Reviews - The Birmingham Hotel


Hotel Birmingham, Golden Hillock Road, Birmingham, B11 2PN

Price From 126.96 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (51)

22% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Wiltshire

  • November 2013

Terror towers would be safer.

Do not stay here, where to start.

Probably with the police raid at 9:30 on the Saturday night. Or the dodgy looking men in the car park with constant fleeting visitors all evening, along with car reving. Or maybe the carpets you stick to, the plug sockets falling off the walls and the telly with no connection. Or the toilet full of waste. Dont bother complaining because the manager will just turn his back on you.

  • B Fenton

  • November 2013

Only a bed for the night but do not expect any sleep

We booked this hotel very last minute and for £45 thought it was a good deal for a bed for the night.

The hotel is very dated and is need of a complete refurbishment. The smell of smoke is horrible even though it is now a non smoking hotel. I had the open the windows in my room immediately to get done fresh air. The net curtain was black and thick with dust. Apart from that, the room was ok and prettuvh what I was expecting, everything was old but the room was clean, had hot water and the bed was comfortable enough. The main problem with this hotel is the activity in the car park throughout the night with local youths using it to gather. I was kept awake from 12am-5.30 am. The car park was full of young men, playing music very loud in their cars, fighting with a taxi driver and swearing throughout. At no point did the hotel or the police intervene. This is appalling and several times during the night looked out of the window as it sounded like there was a riot in the car park. The behaviour of these young men in utterly disgusting when people are trying to sleep. I was bitterly dissapounted that another review had complained about the same thing and yet nothing has been done to resolve the issue. The free parking is good but your car is left in the car park which is the local youth club and cruising site. I didn't complain to the manager as I was too angry and felt that it would be no use as I would not get my money back. When I checked out I wasn't even asked how my stay was.

  • Ami L

  • November 2013


Rooms are rented out to other guests to sımply party ın tıll sılly oclock ın mornıng was at least 8 people ın the room nxt door playıng very loud musıc arguıng makıng ıt ımpossıble to sleep thıs went on untıl the mınuıte we left


  • November 2013

Business trip

This is a very large hotel and well situated for local shopping etc.

The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was good and overall this hotel was good value for money. No complaints, I would stay here again.

  • Stephanie F

  • November 2013

Would NOT recommend

The only good thing about this reception was the receptionist.

Felt the hotel was very overpriced considering you can stay at much nicer hotels for much less.

Bedroom was very old fashioned, bed was very uncomfortable and the bedding didn't smell clean at all.

Carpet was filthy and bathroom was clean but falling apart.

Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

No lift, no restaurant.

  • K Roberts

  • October 2013

Whenever I visit Birmingham I always stay here.

Very friendly & helpful reception staff that were local & willing to offer advice & recommend local places to go. Excellent location & very handy for the nightlife. The rooms were lovely & clean & even provided tea & coffee facilities for the morning after hangover. Would highly reccomend.

  • N Hessey

  • October 2013

noisy night in Brum

Our stay here coincided with the arrival of a very noisy party of youths who spent the whole night causing disturbance despite being asked frequently to be quiet.

they were eventually evicted by police about 7am which was far too late. we cannot therefore give a balanced opinion of this hotel.

  • Ian S

  • October 2013

I do not think this hotel should be trading under the name hotel

I think late rooms should take a look at this hotel.

There is no place to eat the bar is a fridge filled with canned beers. The carpets are stained and in place torn, the corridor stinks of ciggy smoke and the stairwell is covered in litter

  • Wendy Jeffs

  • October 2013

Strangely OK

The hotel is small, seedy and depressing at first sight.

The non-smoking rooms smelled of smoke. However, when we pointed all this out, the receptionist did everything he could to help. We sprayed the rooms, He brought us lots of coffee and tea bags, and the beds were comfortable and clean, and the showers worked well. For £40 a night it was good value, anymore and it would not have been. The restaurant was being re-furbished (?) and we had to order a take-away. They recommended a great pizza place, which delivered first rate proper italian style pizzas for £7 a head for our group of 8 people. For a group of people attending the NEC it worked well,but don't go there looking for a luxurious environment.

  • Georgie C

  • October 2013

Very tired and dirty, dissapointed