No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Birmingham Hotel

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Hotel Birmingham, Golden Hillock Road , Birmingham, B11 2PN
The hotel has spacious and comfortable en-suite bedrooms, continental breakfast available daily from 7am - 10am @ £ 4.95 / person, a bar serving snacks and drinks, conference and banqueting facilities and extensive free car parking for over 100 cars.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and will ensure you have a comfortable stay.

We are conveniently located on the A45 , 1.5 miles from Birmingham city centre's shopping and entertainment areas including Broad Street with all it's nightclubs, bars and restaurants.

We are only 6 miles from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport which are also on the A45. Small Heath train station is directly opposite our hotel, it is only one stop to the city centre.

The hotel and bedrooms are non-smoking.
Picture of The Birmingham Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
29% recommended this accommodation to a friend 33% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not worth the time, money and experience
After a long day full of meetings, I checked in at 11:30pm in a place that looked more like a run down hostel than a good value hotel. My room was on the 2nd floor, by the time I got there I witnessed a common room fit for a squatter not the table tennis that was in it. The corridors and stairs (either nor elevator or the receptionist was not bothered to tell me about it) got that creepy feeling of something bad and nasty about to happen. First impression of the room were of a place that not very well looked after - old and dirty, full of broken staff. The internet was not working. No TV remote control. There was a problem with the shower - no hot water and they need a plumber to sort out the pressure. Cautious: the management of the hotel treats kids cereal and bread as the main ingredients to a healthy, diverse and invigorating breakfast. The only good thing may have been the free parking. Yet, I may have been lucky with the two guys parked next to mine who looked too stoned to cause any damage. Overall, never again in a lifetime.

Reviewed by
Boyan T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rubbish
black curly hairs in sink (not mine) no pressure to shower . dirty and ripped carpet , tv remote didnt work with tv , hotel under refurb !

Reviewed by
IAN PERKINS

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor but clean
The room was tidy and we'll laid out very traditional styling probably not touched since it was built though, the shower wouldn't stay on the wall as hook was broken and taped over with duct tape so I had to try and hold it whilst I showered also the bath shower mixer was broken and replaced with a bolt, there was a TV provided but no remote or option on side to turn tv on. The light in the room the pull cord had been broken and not replaced. When paying the card machine had been unplugged so they couldn't take my payment by card luckily I had the cash but that left me short for the night after. The staff were just sat on the work tops one with headphones on just chilling and there was a girl slouched over the customer side whilst I was paying. Not very professional.

Reviewed by
S Walker

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a pleasant stay in the Birmingham Hotel. The staff were helpfully and polite and the room although basic had what you need.

Reviewed by
k sidlow

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty basic and certainly no frills
A rather tired, dated hotel. We arrived late and left early. Basic facilities, room clean enough but minimal. Annoying to have no bedside table but we improvised by moving a side table into place. Also a rather strange lighting arrangement with wall switches and pull cords , none of which seemed to provide the right selection for the room. One pull cord did not work at all meaning no lighting over one bed for reading by. Bed comfortable but only one very thin pillow to each bed. On the plus side, good parking on site. Overall experience not helped by the fire alarm going off just after midnight, admittedly it was no fault of the hotel to have a smoker lighting up in non smoking facilities.

Reviewed by
Brenda A

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was tired and badly needs renovation, shower not working very well
As above

Reviewed by
R Johnston

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would like a refund
Poor would like money back holes in walls, sheets were dirty found food and mouldy things under bed. Hair dryer was dangerous to use, all fallen apart some plugs didn't work, wouldn't serve at the bar said they couldn't be bothered. Shower didn't work. Just genuinely scruffy. Want money back. We was in a really bad area too.

Reviewed by
Emily Drant

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birmingham hotel
Only stayed 1 night, room was spacious but a bit careworn and smelt odd, maybe historic cigarette smoke? Plenty of parking on site, well situated close to Balti triangle and A45. Could be a great place to stay with some investment, as it was it was cheap and served a purpose.

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but Basic
Room was clean, but very basic. There was no soap in the bathroom, no hairdryer and I had to ask for the TV remote from reception.

Reviewed by
L Cooksley

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
The room was dirty with a used tissue on the floor. Carpet hadn't seen a vacuum cleaner in a very long time. Paint peeling off the walls and the room was very hot. Even with the heating off I had to keep the windows open all night.
Continental breakfast was cereal and bread. No croissants of pastries, ham etc.
Very poor, I would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
John M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next