No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Singer House Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1 NORMAN ROAD , PAIGNTON, TQ3 2BE
Welcome to Singer House a former home of the famous singer family inventor of sewing machines .We are situated in a very beautiful part of Torbay with just over a minute’s walk to the blue flag beaches with beautiful views all over Torbay.

The Accommodation has recently under gone a refurbishment, Our House offers a wide range of views including sea view and we have ideal ground floor room for family and elderly couple needs. The Singer House can also be booked as a very large 3 bedroom holiday flat with lounge beautiful new kitchen bathroom and all French doors leading onto a private garden and brand new decking in addition upstairs we have a beautiful large lounge with 60 inch plasma

We are a friendly family guest house with young children , it is our sole purpose for our children to meet other children and kind people from around the world and have fun running a guest house. Due to the volume of young children and elderly we have stay, we prefer only nice people to book with us.

we like to run our guest house on a be happy very relaxed attitude, and we will do everything possible for you to have a lovely relaxing stay with us

(Hotel Accepts Cash, Visa and Debit Cards)

Picture of Singer House Guest House, PAIGNTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unconventional
I always concentrate on the positives in my reviews so I would suggest that if you want a completely relaxed stay akin to staying over with a mate then this is the place for you. The owner kindly invites you to help yourself from his own kitchen fridge for snacks and drinks rather than providing them in the room and similarly you help yourself to towels etc from the back of the communal airing cupboard. There are no handwash basins in the room and no ensuites but there is a loo & shower on the first floor and if the owner it using it he is happy for you to use his kids bathroom on the next floor up. The owner is a character and regales you with stories of his regular guests: apparently the Beach Boys, a bishop and Bon Jovi stay there whenever they are in Paignton. If a typical guesthouse is what you are seeking then I wouldn't recommend The Singer but if you want somewhere very different then it may suit you. I am quite conventional though and decided that despite having already paid, it wasn't for me.

Reviewed by
Michelle J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4* not
Booked 2 nights as 1 nighters before going as the star ratings were good 4 * but i wouldn't rate it a 1*. No king size bed. No matter plasma screen. No sea view. No private exterior. No lamp shade. No wardrobe. The list goes on but will stop there

Reviewed by
rhian thomas

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4* not
Didn't come with a king size bed only double, wardrobe, plasma screen tv. No light shade. Curtains didn't fit the French doors. Exterior not private. No on suite. Oven top dirty. Table and chairs (2) in one of the bedrooms not in the other . booked 2 nights but left in the morning of the 1st night.

Reviewed by
r thomas

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not fault it!
The whole house was nice, clean and tidy!
The friendleness of vernon was excellent
Would recommend to anyone and everyone

Reviewed by
Jake K

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
A beautiful, clean and spacious home. I felt comfortable instantly. Vernon gave me the run of the house and made me feel like part of the family. I would defiantly recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
K Wickens

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Want the Best in Paignton? - look no further
Utterly brilliant location, Rooms clean & homely, A real home from home. Can't fault it.

Reviewed by
J Latimer

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor! Hostel comes to mind.
One electric heater to heat 4 rooms. Aptly radiators on a timer?! Curtains too short for window, bare light bulb.
Worse than a hostel, yet as expensive as a good hotel! Paid in advance, but sadly couldn't stay, as my children were too cold.
Owner was polite, until I had problems, then no response from him.
Would definately not reccomend to others or ever book again. God knows where they got their rating!

Reviewed by
Nicola Pink

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice clean rooms
A great welcome, very child and family friendly. Couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Great location.

Reviewed by
Carlie Broomfield

From Wincanton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you Vernon!
We were visiting a family member under upsetting circumstances, Vernon was superb with us all, especially my two young daughters! Self contained flat was perfect for us, in a great location!

Reviewed by
Hayley Ball

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family friendly
Very friendly And nice host comfortable sleeping very relaxed

Reviewed by
d patterson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next