Reviews - The Birmingham Hotel

Hotel Birmingham, Golden Hillock Road, Birmingham, B11 2PN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (41)

24% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Neil Atkinson

  • November 2015

Birmingham Hotel-Better than expected

Arrival at reception didn't seem to promise much but the room was good and for just a comforttable nights stay at a good price I was very pleased.

It is also obvious that they are trying to sprice everything up so things should get better!

  • S Young

  • September 2015


Mould in shower, no hot water in shower, toilet broken, terrible smell in toilet and in room, bet mattress springs were jutting out and broken it was dreadful

  • joyce d

  • September 2015

Not great hotel but does the trick

We needed a place to stay and this hotel was the cheapest we could find, we liked that it was right next to the train station.

There is not much to do around there but the beds were okay and the tv works. The bathroom was okay, clean enough but not the newest.

  • K Wheeler

  • September 2015

convenient location next to the train station

convenient location next to the train station but very noisy as a result of being close

very run down room though

  • R Scholtz

  • September 2015

Don't do it

The place was filthy.

Not worth it at half the price. Don't let the photos fool you.

  • K Lambeth

  • August 2015

Dirty hotel, poor value

I paid £70 to stay in a room that smelt musty, had a filthy carpet covered in cigarette burns and chewing gum and a bathroom that smelt of urine.

Would definitely not stay here again and feel strongly that we were ripped off.

  • P Buck

  • May 2015

Never again

Very poor hotel.

The room was adequate but the building itself was tired and in serious need of updating. Breakfast was an additional £4.95 but I am not certain a bowl of cereal and toast is worth that. No cooked option available. Disappointed doesn't even come close to summing up my stay.

  • Z Akhtar

  • April 2015

Nice simple hotel for group of lads

Nice and simple hotel for a group of lads from London looking for last-minute accommodation in Birmingham for one night (attending friends wedding).

If your looking for creature comforts and luxuries of upper class hotels - this is not for you. Simple hotel with modest facilities - all that we needed within easy reach of Coventry Road. Good car park included is a bonus!

  • W Mahmood

  • April 2015

The Birmingham Hotel

Very poor hotel absolutely disgracefull rooms are appaling damp smell very out of date furniture only good thing was reception stafff very helpful,understanding hats off to them they really helped us

  • Clarese W

  • March 2015

All i could smell was smoke!!

I was greeted by two staff members who were complaining that they hate their jobs while they were checking me and boyfriend in.

It was awkward considering they were having the discussion in front of us, there was no professionalism. The corridors stank of cigarette and so did our room, I had to spray it with perfume and open the window. It was clear that other visitors were smoking in their rooms. The carpet had numerous iron burns and the bed was very uncomfortable!.

This was not value for money considering the state of the rooms, they definitely need to upgrade their rooms and make sure people are not smoking!