You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Golden Lion Hotel

3

114, High Street, Northallerton, DL7 8PP

Price From 121.86 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (68)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Erich H

  • August 2016

The Golden Lion Hotel

  • Angie Davidson

  • July 2016

A great place to stay at the Golden Lion Hotel

We thought this hotel was a great little find when we visited Northallerton.

Easy to find as its right in the middle of the high street, and a free car park for residents at the back was great too. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly at Reception which was a good first impression. We went up the stairs to our room (Room No. 12) - again first impressions were good. For us, the room size was fine, everything was there that we needed (a nice cuppa was first priority!), and the room was nice, neat and clean. We had dinner twice at the restaurant and we weren't disappointed on either occasion: greeted and seated quickly, the staff were kind, friendly and approachable and very organised. The portion sizes of the food were huge but we thought the quality was superb and a good menu too - you could have a 2 or 3 course meal from the party menu (2 people or more) or go a'la carte. Great wine menu and choice of beer too. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful, and lots of choice and their full English was lovely. For the level of service we received, the room and food collectively served our purposes perfectly, so we thought it was fantastic value for money. Suffice to say that we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Golden Lion again.

  • Melanie W

  • June 2016

Disappointed

Room was clean.

When booking it was described as a spacious double. The room was rather cramped, it had a cut away step as you went in the door with the bedside table hanging slightly over the step ( shows how crapped) the bathroom was of a good size but the floor was very uneven and slopping, I know it is an old building and this is part of it's character but it made me feel very sea sick and off balance. the shower lacked lustre with poor flow. The dressing table was cramped we had to move the high backed chair into the bathroom as it was blocking the TV. Only 2 useable square pin sockets one for TV and one for kettle. The sockets by the bed were round pin so limited sockets to charge phones, iPads etc. One of the wardrobe handles came off in my hand when opening one of the doors. I'm sure when booking there was mention of a hairdryer in the room, there was not. Breakfast was ok, milk for cereal was warm and was not on a cooling plate, only jam and marmalade no honey. The only bread was the toast served with the cooked breakfast however when I asked for a croissant it was provided, warm and beautifully served. The cooked breakfast was cooked well but the sausages were lacking a bit in taste. I would stay there again but not in room number 17.

  • David Wood

  • June 2016

Good, but could be so much better with some small changes.

This was our second holiday at the Golden Lion, so we knew what to expect.

The biggest problem was some major building work that should have been finished before we arrived, but ran late. The staff were, as ever, first rate. The a la carte menu was also excellent. Now for the niggles, there is piped music playing through the restaurant, lounge and bars which we found annoying and distracted from our appreciation of our meal. Having breakfast accompanied by Paul and Barry Ryan's "The Eve of Destruction", is hardly relaxing. The coffee served in the restaurant was so poor that after our first breakfast we stuck to tea. Turn the Muzak off, get some decent coffee and it will make things much, much better.

  • Susan Kirby

  • June 2016

Our Friendly Yorkshire Hotel

My friend and I had a lovely stay in the Golden Lion.

Very genuine and friendly staff nothing too much trouble. Food is very good. A teapot in the room was an excellent thought ( a treat ).

  • Janet L

  • June 2016

Great location.

Good central location, lively hotel, room very nice, excellent customer service with a very nice breakfast.

  • David Wrightson

  • June 2016

The Golden Lion Hotel

I lived in Northallerton for many years but had never stayed in this Hotel.

We stayed seperate 2 nights and experienced different rooms. Both were ideal, tastefully decorated, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfasts were excellent and the service friendly. Really enjoyed our stay

  • Lindsay P

  • May 2016

Mid week break

Staff friendly and helpful.

Room was lovely, bathroom was large and although it took a little time for the hot water to come through, it was plentiful. Our room overlooked the High Street but was not especially noisy. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent.

  • Ray Norris

  • May 2016

A rare smoking room

Lovely hotel, great location for the town centre, plenty of parking, friendly staff, well equipped room (even had a tea pot in there) & bathroom.

The fact that I could smoke in the room was a massive bonus for me, I could watch the football without having to keep going outside.

  • M Johnson

  • March 2016

Easter weekend

First time I have used this hotel and it was a nice surprise.

From walking in to finding out where the car park was to paying the bill on leaving, the staff were helpful and always there to answer any question. Just remember, the bar is open to the public which can be sometimes a little noisy but gives it a great atmosphere. Would use this Hotel again which I hope to do so in July.