No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Birmingham Hotel

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Hotel Birmingham, Golden Hillock Road , Birmingham, B11 2PN
The hotel has spacious and comfortable en-suite bedrooms, continental breakfast available daily from 7am - 10am @ £ 4.95 / person, a bar serving snacks and drinks, conference and banqueting facilities and extensive free car parking for over 100 cars.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and will ensure you have a comfortable stay.

We are conveniently located on the A45 , 1.5 miles from Birmingham city centre's shopping and entertainment areas including Broad Street with all it's nightclubs, bars and restaurants.

We are only 6 miles from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport which are also on the A45. Small Heath train station is directly opposite our hotel, it is only one stop to the city centre.

The hotel and bedrooms are non-smoking.
Picture of The Birmingham Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
30% recommended this accommodation to a friend 33% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
The room had thick dust in the wall behind tv
Tissues under the bed .
I complained about the prople next door being noisy
Loud from 11.30 pm I got no sleep until 3am the night porter did nothing
I complained 4 times
The hallway smelt of canabis

Reviewed by
j harrison

From st johns, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely time with my husband over there

Reviewed by
Mahbuba Haque

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but good
I was disconcerted when I arrived at the hotel by the sight if a SUV with deflated tires in the car park, immediately I was worried my car would not be safe overnight - not a great first impression. I was drawn to this hotel by the massive discount on normal room prices but the room I had (and my general impression of the hotel) was that the rate I was charged was about right and the £120 normally charged was unrealistic. This seems like a marketing ploy that is counter-productive because I would probably have been better satisfied with my first impressions without the exaggeration of the glories of the place. It is clean and comfortable and I would recommend it for a no frills over night stay,

Reviewed by
A Swift

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

100
very good

Reviewed by
ABDELGADER AMARA

From BIRMINGHAM, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for what we needed.
We stayed for New Year's Eve. Was allowed alcohol up into our room and a big music station for the iPod where we had it up very loud with no complaints. Receptionist let us use there pc and printer to print off our club tickets. Top place

Reviewed by
D Stevens

From Farnborough, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor quality hotel
Room was of vastly poorer quality compared to the image on the website. Extremely dissatisfied with the hotel. The staff must already be aware of this as there was no invitation to give feed back or enquiry as to whether the stay was satisfactory.

Reviewed by
K Thomas

From Seaview, Regno Unito
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrible
Bathroom was dirty, there was a stale smell in the, takeaway food on the floor. I found insects crawling on the bathroom floor. I strongly suggest you don't stay here, if you are stuck you are better off sleeping in your car!!!

Reviewed by
bally t

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
The staff were friendly and helpful the room large and clean, the room was warm and the heating on all the time, I was not keen on the area, and the taxi to the NEC, was expensive when it was 6 miles away, although only six miles it took a long time to get through traffic.

Reviewed by
Debra S

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sehr einfach aber günstig
Zimmer sind einfach und schon ziemlich abgenutzt. Aber eigentlich recht sauber und geräumig. Außerdem free-WIFI. Für kurze Geschäftsreise wenn man keine großen Ansprüche hat und günstig wohnen will, gut geeignet.

Reviewed by
A Klug

From 86444 Affing, Germany
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

günstig aber renovierungsbedürftig
Im Bett konnte man jede einzelne Sprungfeder spüren, der Teppich war kaputt, alles ziemlich renovierungsbedürftig!! Wer günstig übernachten will und nur ein Dach über dem Kopf braucht, dann ist es IO. Aber ansonsten..

Reviewed by
A Klug

From 86444 Affing, Germany
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5