You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Birmingham Hotel

Hotel Birmingham, Golden Hillock Road, Birmingham, B11 2PN

Price From 101.56 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (32)

28% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Stewart S

  • January 2015

Labyrinthine layout

Despite the route march up and down stairs (where redecoration was obviously in progress) the room was fine.

  • Maria H

  • January 2015

You get what you pay for !

The room was a good size and clean.

My only complaint was that the mattress on the bed was very uncomfortable we hardly slept a wink due to this

  • Laurence Buxton

  • December 2014

a good value overnight stay

My friend and I stayed in a twin room to enjoy the birmingham christmas market, which is a regular event for us, but it became apparent to me that a stopover in the city centre could be at least double the price.

The Birmingham Hotel was relatively friendly, after a slightly awkward start, and the man behind reception was reasonable and helpful in booking the taxi. After a drink at the hotel bar we went to the festival and returned to the room around midnight. I feel the bathroom could have done with a little work, with the shower/bath facility stuck on 'bath' and the shaving mirror light was out of order, but my friend felt the room was well-sized for the price, clean, not too far from the city centre by taxi and the lady behind the counter at breakfast was friendly and helpful, and also helped when we had a slight issue using the card to get back into our room, which was quite well soundproofed. In conclusion then, for the price this was good value and I would consider staying here again, probably best for a group of friends on a light-hearted night out. Laurence.

  • LIAM SAXTON

  • December 2014

Hotel needs considerable updating otherwise nice staff & friendly welcome.

  • S Sloan

  • December 2014

Don't forget your ID and if you don't like stairs this isn't the place to stay

It's been a long time since a hotel has asked for ID before allowing me to stay.

I had to provide my driving license which was then copied. There was no life and no assistance to the 2nd floor. Restaurant was being refurbished so it was go out or have a takeaway in my room. Rooms were a great size but obviously decorated in the 80's including the bathrooms. Very outdated. This could be a lovely hotel but it's lacking in basic ameneties like a lift, up to date bathrooms and comes across as old fashioned.

  • w robert

  • November 2014

room 20 was a massive let down

Toilet seat kept falling off.only 3 channels on TV and there unwatchable the brass double mains sockets spark and crackle when you plug into them .the shower had no thermostat so it either burnt you or froze you as for rest of hotel the majority of the walls looked like they were damp

  • J Knight

  • October 2014

Birmingham Hotel

Very nice, clean and spacious room.

Comfortable bed and really good hot shower.

  • S Harrison

  • October 2014

My review

The staff when I arrived and night staff very friendly.

Room was clean and tidy but very dated. Two out of four plug sockets worked. I had my daughter with me so need a TV to entertain her but only had three channels. Also disappointed with breakfast device. I'm glad I didn't pre pay for breakfast as the dining room/restaurant was not in use and all that was provided for breakfast was a few boxes of cereal and a loaf of bread by a toaster and tea and coffee. On arrival I was told a continental breakfast and this was clearly not the case. Therefore my daughter and I had to go into the city to buy breakfast as I refused to pay the £4.95 each for the above. Also the reception service in the morning wasn't the best as when I was quering things the staff members was on his mobile phone and even kept the person on the phone whilst dealing with me, therefore I didn't have his sole attention or the best service he could have given.

  • IAN PERKINS

  • October 2014

rubbish

black curly hairs in sink (not mine) no pressure to shower .

dirty and ripped carpet , tv remote didnt work with tv , hotel under refurb !

  • S Walker

  • October 2014

poor but clean

The room was tidy and we'll laid out very traditional styling probably not touched since it was built though, the shower wouldn't stay on the wall as hook was broken and taped over with duct tape so I had to try and hold it whilst I showered also the bath shower mixer was broken and replaced with a bolt, there was a TV provided but no remote or option on side to turn tv on.

The light in the room the pull cord had been broken and not replaced. When paying the card machine had been unplugged so they couldn't take my payment by card luckily I had the cash but that left me short for the night after. The staff were just sat on the work tops one with headphones on just chilling and there was a girl slouched over the customer side whilst I was paying. Not very professional.