No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Birmingham Hotel

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Hotel Birmingham, Golden Hillock Road , Birmingham, B11 2PN
The hotel has spacious and comfortable en-suite bedrooms, continental breakfast available daily from 7am - 10am @ £ 4.95 / person, a bar serving snacks and drinks, conference and banqueting facilities and extensive free car parking for over 100 cars.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and will ensure you have a comfortable stay.

We are conveniently located on the A45 , 1.5 miles from Birmingham city centre's shopping and entertainment areas including Broad Street with all it's nightclubs, bars and restaurants.

We are only 6 miles from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport which are also on the A45. Small Heath train station is directly opposite our hotel, it is only one stop to the city centre.

The hotel and bedrooms are non-smoking.
Picture of The Birmingham Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
29% recommended this accommodation to a friend 33% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shabby not chic
When we worked out how to get in the Receptionist was very good and helpful. The corridors are shabby and worn, the room was noisey & not very clean it smelt of smoke as. Windows had been left open. I didn't stay the night as sleep was not an option here I left after 2hrs of being kept awake

Reviewed by
Amanda H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast?
When I checked in, the receptionist confirmed that I had booked bed and 'continental breakfast' which obviously came at an extra cost. However, the following morning upon asking another receptionist where I could find the breakfast room, I received a puzzled look and the simple reply of 'breakfast?'.
I had to explain that I paid for the breakfast and that this cost was on-top of my room charge. After a quick check on the system, she confirmed what I had already said.
I was then told that breakfast had not been set up as they thought that nobody wanted breakfast and asked if I would like it setting up. I obviously asked for it to be set up and after waiting 15 minutes for this to happen was rather dismayed when the 'continental breakfast' turned out to be a choice of either toast or cereal.
Completely unaceptable. I would not recommend this hotel simply for the such bad customer service.

Reviewed by
C Hall

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate
Willing staff

Reviewed by
Stewart S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was filthy carpet had stains everywhere bedding was stained

Reviewed by
D Ham

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Give it a miss.
Hotel looks good from the outside, nice big car park, check in went quick with lad on desk pleasant.
No food in hotel and a good walk to find any.
Room very dated but nice and big, strong smell of what seems to be stale smoke.
TV in room was excellent and shower brill once hot water got through, I would not chance staying again as I think I got a good room listening to other people talking.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's more like a industrial factory than a hotel
Smelly rooms,corridors.
Noisy road.
Dirty room especially the carpet.
Broken chair.
Smelly arm chairs.
Very uncomfortable bed.
No hair drier.
No shower liquid.
Bad tv signal.
Awful breakfast!
I was not happy with that 'hotel' at all...
Never go back again.

Reviewed by
Boldizsar A

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extra charged for late check out and filthy room
Me and 2 friends booked a triple room, before booking I called the hotel to enquire about a late check out. I was told it would be £30 extra to check out at 5pm. This was also stated on my reservation. Upon arrival the Manager told me they didnt do late check outs, I told him my story and he reluctantly agreed but insisted on me paying £45. Room was filthy, double bed was 2 divans one had casters the other not so it was not level, tv had no aerial so no picture, no kettle, only 2 cups, window did not shut. Too round off a truly awful stay they decided to do a apparently routine fire alarm test at 11.30am obviously waking us up, this repeated a further 3 times. Also have strong suspicions the hotel is used by the local 'ladies of the night'. Truly awful place not to be missed if you like horror stories!!!

Reviewed by
ian fisher

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent friendly staff but run down hotel
No smoking room was very smokey! Kettle would not work, neither would replacement. Moved to a new room and kettle worked but switched on by itself 3 times when I was nowhere near it! Perhaps electrics need checking! Continental breakfast extremely basic. Hotel ran out of butter so toast with no butter!

Reviewed by
H Johnson

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was dirty , holes on the wall , light bulb were missing, no soap in bath room, TV was not working,broken furnishers, broken and dirty bath.

Reviewed by
m Family

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terror towers would be safer.
Do not stay here, where to start? Probably with the police raid at 9:30 on the Saturday night? Or the dodgy looking men in the car park with constant fleeting visitors all evening, along with car reving. Or maybe the carpets you stick to, the plug sockets falling off the walls and the telly with no connection? Or the toilet full of waste? Dont bother complaining because the manager will just turn his back on you.

Reviewed by
M Wiltshire

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next