The Birmingham Hotel

0

Hotel Birmingham, Golden Hillock Road, Birmingham, B11 2PN

Price From 115.14 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (56)

27% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Clarese W

  • March 2015

All i could smell was smoke!!

I was greeted by two staff members who were complaining that they hate their jobs while they were checking me and boyfriend in.

It was awkward considering they were having the discussion in front of us, there was no professionalism. The corridors stank of cigarette and so did our room, I had to spray it with perfume and open the window. It was clear that other visitors were smoking in their rooms. The carpet had numerous iron burns and the bed was very uncomfortable!.

This was not value for money considering the state of the rooms, they definitely need to upgrade their rooms and make sure people are not smoking!

  • K Hamilton

  • March 2015

More of a 1 star than a 3 star

Mouse seen in one bedroom, blood on sheets in another.

Bed sheets were torn, paint was chipped, shower was mouldy, drafty windows and no lift. The list goes on. It is a cheaply priced hotel, so didn't expect much but it should not be displayed as a 3 star when it clearly barely scrapes its hotel status. Definitely more of a hostel.

  • J Lowe

  • February 2015

Worst hotel ever

This hotel is dirty smelly and run down.

Was charged £100 for room only the room was tatty and dirty. Tv did not work bathroom filthy bed had hairs on sheets. Went to sleep with clothes on on top of bed never again will sleep in car before go again

  • James B

  • February 2015

The Birmingham Hotel

Nice size room; good shower; good television.

Shabby decor and furniture. bed was okay. Quiet. No restaurant for dinner and breakfast was quite basic. On checking out the staff on duty did not give me my invoice and I was in a rush so forgot it. I was asked for a photocopy of my driving license which has never happened before in any hotel I have stayed in. In this age of identity fraud I am anxious about the purpose of this and where this information is stored,

  • S Bathala

  • January 2015

The Birmingham Hotel

Worst hotel.

  • Stewart S

  • January 2015

Labyrinthine layout

Despite the route march up and down stairs (where redecoration was obviously in progress) the room was fine.

  • Maria H

  • January 2015

You get what you pay for !

The room was a good size and clean.

My only complaint was that the mattress on the bed was very uncomfortable we hardly slept a wink due to this

  • Laurence Buxton

  • December 2014

a good value overnight stay

My friend and I stayed in a twin room to enjoy the birmingham christmas market, which is a regular event for us, but it became apparent to me that a stopover in the city centre could be at least double the price.

The Birmingham Hotel was relatively friendly, after a slightly awkward start, and the man behind reception was reasonable and helpful in booking the taxi. After a drink at the hotel bar we went to the festival and returned to the room around midnight. I feel the bathroom could have done with a little work, with the shower/bath facility stuck on 'bath' and the shaving mirror light was out of order, but my friend felt the room was well-sized for the price, clean, not too far from the city centre by taxi and the lady behind the counter at breakfast was friendly and helpful, and also helped when we had a slight issue using the card to get back into our room, which was quite well soundproofed. In conclusion then, for the price this was good value and I would consider staying here again, probably best for a group of friends on a light-hearted night out. Laurence.

  • LIAM SAXTON

  • December 2014

Hotel needs considerable updating otherwise nice staff & friendly welcome.

  • S Sloan

  • December 2014

Don't forget your ID and if you don't like stairs this isn't the place to stay

It's been a long time since a hotel has asked for ID before allowing me to stay.

I had to provide my driving license which was then copied. There was no life and no assistance to the 2nd floor. Restaurant was being refurbished so it was go out or have a takeaway in my room. Rooms were a great size but obviously decorated in the 80's including the bathrooms. Very outdated. This could be a lovely hotel but it's lacking in basic ameneties like a lift, up to date bathrooms and comes across as old fashioned.