Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Isle of Man > Douglas Hotels > BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Central Promenade , Douglas, IM2 4NA
The BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino in Douglas, is perfectly placed on the beautiful Victorian Promenade of Douglas on the Isle of Man - ours is one of the largest and best appointed 4-Star hotels on the island! We're just meters away from the beach, we have our own casino and leisure club and our friendly staff will be happy to recommend daily excursions around the island. Douglas' retail and business centre is moments away. Whether you're here for business or pleasure we're able to offer a unique combination of stylish accommodation blended with an elegant environment for all kinds of events or breaks.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, Douglas at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break after retiring
Stayed here many times when it was the Hilton and has it changed and not for the better. The food was awful, the beds need new mattresses. My wife and I had gone for a few peaceful days after retiring from work only to be evacuated onto the car park twice in four days. This was due to the installation of a new toaster for christ sake toast burns why put it new a smoke detector. A letter of complaint is on it's way to the manager. Come on guys you need to up your game.

Reviewed by
Des Wilmot

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A noisy night
Casino closes at 3 am and gamblers who are drunk are very noisy!
Note that reception is at the back so this may be the worst side
Reception functional but no more eg did not offer information about food or the town.
Leisure centre pool pleasant with jacuzzi, sauna and outlook over the sea - enjoyed in the evening but unfortunately closed due to power cut next morning.

Reviewed by
Elaine R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of TLC
I booked this hotel because I needed a hotel in walking distance of Douglas town centre which had a gym and the price was right, but the décor looked warn (for example, my room needed painting, though it was clear that some work had been done on it). The bathroom was in good order. The gym facility had useful equipment, but a little warn again (the cheap stereo system was annoying). The pool was in nice order. Food was good, but the staff need to take a page out of Premier Inn's book in terms of dealing with customers. It costs nothing to smile and makes the weary traveller feel welcomed. Oh yes, and beware the night club kicking out time of 4 a.m. which is below the hotel

Reviewed by
Simon R

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel needs some TLC and refurbishment

Reviewed by
R McBurney

From Worcester , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was lovely to be able to check in a bit earlier as we wanted to visit the Food & Drink Festival at the Villa. It was so nice strolling along the prom and back. We had a sea-view room on the 4th floor and it was rather spectacular waking up to that view!!
Another surprise was the £5 voucher for the casino. However hard I tried, I didn't seem to be able to lose and ended up with a nice profit :-)
Next time we really must fit in a swim!

Reviewed by
Janice P

From Ramsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Palace Hotel Douglas
I have stayed here on several occasions,and had indifferent views.My fisrst ever stay i had a rear room overlooking the car park.Not good but i have always booked a sea view room since.I am reviewing my stay for aug 19th to 21st and i can honestly say my room was clean,a fantastic view of Douglas bay,TV if thats what you want,and picture quality was good.Comfy bed and sheets did NOT scratch :-).Bathroom is clean and looks nice.I personally pref a shower rather than a shower over the bath,and bieng a salad dodger always find the curtain sticks to me?I was on the 4th floor.People say its noisy,it can be as the sound travels up from people outside,but thats not the Hotels fault.Only crit was the wi-fi from a work point of view was on and off.The staff were pleasent and the breakfast for a meat eater was very VERY good.People say its an ugly building,well it may be but on the inside its fine,bar and resturant are comfy and bar food is good.Bar staff on the two nights i was there where a credit to the Hotel,very polite.The breakfst staff on both mornings just as good.All in all a good base for a buisnes stay,great views of bay and for the price via late rooms was cheaper than another branded hotel over here and inc a breakfast.Going back in Dec.

Reviewed by
Philip W

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent breakfast, evening meals average

Reviewed by
John Jacques

From Glasson Dock, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated
Overall good value for money, the hotel looks a bit dated could do with an update, very noisy late at night during Friday and Saturday. The leisure center was good again could do with refreshing

Reviewed by
G Rix

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food Excellent but so few staff that service in the dining room for breakfast, clearing used dishes, offerring tea/coffee toast , was poor. Staff that were available were polite but totally overworked.Excellent room with balcony on the front and more than adequate.Some people were less than happy with their rooms so would reccomend stipulating front with balcony when booking.Housekeeping staff and some reception staff very helpful. Spa/pool brilliant, spotless.Friendly. The front in Douglas, has no real "seaside holiday" amenities so expect a two mile walk along a very nice promenade as your evening entertainment! An ice cream kiosk would have been nice, especially The Isle Of Mann speciality ice cream. Worth a visit for that alone!! Totally different type of holiday to our usual ones but very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
patricia T

From kettering, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dreadful overcooked food and dated decor
The hotel is a 60s throw back, a concrete cube with ugly external advertising placards, it is a long walk along the Douglas promenade from other restaurants and shops. The restaurant carvery had dishes of dried up, overcooked meat in thick sauces - yuk.

Reviewed by
Jill J

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next