No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Golden Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
114, High Street , Northallerton, DL7 8PP
The Golden Lion is located in the centre of Northallerton, a traditional bustling market town, full of character and antiquity.

When you first see the Georgian facade of the Golden Lion overlooking the market place in Northallerton, you almost feel the hustle and bustle of the coaching era. Whether you are on leisure or business, you’ll find the hospitality just as warm as it was in heady times of the horse drawn coach.

Set in the heart of North Yorkshire, the Golden Lion Hotel is conveniently placed between the A1 and A19. Leeds, Newcastle and York are all within an hour’s journey by car or rail.

Northallerton is particularly well positioned for race goers and golfers alike, as it is within easy reach of Bedale, Ripon, Thirsk, Wetherby and York.
Picture of The Golden Lion Hotel, Northallerton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend trip
a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
james smith

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the perfect stay, in fantastic hotel.

Reviewed by
david sandford

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Visit to Golden Lion Hotel
Very enjoyable couple of nights. Lovely clean room and bathroom, evening bar entertainment very good.
Waiting staff in the dinning room a little sleepy and lacking a smile in the mornings!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth T

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, nice refurbished room, lovely breakfast included

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food at this hotel!
I have stayed at this hotel on a couple of occassions. Good accomodation for the price with food above average

Reviewed by
william a

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three Night Break
Great location, very welcoming and clean hotel, our room newly refurbished, only down-side was the big mistake in not fitting thermostatic valve on shower, water temp. in mornings during priods of variable demand, very hot then very cold. (Dangerous)

Reviewed by
GRANT R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Lovely hotel, plenty of space, inside and out. Ideal location right on high street where there is lots of pubs very close by so suited us nicely. Only stayed one night but was lovely, will stay again for longer next time.

Reviewed by
Denise C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room in need of updating.
Our main problem was that the room smelt strongly of tobacco smoke. We tried to open the windows but the sash cords were missing and we had to prop one open with an ash tray! The furnishings were rather dated but the hotel is in process of refurbishment. The bathroom had been done and was fine.
Our evening meal in the restaurant was excellent and overall we felt that the hotel was good value for money. It is in a good location with plenty of free car parking.

Reviewed by
E Mahy

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming
Having booked a single, my room was small and at the back of the hotel - but that meant it was quiet - and it was well-appointed. Perhaps a little too warm at times. The hotel was very friendly and had a pleasant ambience. Loved the decor and the sense of history. The staff were helpful and the food was excellent. The place seemed popular with locals and visitors alike. I noticed that the average age of clients tended to be 40 upwards but that suited me.

Reviewed by
Ceri C

From Bargoed, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value friendly attentive staff
Fantastic value really enjoyed the stay, poached eggs a little over cooked at breakfast and to be severed a vegetable bowel containing boiled potatoes when the main course was on a bed of mash was a little unusual. That said these are the only thing's I can mark down and the evening meal was delicious. Will certainly stay here again and maybe order scrambled eggs this time!

Reviewed by
Nick B

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next