No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Golden Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
114, High Street , Northallerton, DL7 8PP
The Golden Lion is located in the centre of Northallerton, a traditional bustling market town, full of character and antiquity.

When you first see the Georgian facade of the Golden Lion overlooking the market place in Northallerton, you almost feel the hustle and bustle of the coaching era. Whether you are on leisure or business, you’ll find the hospitality just as warm as it was in heady times of the horse drawn coach.

Set in the heart of North Yorkshire, the Golden Lion Hotel is conveniently placed between the A1 and A19. Leeds, Newcastle and York are all within an hour’s journey by car or rail.

Northallerton is particularly well positioned for race goers and golfers alike, as it is within easy reach of Bedale, Ripon, Thirsk, Wetherby and York.
Picture of The Golden Lion Hotel, Northallerton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 114 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Lovely hotel, plenty of space, inside and out. Ideal location right on high street where there is lots of pubs very close by so suited us nicely. Only stayed one night but was lovely, will stay again for longer next time.

Reviewed by
Denise C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming
Having booked a single, my room was small and at the back of the hotel - but that meant it was quiet - and it was well-appointed. Perhaps a little too warm at times. The hotel was very friendly and had a pleasant ambience. Loved the decor and the sense of history. The staff were helpful and the food was excellent. The place seemed popular with locals and visitors alike. I noticed that the average age of clients tended to be 40 upwards but that suited me.

Reviewed by
Ceri C

From Bargoed, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value friendly attentive staff
Fantastic value really enjoyed the stay, poached eggs a little over cooked at breakfast and to be severed a vegetable bowel containing boiled potatoes when the main course was on a bed of mash was a little unusual. That said these are the only thing's I can mark down and the evening meal was delicious. Will certainly stay here again and maybe order scrambled eggs this time!

Reviewed by
Nick B

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place

Reviewed by
Tom L

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again !
Last minute break for birthday treat on a bank holiday weekend, was not sure what to expect and was really pleased as the twin room we were allocated had just been refurbished and although the old world charm remained it was to a very modern high standard. Only downside was that the tapas menu is not served on a Sunday night but as the lady on reception advised there were lots of options in town within a few minutes walk. Entertainment in hotel bar which was great, and whole place had a good friendly atmosphere, bonus breakfast was also served until 10 am. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Sue N

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed the food finished at 3 o'clock.
We had booked for just the one night with it being a bank holiday weekend. When we got our key we were told that breakfast was until 10 the following day with it being a bank holiday whereas usually it is 9, but when we asked about food in the evening we were told that no food was available after 3 on a Sunday, even though the hotel was full and as previously said, it was a bank holiday weekend. We had a walk around the town and there are quite a few pubs in Northallerton but most of them just did Sunday lunches until around 3. We asked in one if there was anywhere you could get a meal on a Sunday night as we didn't fancy pizza or burger and we were told there was an Italian restaurant, which was very expensive, or a Chinese restaurant, which is what we settled for and we enjoyed it but a bit more choice would have been nice. I have said I would recommend the hotel as that was ok, especially if somebody is travelling on business but I wouldn't personally stay in Northallerton again.

Reviewed by
S Maynard

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant town centre overnight stop to break a long journey. The room was large and comfortable. However, as the hotel is a traditional inn with several sets of stairs, some rooms would not suit certain guests.

Reviewed by
Roger Ellmore

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant
My dad and myself stayed at The Golden Lion for one night while visiting Northallerton. It was perfectly situated on the the main high street. There was plenty of parking that is pay and display but residents are given a permit. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always made themselves available if we needed anything. The room we were given was neat and clean. It wasn't particularly interesting but suited our needs. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, very filling. We had a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
n reeve

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and convenient hotel
I stayed at the Golden Lion for just one night whilst on business in Northallerton. The hotel bedrooms are being re-furbished and I was fortunate to have one which was very newly completed. Very clean and comfortable with soaps etc provided. Bed and linen comfortable and fresh with pleasant decor. The evening meal was superb in a nice dining area; I think you can eat in the bar as well. The food and wine was reasonably priced for the high quality. Above all the staff both on Reception and in the bar/restaurant were smiling and helpful both for dinner and breakfast which again was good food. Although the hotel is right in the centre of Northallerton I was not disturbed by noise at all. A very pleasant stay overall and I shall be returning.

Reviewed by
H Rogers

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Golden Lion, Northallerton
Very comfortable, and clean. A good centre for exploring North Yorkshire.

Reviewed by
Kate Shaw

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next