No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Golden Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
114, High Street , Northallerton, DL7 8PP
The Golden Lion is located in the centre of Northallerton, a traditional bustling market town, full of character and antiquity.

When you first see the Georgian facade of the Golden Lion overlooking the market place in Northallerton, you almost feel the hustle and bustle of the coaching era. Whether you are on leisure or business, you’ll find the hospitality just as warm as it was in heady times of the horse drawn coach.

Set in the heart of North Yorkshire, the Golden Lion Hotel is conveniently placed between the A1 and A19. Leeds, Newcastle and York are all within an hour’s journey by car or rail.

Northallerton is particularly well positioned for race goers and golfers alike, as it is within easy reach of Bedale, Ripon, Thirsk, Wetherby and York.
Picture of The Golden Lion Hotel, Northallerton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 124 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time in Northallerton
The hotel is a maze of stairs and corridors. Well signposted. I was at the top of the hotel where the room was adequate but not spectacular. No where to put my case except on the floor. The bedroom and bathroom were of similar sizes. The bath towels could have been larger. The restaurant was excellent and the food was of a high quality. Breakfast was also good.

Reviewed by
John Peters

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Golden Lion Hotel
If you are looking for a place to stay in North Yorkshire then I can recommend The Golden Lion Hotel at Northallerton.
The Staff, Rooms, Location, Food, This Place Ticks All The Boxs

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very small nit always warm not very comfortable

Reviewed by
M peacock

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in the middle of Northallerton
Stayed just the one night and had dinner B&B. Food was great, plus many people who stay regularly were saying how good the food is. The hotel has loads of character with odd shaped doors and low lintels!!

Reviewed by
John C

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money!
Great little hotel, ideal location in the middle of the high street and lovely buffet breakfast. Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Lawson

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Golden Lion Hotel
Old building but evidence of modernisation

Reviewed by
Denise c

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Golden Lion Hotel
Very comfortable and convenient. Friendly staff and very good value.

Reviewed by
R Hall

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a quality 3 * hotel
After an effecient check in we found our room to be warm and clean as it should be.A problem with a light bulb was fixed within 15 minutes by a freindly maintenance man. We ate in the dining room and found the service and food standard to be good with one or two imrovements needed.On reflection directions to the hotel car park could have been better.We parked elsewhere first and then checked where to park.Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definately return.

Reviewed by
g crayston

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having travelled 4 hours to get there on a Sunday Evening arriving at 8pm I couldn't even get a sandwich.The restaurant was closed and they do not serve food on a sunday evening.

Reviewed by
R Scevity

From Great Missenden, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing break
As always thoroughly enjoy the golden lion in North Allerton. Very comfortable, clean and friendly. Wish you did evening meals on Sundays but enjoyed the entertainment.

Reviewed by
Neil W

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next