No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 17 West Street

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
No. 17 West Street, South Cliff, , Scarborough, YO11 2QN
Placed only 100 metres from Scarborough’s scenic South Cliff Esplanade, No.17 West Street is just a few minutes’ stroll from the beach. The Rooms are well-equipped with a flat-screen Freeview TV, an alarm radio with iPod dock and a private bathroom. Each spacious room has sleek décor. In addition, they all provide free tea and coffee and Egyptian cotton bed linen. No. 17 was originally purchased in 1876 by the Cadbury and Rowntree family's and is only a 10-minute drive from the scenery of the North York Moors and the Yorkshire coast. The lively town centre with shops and restaurants is just 0.5 miles away.
Picture of 17 West Street, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
The rooms are large, spacious and spotless. The hosts were really friendly and the breakfast was done with quality produce. I would highly recommend the accommodation and will definitely use again.

Reviewed by
lee garlick

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay

Reviewed by
Neil H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic break
Excellent hotel run by a lovely couple, good location and we will be visiting again.

Reviewed by
Stephen Bramhald

From Nr Driffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Friendly and helpful staff, nice location and a comfy bed, so comfy I slept through breakfast! very nice room. Highly recommend this hotel if you're ever planning a trip to Scarborough.

Reviewed by
Kieron P

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely large rooms, very clean and modern. owners where lovely and very helpful. would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
louise B

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
We stayed on New Year's Eve and were welcomed by a very friendly owner who showedd us to our room and explained everything we needed to know. The room was clean stylish and well equipped. Breakfast was included and was excellent.

Reviewed by
Chris Stephens

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous hotel
The hotel was beautiful, the room was lovely and big it was very clean and spotless we will definitely be stopping here again the welcome was so friendly and warm its my favourite hotel in Scarborough we will be back next time we visit thank you

Reviewed by
d dunhill

From worksop, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel and a great breakfast

Reviewed by
Linda A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place for a short break .
An above average B and B that serves up an excellent breakfast . Rooms would benefit from double glazing to cut out traffic noise . Would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
David B

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb, highly recommended place to stay!
I very rarely, if ever, leave a review following a stay in any accommodation (I travel frequently), however, this particular weekend stands out as exemplary.
My colleague and I were warmly welcomed immediately upon arrival, greeted with a handshake and a quick 'no nonsense' check-in. The owner then proceeded without hesitation to carry all our bags to the top floor where he showed us around our room making us both feel at home instantly.
The room was lovely, very clean and modern. An additional surprise of hot chocolate (including bar of diary milk) to accompany the usual tea and coffee making facilities was perfect. As a hyper-masculine alpha male this obviously shouldn't appeal, but it did!
Our morning breakfast was delicious and the perfect start to the day with fresh coffee ready before we've even had chance to unfold our napkins.
I'll be travelling to Scarborough at the roughly the same time again next year, where I stay there is now no question!

Reviewed by
M Webb

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next