No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Birmingham Hotel

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Hotel Birmingham, Golden Hillock Road , Birmingham, B11 2PN
The hotel has spacious and comfortable en-suite bedrooms, continental breakfast available daily from 7am - 10am @ £ 4.95 / person, a bar serving snacks and drinks, conference and banqueting facilities and extensive free car parking for over 100 cars.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and will ensure you have a comfortable stay.

We are conveniently located on the A45 , 1.5 miles from Birmingham city centre's shopping and entertainment areas including Broad Street with all it's nightclubs, bars and restaurants.

We are only 6 miles from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport which are also on the A45. Small Heath train station is directly opposite our hotel, it is only one stop to the city centre.

The hotel and bedrooms are non-smoking.
Picture of The Birmingham Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
29% recommended this accommodation to a friend 33% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only a bed for the night but do not expect any sleep
We booked this hotel very last minute and for £45 thought it was a good deal for a bed for the night. The hotel is very dated and is need of a complete refurbishment. The smell of smoke is horrible even though it is now a non smoking hotel. I had the open the windows in my room immediately to get done fresh air. The net curtain was black and thick with dust. Apart from that, the room was ok and prettuvh what I was expecting, everything was old but the room was clean, had hot water and the bed was comfortable enough. The main problem with this hotel is the activity in the car park throughout the night with local youths using it to gather. I was kept awake from 12am-5.30 am. The car park was full of young men, playing music very loud in their cars, fighting with a taxi driver and swearing throughout. At no point did the hotel or the police intervene. This is appalling and several times during the night looked out of the window as it sounded like there was a riot in the car park. The behaviour of these young men in utterly disgusting when people are trying to sleep. I was bitterly dissapounted that another review had complained about the same thing and yet nothing has been done to resolve the issue. The free parking is good but your car is left in the car park which is the local youth club and cruising site. I didn't complain to the manager as I was too angry and felt that it would be no use as I would not get my money back. When I checked out I wasn't even asked how my stay was.

Reviewed by
B Fenton

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor
Rooms are rented out to other guests to sımply party ın tıll sılly oclock ın mornıng was at least 8 people ın the room nxt door playıng very loud musıc arguıng makıng ıt ımpossıble to sleep thıs went on untıl the mınuıte we left

Reviewed by
Ami L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whenever I visit Birmingham I always stay here. Very friendly & helpful reception staff that were local & willing to offer advice & recommend local places to go. Excellent location & very handy for the nightlife. The rooms were lovely & clean & even provided tea & coffee facilities for the morning after hangover! Would highly reccomend.

Reviewed by
K Roberts

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would NOT recommend
The only good thing about this reception was the receptionist.
Felt the hotel was very overpriced considering you can stay at much nicer hotels for much less.
Bedroom was very old fashioned, bed was very uncomfortable and the bedding didn't smell clean at all.
Carpet was filthy and bathroom was clean but falling apart.
Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.
No lift, no restaurant.

Reviewed by
Stephanie F

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I do not think this hotel should be trading under the name hotel
I think late rooms should take a look at this hotel. There is no place to eat the bar is a fridge filled with canned beers.
The carpets are stained and in place torn, the corridor stinks of ciggy smoke and the stairwell is covered in litter

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noisy night in Brum
Our stay here coincided with the arrival of a very noisy party of youths who spent the whole night causing disturbance despite being asked frequently to be quiet. they were eventually evicted by police about 7am which was far too late. we cannot therefore give a balanced opinion of this hotel.

Reviewed by
N Hessey

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birmingham hotel Birmingham
Clean bed, dirty room, rubbish telly snowy picture only 4 channels. No resteraunt.

Reviewed by
D Jolin

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired and dirty, dissapointed

Reviewed by
Georgie C

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strangely OK
The hotel is small, seedy and depressing at first sight. The non-smoking rooms smelled of smoke. However, when we pointed all this out, the receptionist did everything he could to help. We sprayed the rooms, He brought us lots of coffee and tea bags, and the beds were comfortable and clean, and the showers worked well. For £40 a night it was good value, anymore and it would not have been. The restaurant was being re-furbished (?) and we had to order a take-away. They recommended a great pizza place, which delivered first rate proper italian style pizzas for £7 a head for our group of 8 people. For a group of people attending the NEC it worked well,but don't go there looking for a luxurious environment.

Reviewed by
Wendy Jeffs

From Carmarthenshire, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel sad reflection on staff
Staff excellent. Hotel a big thumbs down. No smoking room but smoke drifted into rooms underneath door at night! Bed absolutely horrendous, no sleep. Telephone wire had been ripped out of wall. TV didn't work properly. Window did not lock and so felt our accommodation to be unsafe. Only soap, no shampoo/shower gel. No sugar/milk. Apart from that....
We had to leave after one night and asked for a refund and went home! Did really spoil what could have been a good visit.We actually felt sorry for the member of staff (a young man) left to face us at reception because he was s o polite and was an exceptional example for the hotel. I wish I had a hotel so that I could employ him in more deserving surroundings!

Reviewed by
Angela Adams

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next