Reviews - Allenby


56, Bath Street, Southport, PR9 0DH

Price From 42.03 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (74)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • martin c

  • November 2015


very convenient for our visit to nearby theatre, friendly welcome, clean and great value.

  • C Sung

  • October 2015

Cosy warm and convenient stay. Didn't realise the bathroom next door does not has shower. Shame!

Enjoyed my stay apart from lack of shower and breakfast was very basic.

  • Peter T

  • October 2015

One night in Southport

The Guest House was spotlessly clean and rooms also, with en-suite and beautifully furnished bedroom.

We paid extra for a Continental breakfast (which was very basic, but adequate for a one-night stay). The location of The Allenby Guest House is superb for main theatres, promenade, pier and boating lake (plus just a couple of minutes from main shopping street, Lord Street). I would definitely recommend this Guest House (but it is not the cheapest, even when booking through an agency such as Laterooms.)

  • keith p

  • October 2015

Allenby Critique

Value for money.

Comfy bed and pillows. Fluffy towels. Loads of hot water. Free parking. Adequate continental breakfast in room. Little fridge was handy.

  • jeffrey p

  • October 2015

Family room?

I booked a family room for a two night break with my wife and 1 yr old grandson.

When we got there the room was tiny and would class it more of a single room than a family room as you had to squeeze between the beds. And when we tried put the travel cot up there was not even enough space to open the door to the room. and this is after we had moved a set of drawers on to the landing outside the room.

  • Carol Ashley

  • September 2015

Allenby, Southport

The Allenby is in a quiet side street very close to all town and the esplanade.

The room was pleasant, nicely decorated and very clean; tea & coffee provided and a small fridge. The bed was extremely comfortable and en-suite was perfectly adequate and there was always hot water available.We only saw Sheila upon arrival, but this wasn't a problem as we had no issues. We had seen a few negative comments on this site but in our experience this is an ideal place to stay; we booked room only and found it good value for money.

  • Patricia B

  • September 2015


It was our third time staying here and was not disappointed.

Fantastic value for money !!!!. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet stay in southport.

  • Linda B

  • September 2015

Good value

The room was small and a bit cramped, no room even to put breakfast tray.

However, the room and ensuite were both very clean (except for shower head) and there was a mini fridge and TV. This room had, probably, the most comfortable bed I have ever had in a hotel or B and B. Parking was available in the drive and the owner and staff were very pleasant. All in all it was very good value and you could not expect anything more for £42 per night.

  • Colin S

  • August 2015


Very well maintained, providing all the facilities I needed. A good location to visit nearby events and attractions.

  • J James

  • August 2015


We were very pleased with our room, complete with our own door to small 'balcony' and fire escape.

The mini fridge was an added bonus as was the wifi access. The only down side was the shower, not much pressure and seemingly uncontrollable temperature.