No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Birmingham Hotel

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Hotel Birmingham, Golden Hillock Road , Birmingham, B11 2PN
The hotel has spacious and comfortable en-suite bedrooms, continental breakfast available daily from 7am - 10am @ £ 4.95 / person, a bar serving snacks and drinks, conference and banqueting facilities and extensive free car parking for over 100 cars.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and will ensure you have a comfortable stay.

We are conveniently located on the A45 , 1.5 miles from Birmingham city centre's shopping and entertainment areas including Broad Street with all it's nightclubs, bars and restaurants.

We are only 6 miles from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport which are also on the A45. Small Heath train station is directly opposite our hotel, it is only one stop to the city centre.

The hotel and bedrooms are non-smoking.
Picture of The Birmingham Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
29% recommended this accommodation to a friend 33% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No issues but all very strange
Disregarding the approaching ghost mansion look, the reception (at the back??) was decent.
Late rooms had not communicated to the hotel that we were staying. Nevertheless we were given relatively close rooms on the same floor.
As will most sub-standard hotels the furniture in the room that customers first look to critique, were the worst condition. Namely the black curtain and the mattress, that was lacking all qualities that a mattress need to be a mattress. And of course, only warm water from the shower
Key cards are always a win. Bathroom was nice. TV was adequate and plug sockets next to the bed is a 25 year old guys mandatory requirement.
Car park was spacious and the Bar stayed open long enough for us to fully enjoy the customary pleasures of being alcoholics on a business trip.
Location is actually not bad. Train station across the road, shop round the corner. Motorway close and not too far from NEC and Birmingham city centre.
If you are looking for 1/2 nights to put your drunken head on a business trip or a night out in the city then omit the aforementioned critiques and stay.
They never boasted to being Waldorf-esk...

Reviewed by
Jason S

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very nice place

Reviewed by
alan lott

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed on a budget - no complaints at all for £20 per head
Booked a couple of days prior to my stay with 3 other young lads - enjoyed the stay, staff helpful when needed, rooms clean etc. etc. I can be quite snobby about accommodation at times but there was no reason to be a snob here!

Reviewed by
Daniel H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It reminded me of a "Super8" motel in America - enough said!
On the plus side the staff were pleasant and tried to find a cable so that the TV could be plugged in and the room was fairly large for one person. However the carpet was filthy, the wallpaper pealing, the plaster was off the walls everywhere. It looked like no repairs or maintenance had been done for at least 5 years (probably longer). It was cheap at only £40 for the night but it still wasn't worth it! Will I go back? not on your nelly. no chance of me ever putting foot in there again.

Reviewed by
Richard B

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
This is a very large hotel and well situated for local shopping etc. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was good and overall this hotel was good value for money. No complaints, I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
A LEWIS

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly, rooms were dated but clean. Location required taxi/train to get into city.

Reviewed by
C Kelly

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of an upgrade
My husband only stayed here because there was an event at the hotel, so convenient. I read other reviews and was not looking forward to my stay. However it was not as bad as I was expecting. The good points were:
The guy on reception was really helpful and provided extra provisions and pillows on request. The room was really big and had a separate vanity area. It was very quiet so no disturbance from the party at other end. Bedding and towels were clean which was a key thing for me. Free large car park.
There was a horrible musty smell throughout the corridors as mentioned by other reviews
The hotel needs upgrading throughout.

Reviewed by
Maria S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was nice and friendly.. Worth it if its just a quick one night stay..
Room was very clean. Overall was fine to stay in

Reviewed by
Irene Y

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a dump
if you are looking for a decent hotel, then book another one. this hotel was disgusting, the rooms were dirty they stunk of smoke. the shower was broken and the bathroom was filthy. the whole hotel was out of date every where needed cleaning. this was possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in ever

Reviewed by
alexander mcadam

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is disgusting
The hotel room was dirty and smelled of smoke, we did not feel safe here

Reviewed by
Susan B

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next