No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Golden Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
114, High Street , Northallerton, DL7 8PP
The Golden Lion is located in the centre of Northallerton, a traditional bustling market town, full of character and antiquity.

When you first see the Georgian facade of the Golden Lion overlooking the market place in Northallerton, you almost feel the hustle and bustle of the coaching era. Whether you are on leisure or business, you’ll find the hospitality just as warm as it was in heady times of the horse drawn coach.

Set in the heart of North Yorkshire, the Golden Lion Hotel is conveniently placed between the A1 and A19. Leeds, Newcastle and York are all within an hour’s journey by car or rail.

Northallerton is particularly well positioned for race goers and golfers alike, as it is within easy reach of Bedale, Ripon, Thirsk, Wetherby and York.
Picture of The Golden Lion Hotel, Northallerton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice accommodation
A very pleasant overnight stay. Friendly staff, and good quality accommodation.

Reviewed by
David E

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golden Weekend at the Golden Lion
What a great hotel /bar /restaurant this is. Impressive facilities - the room I was in was a little dated - but very comfortable and good value for money. Staff were fantastic - the bar & restaurant areas were fantastic and the English breakfast I had (in with the price of the room in the deal I got)was the best from a hotel I can remember. Fantastic location in middle of high street. What a great place to stay and I'm looking forward to staying there again as soon as possible.

Reviewed by
j perry

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the golden lion
Very pleasant stay. Will come again.

Reviewed by
M Lawson

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well-appointed bedroom, though lighting for reading in bed needs to be improved.
Excellent bathroom, spacious and with good facilities - one of the best.

Reviewed by
Brian N

From Hessle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was nice and clean but not the frindliest of town i have visited

Reviewed by
d close

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy, intimate hotel.
Found this to be a really cosy and characterful hotel. The food was excellent. Would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
J Gulbrandsen

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff
The staff were exceptionally helpful, the rooms were well furnished and clean, bed was comfortable. We went for a surprise party for my brother in law and the staff did everything possible to make it run smoothly. My only complaint was the breakfast, which was distinctly average, rubbery scrambled eggs, and hard bacon!, sausages were good though! I much prefer continental breakfast, but although there was fruit there were no yogurts or bread and pastries, coffee was poor, tasted like instant coffee. Having said that, Northallerton is full of places to eat, and the rest of the service made up for the breakfast!

Reviewed by
Lynne W

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend trip
a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
james smith

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the perfect stay, in fantastic hotel.

Reviewed by
david sandford

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Visit to Golden Lion Hotel
Very enjoyable couple of nights. Lovely clean room and bathroom, evening bar entertainment very good.
Waiting staff in the dinning room a little sleepy and lacking a smile in the mornings!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth T

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next