the steward just said to us that it is very common on weekends because there is a lot of party in Newcastle. Awful night and no responsibilities.

Reviewed by
PAULA D

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed is an understatement!
Arrived at west park where we were told there would be parking. There was not. We had know where for car so was moved to 'sister' hotel Clifton mount hotel. On arrival looked lovely. Lady that checked us in was helpful the price was raised from £95 to £130. The room was basic to say the least it had beds! The on suite was filthy, the sink or shower hadn't even been wiped clean. The ceiling was cracked, mouldy, discoloured and the whole place was disgusting we slept there as had no choice but left very early the next morning. There were drink making facilities just a fridge downstairs that was pad locked!

Reviewed by
D Howard

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clifton
This hotel was okay, it looked like it was being renovated as it had no carpets on the stairs, and the rooms had cracks, the curtains were falling apart and the door barely shut.
Otherwise it was okay to stay in for a night. Woken up in the morning by the carpenters doing the stairs on a Sunday!

Reviewed by
Elyse P

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel I have ever been in
I did not enjoy my stay at this hotel what so ever!
There are no rules for smoking so if you are a smoker you are able to just smoke in the room with the window open.
The door was almost off its hinges and the key didnt fit properly into the hole.
As soon as I got into my room it stunk of weed and mould, there was some raw chicken in a plastic carryer bag that had been in the chest of draws for god knows how long, it had a thick layer of mould all over it.
There is no toilet even though they classed it as an 'ensuite', the shower shared the same room as the bed and was just in the corner but it was always either freezig cold or way too hot, never just right.
During our stay there were rowdy people in the rooms near us, we had people knocing on our door every 5 minutes as they walked past and people trying to open it etc.

Reviewed by
G Merry

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location. very friendly. Basic but excellent value.

Reviewed by
luke c

From rotherham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guy that runs the place is very polite and helpful, We found the hotel to be as if he just took over the business and trying run the place on his own, room was cold and whistling window. Customer Service was fab but we paid for en-suite room didn't have own toilet still had to go across the hall. Great for roof over head quick stay but not a holiday hotel.

Reviewed by
d wharton

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next