No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Allenby

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
56, Bath Street , Southport, PR9 0DH
The Allenby is a warm and friendly guest house that has been family run for almost 50 years.
It is located in the heart of Southport, ideally situated for the many attraction’s Southport has to offer, only a short walk from the sea front and the excellent shopping on the famous Lord Street. It is only a two minute walk from the Southport Theatre and Convention Centre making it ideal if you have booked one of the many shows the theatre has to offer or are attending a conference.
It is also in close proximity to many famous golf courses including, Royal Birkdale, Hillside, Southport and Ainsdale, Formby Hall, Old Links, Hurston Hall, Formby, and The Hesketh, tee times can be booked upon request.
There is a large comfortable lounge, all rooms offer full central heating, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV’s plus free wi-fi.
Most rooms are en suite, mini fridges, hairdryer, iron and ironing board are also available upon request.
Free limited parking.
Sheila Blundell looks forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Allenby, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in Southport
Had a great stay here. Hotel is in a great location, easy to get to pier and gardens and into town. Clean comfy rooms with lovely beds. Bathroom was a little small but adequate for our needs. Would definitely consider staying here if we came to Southport again.

Reviewed by
Jason G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place for an overnight stay
If you are looking for an overnight stay due to an event or social evening in Southport, then the Allenby is a little gem. I have stayed in several rooms and the cleanliness of each one is what keeps me returning. The lady who owns the place is warm and friendly and is willing to accommodate any needs should they arise. Parking, room requirements etc. Value for money in my opinion and it's within a short walk to the center of town.

Reviewed by
h mcleod

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
We were greeted by a very friendly lady who was the grand mother of the owner. She showed us to our room (no 4) and it was delightful. Lovely big windows, perfectly clean, white, crisp sheets on the bed, good sized television, tea and coffee facilities, nice and warm and cosy. The hotel is located a five minute walk to the main shops which was very convenient for us to attend the show we had come to see. Parking was no problem, although we did have to ask the owner to get one of the other guests to move in the morning so we could get out, but this was fine. We would definitely recommend this hotel, and we will certainly stay here again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Angela Y

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Here 1 night to watch fireworks. Great central location. Good being able to park car as yellow lines everywhere.

Reviewed by
m wilson

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying in Southport
My accommodation was lovely and clean and the decor was also clean.
Everything I needed

Reviewed by
joan m

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value overnight stop
Great value overnight stop

Reviewed by
B Ashdown

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Continental breakfast.
We were not very impressed with the level of continental breakfast...this to me usually entails cold meats, and cheeses, along with cereals, yoghurts, fresh juices, and toast or breads and croissants.
So, to us this was disappointing...
Also on arrival, the hotel said they did not have a booking for us, when I had received confirmation the day before.
We were asked to step inside whilst she checked. On her return informed us she had put us in under a different name....this was a bit of a panic as we were attending a wedding.
Needless to say, we would not be staying again, or recommending the B&B....

Reviewed by
T Pilling

From Skelmersdale, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean good for the price

Reviewed by
R Davies

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Nice little guest house, comfortable beds and only a two minute walk to the town centre and pier! Just be quiet if you come in late, you will be heard by guests otherwise

Reviewed by
Ben S

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Very pleased with the accomodation and the service. It was clean and comfortable and the host was very welcoming and happy to fulfil all our requests.
The room was lovely and spotlessly clean.
The area was very quiet at night enabling a perfect nights sleep whilst being a short walk from all bars etc.
The bed was to die for as the mattress was so comfortable that i can't remember having a better nights sleep and worth visiting just for that alone!!
I was very pleased that after being a newly diagnosed coaeliac disease sufferer that the host accomodated my food requests at breakfast which can cause me anxiety at times.
All in all we had a fabulous stay and would be happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
l jackson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next