No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Allenby

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
56, Bath Street , Southport, PR9 0DH
The Allenby is a warm and friendly guest house that has been family run for almost 50 years.
It is located in the heart of Southport, ideally situated for the many attraction’s Southport has to offer, only a short walk from the sea front and the excellent shopping on the famous Lord Street. It is only a two minute walk from the Southport Theatre and Convention Centre making it ideal if you have booked one of the many shows the theatre has to offer or are attending a conference.
It is also in close proximity to many famous golf courses including, Royal Birkdale, Hillside, Southport and Ainsdale, Formby Hall, Old Links, Hurston Hall, Formby, and The Hesketh, tee times can be booked upon request.
There is a large comfortable lounge, all rooms offer full central heating, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV’s plus free wi-fi.
Most rooms are en suite, mini fridges, hairdryer, iron and ironing board are also available upon request.
Free limited parking.
Sheila Blundell looks forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Allenby, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean good for the price

Reviewed by
R Davies

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Nice little guest house, comfortable beds and only a two minute walk to the town centre and pier! Just be quiet if you come in late, you will be heard by guests otherwise

Reviewed by
Ben S

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Very pleased with the accomodation and the service. It was clean and comfortable and the host was very welcoming and happy to fulfil all our requests.
The room was lovely and spotlessly clean.
The area was very quiet at night enabling a perfect nights sleep whilst being a short walk from all bars etc.
The bed was to die for as the mattress was so comfortable that i can't remember having a better nights sleep and worth visiting just for that alone!!
I was very pleased that after being a newly diagnosed coaeliac disease sufferer that the host accomodated my food requests at breakfast which can cause me anxiety at times.
All in all we had a fabulous stay and would be happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
l jackson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel
Very happy with our stay at the hotel

Reviewed by
j buckley

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent room, great value for money

Reviewed by
L Shaw

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All was fine. Clean tidy. Very nice lady owner. No complaints at all.

Reviewed by
J Greenhalgh

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
Well maintained and perfect for the budget traveller.

Reviewed by
D Nash

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everything was very good the lady very nice and helpful can not complain for money paid

Reviewed by
colin m

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
My partner and I stayed at The Allenby for 5 nights as was spectating for the four days of the Ricoh womens British Open at Royal Birkdale. Travel to the golf course was quick and easy ( within 2 miles). A perfect place to stay if you are a golf fan. The accommodation was perfect for our stay and a delicious breakfast was had each morning. Having returned to the Allenby for our final night after the golf we found a tray with breakfast goodies on it and fresh milk in the little fridge which was in the room. We were having to leave in the early hours to travel back to Cornwall and Sheila, the owner, wasaware of this. This was a lovely gesture and we were extremely grateful as it helped fuel us for our long journey home. When we next return to Southport I will look for nowhere else to stay as The Allenby is on top of my list. Very comfortable, very friendly and great value for money. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Nikki H

From Redruth, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal accomodation
The room was clean and had TV. enough storage, plug sockets, kettle etc even a small fridge.
Ensuite shower room also very clean and hot water wasn't
an issue.
We didn't book breakfast so can't comment on food.
I hadn't realised I could personalise the booking in time so the owner just
called me to check when I was likely to be arriving so we could have the keys to come and go as
we wanted.
Close to town centre and sea front. Small car park at front of house and we did park there but also paid parking on nearby roads .
Exactly what we needed.

Reviewed by
Pam T

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next