No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Allenby

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
56, Bath Street , Southport, PR9 0DH
The Allenby is a warm and friendly guest house that has been family run for almost 50 years.
It is located in the heart of Southport, ideally situated for the many attraction’s Southport has to offer, only a short walk from the sea front and the excellent shopping on the famous Lord Street. It is only a two minute walk from the Southport Theatre and Convention Centre making it ideal if you have booked one of the many shows the theatre has to offer or are attending a conference.
It is also in close proximity to many famous golf courses including, Royal Birkdale, Hillside, Southport and Ainsdale, Formby Hall, Old Links, Hurston Hall, Formby, and The Hesketh, tee times can be booked upon request.
There is a large comfortable lounge, all rooms offer full central heating, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV’s plus free wi-fi.
Most rooms are en suite, mini fridges, hairdryer, iron and ironing board are also available upon request.
Free limited parking.
Sheila Blundell looks forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Allenby, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great cosey b&b
Stayed here on my own for one night, really enjoyed my stay. Bed was comfy room was clean, very tidy b&b, great value for money

Reviewed by
D Carter

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Allenby
the room was lovely and clean but cold, the shower was good but again the bathroom was cold as the radiator needed bleeding as it was warm at the bottom and cold at the top,as for the continental breakfast it was diabolical not worth the money at all, nice cafe just round the corner though

Reviewed by
wendy hewitt

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does exactly what it says in the tin ...
Room was clean and comfy, easy to find and the hotel was in a handy central location. The only downsides were the "continental" breakfast, wouldn't choose that again rather go out and find a cafe & having to check out by 10am was too early having driven up from Devon the night before

Reviewed by
Simon A

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in Southport
Had a great stay here. Hotel is in a great location, easy to get to pier and gardens and into town. Clean comfy rooms with lovely beds. Bathroom was a little small but adequate for our needs. Would definitely consider staying here if we came to Southport again.

Reviewed by
Jason G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place for an overnight stay
If you are looking for an overnight stay due to an event or social evening in Southport, then the Allenby is a little gem. I have stayed in several rooms and the cleanliness of each one is what keeps me returning. The lady who owns the place is warm and friendly and is willing to accommodate any needs should they arise. Parking, room requirements etc. Value for money in my opinion and it's within a short walk to the center of town.

Reviewed by
h mcleod

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
We were greeted by a very friendly lady who was the grand mother of the owner. She showed us to our room (no 4) and it was delightful. Lovely big windows, perfectly clean, white, crisp sheets on the bed, good sized television, tea and coffee facilities, nice and warm and cosy. The hotel is located a five minute walk to the main shops which was very convenient for us to attend the show we had come to see. Parking was no problem, although we did have to ask the owner to get one of the other guests to move in the morning so we could get out, but this was fine. We would definitely recommend this hotel, and we will certainly stay here again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Angela Y

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Here 1 night to watch fireworks. Great central location. Good being able to park car as yellow lines everywhere.

Reviewed by
m wilson

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying in Southport
My accommodation was lovely and clean and the decor was also clean.
Everything I needed

Reviewed by
joan m

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value overnight stop
Great value overnight stop

Reviewed by
B Ashdown

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Continental breakfast.
We were not very impressed with the level of continental breakfast...this to me usually entails cold meats, and cheeses, along with cereals, yoghurts, fresh juices, and toast or breads and croissants.
So, to us this was disappointing...
Also on arrival, the hotel said they did not have a booking for us, when I had received confirmation the day before.
We were asked to step inside whilst she checked. On her return informed us she had put us in under a different name....this was a bit of a panic as we were attending a wedding.
Needless to say, we would not be staying again, or recommending the B&B....

Reviewed by
T Pilling

From Skelmersdale, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next