Reviews - Singer House Guest House



Price From 83.57 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (12)

50% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Sarah Dibble

  • June 2015

Fantastic Stay

Last minute decision to stay overnight turned a day shopping into a mini break & adventure for our daughters.

Vernon was really welcoming. The room was a family room but it did not feel small and the cleanliness was second to none. There was full Sky TV & free Wi-fi. Vernon let my 7 year old try on the Tutus & he gave a free lesson to my 15 year old in his professional studio, even pairing with her for lifts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would recommend this guesthouse to anyone. We will be returning during the summer so we can visit Paignton Zoo. Vernon will be seeing us again.

  • Emma G

  • February 2015

Family friendly and Great Location

Singer House is in a perfect location for the seafront and the main amenities in Paignton.

It's a very spacious and beautiful family home and is very much run as a home away from home experience. On arrival we were greeted by the owner Vernon very warmly. We were immediately made to feel welcome and shown not only our apartment but the rest of the house and the children were invited to help themselves to DVD,s to take to the apartment with them. There were plenty of towels already provided but were also shown the airing cupboard if we required any more. The self contained apartment consisted of a double bedroom with dining table and chairs and a large family room with bunks and a bed to comfortably sleep 2 children. It has a small but adequate kitchen area and a large shower and toilet room. We were in addition offered another room within the house as is was unoccupied at no extra charge which was extremely generous. Vernon also brought down some milk and cereal so the children could have breakfast in the morning. We Stayed for 2 nights and during that time my daughter also had the opportunity to have a complimentary dance class in the dance studio and school that is also within the guesthouse. As a family with 4 young children it can often be a challenge to find suitable accommodation outside of holiday parks. We are so pleased to have discovered Singer House and would recommend for families who don't have to feel like their children are an annoyance to others. We will definitely be back at some point in the future.

  • Brenda J

  • August 2014

Our night in Paigton

We had a very warm welcome from Vernon.

It was very close to town. The only thing was no en-suit bathrooms

  • K Lewis

  • August 2014

Very friendly but not for us as a family again, toilet and shower upstairs which I didn't realise at time of booking as info said on ground floor.

Vernon however was a great man and made us all feel very welcome.

  • j murphy

  • July 2014

people friendly, could do with en-suite facilities

A nice place for a family to stay for a couple nights.

Vernon was very friendly and laid back and happy for us to come and go as we pleased and make ourselves at home, which we did. Great location by the sea. Would disagree about the 4 star quality. Lacked facilities in the family room, such as tea making devices, hairdryer and en suite. Would visit again for two nights maximum.

  • Michelle J

  • July 2014


I always concentrate on the positives in my reviews so I would suggest that if you want a completely relaxed stay akin to staying over with a mate then this is the place for you.

The owner kindly invites you to help yourself from his own kitchen fridge for snacks and drinks rather than providing them in the room and similarly you help yourself to towels etc from the back of the communal airing cupboard. There are no handwash basins in the room and no ensuites but there is a loo & shower on the first floor and if the owner it using it he is happy for you to use his kids bathroom on the next floor up. The owner is a character and regales you with stories of his regular guests: apparently the Beach Boys, a bishop and Bon Jovi stay there whenever they are in Paignton. If a typical guesthouse is what you are seeking then I wouldn't recommend The Singer but if you want somewhere very different then it may suit you. I am quite conventional though and decided that despite having already paid, it wasn't for me.

  • Jake K

  • June 2014

Could not fault it!

The whole house was nice, clean and tidy.

The friendleness of vernon was excellent

Would recommend to anyone and everyone

  • r thomas

  • June 2014

4* not

Didn't come with a king size bed only double, wardrobe, plasma screen tv.

No light shade. Curtains didn't fit the French doors. Exterior not private. No on suite. Oven top dirty. Table and chairs (2) in one of the bedrooms not in the other . booked 2 nights but left in the morning of the 1st night.

  • rhian thomas

  • June 2014

4* not

Booked 2 nights as 1 nighters before going as the star ratings were good 4 * but i wouldn't rate it a 1*.

No king size bed. No matter plasma screen. No sea view. No private exterior. No lamp shade. No wardrobe. The list goes on but will stop there

  • K Wickens

  • May 2014

Home from home

A beautiful, clean and spacious home.

I felt comfortable instantly. Vernon gave me the run of the house and made me feel like part of the family. I would defiantly recommend to anyone.