No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Birmingham Hotel

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Hotel Birmingham, Golden Hillock Road , Birmingham, B11 2PN
The hotel has spacious and comfortable en-suite bedrooms, continental breakfast available daily from 7am - 10am @ £ 4.95 / person, a bar serving snacks and drinks, conference and banqueting facilities and extensive free car parking for over 100 cars.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and will ensure you have a comfortable stay.

We are conveniently located on the A45 , 1.5 miles from Birmingham city centre's shopping and entertainment areas including Broad Street with all it's nightclubs, bars and restaurants.

We are only 6 miles from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport which are also on the A45. Small Heath train station is directly opposite our hotel, it is only one stop to the city centre.

The hotel and bedrooms are non-smoking.
Picture of The Birmingham Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
29% recommended this accommodation to a friend 33% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extra charged for late check out and filthy room
Me and 2 friends booked a triple room, before booking I called the hotel to enquire about a late check out. I was told it would be £30 extra to check out at 5pm. This was also stated on my reservation. Upon arrival the Manager told me they didnt do late check outs, I told him my story and he reluctantly agreed but insisted on me paying £45. Room was filthy, double bed was 2 divans one had casters the other not so it was not level, tv had no aerial so no picture, no kettle, only 2 cups, window did not shut. Too round off a truly awful stay they decided to do a apparently routine fire alarm test at 11.30am obviously waking us up, this repeated a further 3 times. Also have strong suspicions the hotel is used by the local 'ladies of the night'. Truly awful place not to be missed if you like horror stories!!!

Reviewed by
ian fisher

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's more like a industrial factory than a hotel
Smelly rooms,corridors.
Noisy road.
Dirty room especially the carpet.
Broken chair.
Smelly arm chairs.
Very uncomfortable bed.
No hair drier.
No shower liquid.
Bad tv signal.
Awful breakfast!
I was not happy with that 'hotel' at all...
Never go back again.

Reviewed by
Boldizsar A

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was dirty , holes on the wall , light bulb were missing, no soap in bath room, TV was not working,broken furnishers, broken and dirty bath.

Reviewed by
m Family

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent friendly staff but run down hotel
No smoking room was very smokey! Kettle would not work, neither would replacement. Moved to a new room and kettle worked but switched on by itself 3 times when I was nowhere near it! Perhaps electrics need checking! Continental breakfast extremely basic. Hotel ran out of butter so toast with no butter!

Reviewed by
H Johnson

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terror towers would be safer.
Do not stay here, where to start? Probably with the police raid at 9:30 on the Saturday night? Or the dodgy looking men in the car park with constant fleeting visitors all evening, along with car reving. Or maybe the carpets you stick to, the plug sockets falling off the walls and the telly with no connection? Or the toilet full of waste? Dont bother complaining because the manager will just turn his back on you.

Reviewed by
M Wiltshire

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only a bed for the night but do not expect any sleep
We booked this hotel very last minute and for £45 thought it was a good deal for a bed for the night. The hotel is very dated and is need of a complete refurbishment. The smell of smoke is horrible even though it is now a non smoking hotel. I had the open the windows in my room immediately to get done fresh air. The net curtain was black and thick with dust. Apart from that, the room was ok and prettuvh what I was expecting, everything was old but the room was clean, had hot water and the bed was comfortable enough. The main problem with this hotel is the activity in the car park throughout the night with local youths using it to gather. I was kept awake from 12am-5.30 am. The car park was full of young men, playing music very loud in their cars, fighting with a taxi driver and swearing throughout. At no point did the hotel or the police intervene. This is appalling and several times during the night looked out of the window as it sounded like there was a riot in the car park. The behaviour of these young men in utterly disgusting when people are trying to sleep. I was bitterly dissapounted that another review had complained about the same thing and yet nothing has been done to resolve the issue. The free parking is good but your car is left in the car park which is the local youth club and cruising site. I didn't complain to the manager as I was too angry and felt that it would be no use as I would not get my money back. When I checked out I wasn't even asked how my stay was.

Reviewed by
B Fenton

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor
Rooms are rented out to other guests to sımply party ın tıll sılly oclock ın mornıng was at least 8 people ın the room nxt door playıng very loud musıc arguıng makıng ıt ımpossıble to sleep thıs went on untıl the mınuıte we left

Reviewed by
Ami L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whenever I visit Birmingham I always stay here. Very friendly & helpful reception staff that were local & willing to offer advice & recommend local places to go. Excellent location & very handy for the nightlife. The rooms were lovely & clean & even provided tea & coffee facilities for the morning after hangover! Would highly reccomend.

Reviewed by
K Roberts

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would NOT recommend
The only good thing about this reception was the receptionist.
Felt the hotel was very overpriced considering you can stay at much nicer hotels for much less.
Bedroom was very old fashioned, bed was very uncomfortable and the bedding didn't smell clean at all.
Carpet was filthy and bathroom was clean but falling apart.
Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.
No lift, no restaurant.

Reviewed by
Stephanie F

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I do not think this hotel should be trading under the name hotel
I think late rooms should take a look at this hotel. There is no place to eat the bar is a fridge filled with canned beers.
The carpets are stained and in place torn, the corridor stinks of ciggy smoke and the stairwell is covered in litter

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next